We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for short stay”
Review of Ah Shan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ah Shan Hostel
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for short stay”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The tiniest rooms I've ever seen :)) Despite the size of the room the rest of criteria might fulfill your requirements for short stay budget accommodation.
LOCATION: excellent, close to the MTR station, within walking distance to the local markets, easy access to/from the airport (Bus A21). You will receive instruction how to get there from after u make a booking. Once u get there,its still hard to find the entrance - a sign with hostel name is missing, it would help.
CLEANNESS: rooms and shower r clean. Toilet and shower is 1 room, tine as well :). Actually there 2, so if the 1 at the reception is busy, ask the reception for other 1, which is outside of the reception, pass the passage upright to reception to the end, get into the door on ur rigth hand.
SERVICE: free internet wifi, no complementary breakfast, TV in the room, AC.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rastikus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    130
    73
    21
    14
See reviews for
60
64
51
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Location: excellent. Near the MTR station and plenty of food nearby. Porridge place just opposite is open till late. Ladies Market is also a stone's throw away. There's a Wellcome supermarket nearby if you need anything.

Airport: Bus A21 from the airport (HKD33) stops at Argyle Centre. The hostel is located at the intersection of Argyle St and Fa Yuen St, with the entrance along Fa Yuen St. Getting to the airport is not as convenient but still ok, since the bus stop is further down along Nathan Road.

Service: they had my booking so check-in was super fast. Check-out was even faster, just drop the keys and go. Reception generally friendly and helpful, and there is an English speaking staff if needed.

Hostel: Free wifi albeit not the most reliable. Free flow drinking water and hot water from a flask. Abundant toilet rolls provided. No housekeeping throughout your stay except throwing the garbage and sweeping the floor. Only one set of keys provided so not that convenient if separated from your companion. No stairs, but large suitcases are hard to get into the lift lobby and the small lift.

Rooms: REALLY SMALL. Barely enough space to open up your suitcase. No where to sit/eat if you buy takeaway. The room is really just for shower and sleep. Aircon adjustable, slippers and plastic cups provided. Bathroom is tiny, sink is minuscule and it's hard not to get all wet just brushing your teeth. Shower gel and shampoo provided but don't count on it. Overall the room felt clean, but we did spot a little cockroach under the bed one day.

Tips: Bath towels aren't going to dry well, so bring a thin one. And a small towel for drying your hands after washing. Pillows are a little flat. The hostel is great if you have a packed itinerary. If you need precious rest, go for some better place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubble101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Before i went to Hong Kong , i very worried about my accomodation , i mean i worried about the "safety" of the places im going to stay. When i arrive at the place, i look at the surrounding, it's quite scary, but inside the room , it's so clean and neat! i would said it is definitely your great choice to experience the living style of Hong Kong people.. all is about experiences , i never regret. We faced problem during our stay, there is no Hot Shower, after check with the friendly staff , we got to know tht hot shower switch at the outside of the room got turned off by someone. Therefore, please do check out with the staff if you face any problem. In my country , we don't have such centralize gas / heater switch , therefore we don't really know what is that mean for when we saw the switch at the first place! anyway , Cultural shock! Visit their blogspot - http://ahshanhostelhk.blogspot.com/2009/10/how-to-go-ah-shan-hostel-from-macau.html

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton, canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

stayed 4 nights in oct. it's a bit tricky to find, and the building seems dubious, but don't be hesitant to consider staying here. it's really located between the stops of Mongkok and Mongkok east mtr stations on argyle street, a block or 2 away from either, so the hostel's location is fantastic. once you get past the rundown, sketchy, dark elevators, stairwells and hallways, you find the hostel and room is quite clean, bright and new. i had a double ensuite room. the room is small and shower, sink and toilet are all-together in a wet room, it's the perfect place to stay is all you need is a room, bed and shower. the weather was hot and humid, but the rooms are air-conditioned. it was a comfortable stay for me. i want to say that it was a perfect stay, but on the second night there was no hot water at the time that i had wanted to shower. it may have been bad timing (ie. if i had wanted to shower 30 min earlier or later, i wouldn't have had any complaints about ah shan hostel), but no hot water for a shower is like the worst thing after a long day of sightseeing and shopping in hot, humid weather. if not for that one thing, i really liked the hostel. it had everything that i would want: clean room, the shower had awesome pressure and nice hot water,(when it was hot), working AC, helpful staff, location's amazing. really, all in all would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nenaqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed here for 7 nites with my wife and 2 kids aged 7 & 8 in August 2012. We booked a 4-bedded room with a price roughly of USD80 via their website. As expected, room was small with one double bed and one double deck single bed. My son loves the upper part of the double deck which allow him to peek thru the window with view of the buzy Argyle Street. Even though Argyle Street is buzy right thru the early morning, there were no noise disturbance throughout our stay. The beds were rather small even for Asian size. I doubt the bed will be able to fit the larger-sized Caucasians.

Inside the room,there is one small table desk with no chairs and the free room space available is barely enough for me to open my luggage. They did the house-keeping everyday but room was cleaned only twice over the 7 nights we stayed. It was nice though to have a refrigerator and boiled water (hot & cold) provided in the common area. Wifi is free but rather slow at times especially at night. U can make free local calls from the reception.

Ah Shan is superbly located with easy access to MRT and 24-hrs airport bus service. I have previously stayed with other similar budget motels located in Mirador Mansion at Tsim Sha Tsui. The price is about the same but the room in Ah Shan is much more cleaner and spacious. Despite some of the setbacks mentioned earlier, If i am on shoe-string budget and just need a room to stay, i will never hesitate to return to Ah Shan again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DK_Leech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights after checking out from Novotel Century cos I extended my stay on the last minute.

Pros:

1. Great location! Less than 5 min walk to the Mongkok MTR station and accross the street from the ladies market.

2. Nice reception lady who speaks good English and was very efficient in checking me into my room. (I arrived at 1.30pm, which is actually before normal check in time)

3. Room was tiny, the bathroom even tinier, but what I cared for the most is cleanliness. And both were clean and well-kept.

4. Free wifi that worked well everytime I needed to use it.

Cons:

1. My room was on a different floor (different apartment unit) than the reception. It was a bit of a pain to have to go up and down and walk the hallways to check in and out.

2. Tho my room was clean, the common area was not. It is unattended and I dont think it's cleaned on a regular basis.

3. There was no phone that I could use so my friend in HK who needed to contact me couldnt do so.

4. There was a food stall that sells smelly tofu right at the entrance of the apartment/hotel building, and boy it stinks!

All things considered, Ah Shan is still a pretty good value for young people like me who will be busy exploring the city and only need a room to crash in at night anyway.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The building itself is one of those old low cost building. There's two elevator, one serving odd numbered floors and the other serving even numbered floors. It was a family trip with my parents and siblings. We booked two rooms for a night and was given rooms at different floors. The unit where my room was belongs to the hostel entirely so they have a electronic lock for the main entrance/door that can only enter with password. The door is automatically locked when it is closed. The unit my parents stayed in were shared with a Local Acupuncture clinic. Hence, there is no electronic lock. That unit uses the old fashion key for the grilled gate/entrance.

Trying to reach my parents when they were in their room was troublesome. There was phone in the room but it can't make inter-room calls. They have given the phone numbers of my room to my parents but our phone never rang once for all the attempts they've tried.

If we have to look for them, we have to stand outside the main entrance/gate of their unit and shout for them. There is not doorbell or the sort. Since it is grilled gate, people can see all the room doors standing outside gate. It does not feel safe even though they were given key to the gate to lock it. Tenants from other rooms might not lock it properly.

The aunt at the reception was not very helpful i would say. Rooms were old but clean. The beds are very basic. Shower place was stained from age but still ok. No towels available. There was drinking water at the common area in my unit. Not sure about my parent's side since theirs was shared with the clinic. Going in and out of the building for us is slightly troublesome as we have to get our parents first before we go down together. The elevator was hopeless, so we used the stairs from 8th floor to reach our parents before using the elevator to go down from 14th floor where they stayed. It was not a pleasant experience.

The entrance is next to the smelly tofu shop so the smell is not pleasant. This entrance to the building is close after 11pm and can only use another entrance from the other side of the building. We stayed at another hostel after this at the same price and it was so much better.

The location is pretty convenient as it is in the heart of mongkok with lots of eateries around and ladies street is just across the road from this hostel.

Room Tip: if you have booked more than 1 room, you may want to request them to be on the same floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,292 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#23 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,161 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#89 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,237 reviews
Mong Kok
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
#9 of 157 in Hong Kong
386 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#4 of 157 in Hong Kong
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ah Shan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ah Shan Hostel

Property: Ah Shan Hostel
Address: Room 1406, 14/F, Sincere House, 83 Argyle Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 157 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Ah Shan Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ah Shan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ah Shan Hotel Hong Kong
Ah Shan Hostel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing