We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean place and near everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ah Shan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ah Shan Hostel
davao city, philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“clean place and near everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed at ah shan last april 25-29, 2014 and got 2 quadruple rooms. We love the hostel because ate yolly and as well the owners were accomodating. Just beside the hostel was a money changer and across the street was seven eleven store. Across the street, night market can be found. Walking distance to mcdonalds, cafe de coral and other restaurants. Near mtr station. Rooms were cleaned everyday and lifts are not too crowded.

To sum it all, I highly recommend the hostel and we will be back soon:)

Room Tip: Because of the space issue when it comes to hongkong hostel /hotel, if travelling with 3 adults get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweet_kristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahshanhostel, Manager at Ah Shan Hostel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review about your stay at Ah Shan Hostel
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Thank you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    125
    72
    19
    14
See reviews for
58
62
47
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Booked a twin bed without window room. Stayed at 14F. Room is small but it's clean. I feel that there's enough space for 2 of us + 2 luggage. I have stayed in a couple of budget hostels before in a lot of countries, this is by far, the cleanest that I have stayed in.

The room is newly renovated. It's new although the exterior looks extremely old and run down.

I love the location! Near to the MTR, near to Ladies Street. I like how the place is still so lively when I got back to my hostel every night at around 10pm. I even got my hairdryer last minute at around 10pm when I got back Mongkok.

Ah Shan has got some deals for entrance tickets to Ocean Park, Disneyland, Victoria Peak, Madame Tussauds.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripleOneThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Booked a twin bed window room. This is a budget hostel mainly for budget traveller. The room is extremely small, you will have trouble if you got a big luggage. The hotel condition is well maintained and is very clean. Stayed at 10th floor and is very windy and cold during the night. The wifi is very stable and strong. Will stay again if return to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Overall room and service is very good. Rooms were very well serviced. Staff are very friendly and helpful, particularly Fiona. Yolanda was also keen on giving advices. They always have answers to my questions.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abigail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahshanhostel, 經理 at Ah Shan Hostel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review about your stay at Ah Shan Hostel
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Thank you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hostel was nice and it was easy enough to meet people and make friends there. The layout was a bit odd as it is in an Old apartment building- the reception is on the 14/F floor but the accommodations are in rooms on the 5th and 15th floor. It had an amazing location in terms of getting places. The showers were good and they supplied clean water and a safe with a key but not much else that you didn’t have to pay for. The staffs were incredibly helpful and gave you all their time!!
Thanks! Fiona. You are very helpful and give us a lot of travel tips in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyLig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My big family (7 of us) stayed at Ah Shan Hostel last Dec 28-30, 2013. We booked 2 rooms. We stayed at 14th floor. The room and bathroom was clean but very small. Could not really move with all our suitcases. The hot water and and WiFi worked well. Location is great. Easy access to plenty of shops and restaurants. The staff was helpful. We also bought Disneyland tickets from them with discount :).
The only thing that bothered was a slow elevator.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiung19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

One of the cheapest hostels we were able to find in Hong Kong so we couldn't expect anything better. Very good location but room we got was extremely small. With our backpacks inside we couldn't really move. Staff was kind of OK. Elevator was out of service every morning so we had to use steps every day (room was located on the 16th F). It wasn't the best experience but you can handle it if you want to save some money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RysiaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,064 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#21 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#33 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#86 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Mong Kok
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
#11 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ah Shan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ah Shan Hostel

Property: Ah Shan Hostel
Address: Room 1406, 14/F, Sincere House, 83 Argyle Street, Mongkok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Ah Shan Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ah Shan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ah Shan Hotel Hong Kong
Ah Shan Hostel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing