We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but clean”
Review of Ah Shan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ah Shan Hostel
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Small but clean”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stayed in the Triple Room for 3 nights. The room is small but clean. The towel is changed everyday. A hair dryer is available for borrowing. A shower and toilet are in good condition.

It's a good choice for a budget traveler if you just need a place to sleep in a convenient location. You can also get the Airport bus (A21) to and from Airport which costs ony 33 HKD.

The bad thing is the noise if someone next door shuts the door loudly!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wikanma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    130
    73
    21
    14
See reviews for
60
64
51
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

We checked in and was directed to our room, it was quite small from what were use to. (first time in a hostel). It's a double bed with very little space for luggage and the washroom is quite tiny.

All in all quite clean for what it is, and would be great if you're budget was 50$ a night.

The staff was nice and there's 2 computers available to use and wifi in the rooms which was really good.

Really close to the MTR station which makes it really easy to get places. So many shops and good vendors right downstairs. It's basically located 5 minutes from the ladies market.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SusanDo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at Ah Shan hostel, and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hostel. Being away from the main hostels scene in the Chungking Mansions is a really good plus. You are located in Mong Kok, a perfect location to get into the pulse of Hong Kong and explore all the faboulos cuisine by trying out locals restaurants.
The room was small, but clean, the shared bathroom was quite of a challenge though as the shower did not have a door so water spilled all over the place. The sink is also quite small but you may get used to it.
The staff is fiendly and helpful. The hostel also propose discounted tickets to some major attractions, make sure to have a look.
Overall I would recommend the hostel if you are in a tight budget or just need a place to crash at night while exploring the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I was there in Feb 2012. I booked for 2 rooms but they gave me in difference location. My sister was in the renovation area that never mentioned before. Workers were in the area since 6 pm. Very dusty and feel insecure. The good things is only location and affordable price.But you can find many hostel in the same building.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chairat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Dublin
Level Contributor
118 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed here in mid Abril for two nights.
The hostel is very close to Mongkok Metro Station and Mongkok is a busy area with many many shops and a good few options for food.

We had a triple room on the 10th floor which is 4 floors bellow reception and the place was really small, with practically no room to unpack our bag-packs. The toilet was tinny too but everything was clean and it had great views of Argyle St!

Wifi was available for free although our room was far from the modem and the signal was coming and going...

The entry to the building is not that easy to find as the street can get very busy especially on the weekends.

As most places are expensive in HK, the price for the room was ok

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MIguelitoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I've booked to this hostel twice 2011 and 2012 thru internet and I must say that Ms. Fiona was very accommodating. Even her staff who is a Filipina was also helpful. Although the rooms and bathrooms were small, it was clean and no any foul odor. This is highly recommended for a budget traveler. I'll definitely comeback here! =)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ros0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
226 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Very nice friendly and helpful staff! Great location, next to mtr station! Room compact but very clean but expect small rooms in hong kong unless you have a big budget! Highly recomended!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank therams_1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,282 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,157 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#89 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,234 reviews
Mong Kok
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
#8 of 157 in Hong Kong
386 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#4 of 157 in Hong Kong
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ah Shan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ah Shan Hostel

Property: Ah Shan Hostel
Address: Room 1406, 14/F, Sincere House, 83 Argyle Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 157 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Ah Shan Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ah Shan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ah Shan Hotel Hong Kong
Ah Shan Hostel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing