We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meets the needs of a budget traveller”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ah Shan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ah Shan Hostel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Meets the needs of a budget traveller”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

This is an ideal hostel for location and budget, right next to the MTR, in amongst the locals in Mong Kok and not too far from an absolute sky scraper of a shopping mall which seems to stretch for up to 15 floors, you're about a 15 minute MTR ride from Hong Kong Island.

Free wireless internet, air conditioning and integrated if but quirky toilet/wetroom are available in or near your room. Rooms can vary in size from a very small single with no window to a huge double with a window, be warned the small single rooms can feel very enclosed with no room to move about.

Staff are friendly and very chatty, computers and printers are available in reception, just one note, I had some difficulty finding the hostel, now this could've of been down to jet lag after a 9 hour flight plus the weather but you're need an eagle eye as the place has two entrances.

There's really no social area or kitchen, it's more rooms in a flat complex rather than a hostel, so I suppose I'm only being picky because it lacked social aspect of travelling, there certainly wasn't a lack of atmosphere living in and amongst the locals.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and get a double rooms, the single rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustinPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    124
    72
    19
    14
See reviews for
58
62
47
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
East Timor
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed one night at Ah Shan hostel, which is also together with Dragon-Inn and A-inn, so when you see reviews bear in mind that they are all the same, the recepction, rates is all in one place. After staying at Dragon hostel for 5 nights we needed one more night and since it was in the same building it made easy for us just to move our things to a different floor. As most hostels you can keep your luggage there if you arrive too early or if you need a place to keep them after checking out. We were gladly surprised with the rooms, impossible not to compare. There was more space than Dragon hostel and a bigger bathroom that made easier to adjust the shower to a better position without need to hold it. They actually had two separated room, one with a double bed, flat screen TV and a fridge and the other bedroom had a bunk bed, a chair, a table and a stool a and some drawers ( plastic narrow chest of drawers). There was also a small table fan. 10l of drinking water, a kettle and 4 plastic cups. Shampoo and shower bath is provided and also towels. Since we got stuck quiet a lot due to typhoon Vicente, rain and a sick child this option would have been better than Dragon Hostel. The corridor to the room was very narrow but enough to pull the luggage. Free wi-fi internet connection is available and it did work. We liked our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mirna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Pros:
- Excellent location @Mongkok, near to Mongkok MTR
- very clean room
- Lots of eateries nearby
- building consists of local residents & guesthouse. Gives u a good sense of local experience

Cons:
- building looks old & has a "haunted" feeling
- room is extremely small for an Asian. You can't even stretch your arms fully. Be prepare to get a few bruises by bumping into the corners of the beds.
- Eateries nearby are mainly Chinese. Not halal friendly for Muslim friends
- next to lobby smells bad everyday because of fried stink tofu.

Overall:
Just stay for its location if you r on budget. Generally, accommodation in Hong Kong is expensive.




Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank faithzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed in a triple room and it was way tucked in the corner. Wifi signal was really poor inside the room and we had to come out of the room to get any signal. I found used tissue paper under the bed and strands of long hair on the floor on the first day. Although the staff cleans the room everyday, the tissue paper remains there throughout our 4 days stay.

Be very careful when you are taking a shower. The shower system has two knobs to control the amount of hot and cold water flowing out. DO NOT point the shower head at your body when turning the knobs because you never know if the amount of hot water will scald you. Adjust the two knobs until you get the right water temperature.

Room Tip: Ask for room that is not located way inside the corridor if you want to have wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solaris104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

It was quite a breeze to get here from the airport. There's a straight bus which directly stops you at the hostel. Located near Mongkok, it's really convenient as there's loads of shops sprawled all around the area and its an excellent location, especially if you're on a shoestring.

The room was very small and cramped. I entered the room and to my surprise I wasn't left much space to walk around. Open swing the door and it was inches away from the bed frame. THAT small.2 steps to my right and that's the toilet...ROLL EYES
It was pretty decent and clean though and I wouldn't complain much about the size, its Hong Kong after all.

Didn't interact much with the staffs there, cos they are often occupied with the check-in and outs as I pop into the common area.

In all, I gave a total 3/5 for the score for its great location. The building was a little dilapidated, but yeah,I left feeling satisfied. It was a good value worth-the-money stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank iamgreenfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

I stayed in the Triple Room for 3 nights. The room is small but clean. The towel is changed everyday. A hair dryer is available for borrowing. A shower and toilet are in good condition.

It's a good choice for a budget traveler if you just need a place to sleep in a convenient location. You can also get the Airport bus (A21) to and from Airport which costs ony 33 HKD.

The bad thing is the noise if someone next door shuts the door loudly!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wikanma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

We checked in and was directed to our room, it was quite small from what were use to. (first time in a hostel). It's a double bed with very little space for luggage and the washroom is quite tiny.

All in all quite clean for what it is, and would be great if you're budget was 50$ a night.

The staff was nice and there's 2 computers available to use and wifi in the rooms which was really good.

Really close to the MTR station which makes it really easy to get places. So many shops and good vendors right downstairs. It's basically located 5 minutes from the ladies market.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SusanDo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,042 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#21 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#34 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#87 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,475 reviews
Mong Kok
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
#11 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ah Shan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ah Shan Hostel

Property: Ah Shan Hostel
Address: Room 1406, 14/F, Sincere House, 83 Argyle Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Ah Shan Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ah Shan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ah Shan Hotel Hong Kong
Ah Shan Hostel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing