We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have a budget place to stay in and splurge on shopping spree!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Stayed with friends last April 2009.
Stayed with family last May 2011.

Been to Hongkong twice already and this is the most practical place for a traveler who's on budget like me. And if I'll go to Hongkong for the 3rd time (soon), this is where I'll be staying again for sure!

(+)
*Located just in front of Ladies' Night Market (MongKok)
*Very near MTR station (anywhere you go, you'd just have to ride on these)
*Great staffs! If you have any concerns, whether it's in the middle of the night, there's someone who's gonna help you. Thanks Stan (the owner) and family! Stan can speak english pretty good so you'll not have a hard time communicating with him.
*Free purified water (so you can refill your tumbler anytime) and free hot water for your coffee or noodles
*Convert you USD to HKD here (believe me, they've got higher conversion rates than that of the airport
*CCTV on lobby (so you'll feel quite secured)
*Buy your Disneyland tickets here as well, it's cheaper and you'd be able to avoid the long lines in Disneyland's ticketing counter
*Just a bus ride away from/to the airport (even if it's your 1st time in HK, you'll never get lost)
*Free wifi on our room
*You can leave your luggage at the 'reception area' if you're early for the checkin or has checkout already

(-)
*The building is old and there are lots of hostels in the building and some residential owners as well, so it's quite dirty outside
*Very small bathrooms
*If you don't have a laptop/phone you can use the 2 computers in the 'reception', maximum of 30mins(?)/person since there are people who'd want to use the computer as well


-------
Note: If you're on a budget and is not sensitive with the environment outside, better stay on hostels like this and use the saved money on your shopping instead :-)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank icetheexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 242 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

This has to be the smallest room i have ever stayed with the smalles restroom. I was really hard to move in their toilet and i am barely 5 feet at that. Imagine someone taller and bigger! Anyway, I found the place clean enough. There are ammenities like the microwave oven and clean water. Wifi is also available but only in their office, you can also use any of their 2 computers. Stanley, the owner, is very accommodating. Location is superb. Didn't hear any irritating noise (from the streets or nearby rooms) but the matress is thin...I wanted a queen size bed but what they did is just have the 2 single beds merge. Oh well, as they say you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anthro_pologo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We had a twin bed room with en-suite at Dragon hostel. The room was very small, but had everything we needed (air-con, shower, toilet, tv), unfortunately it didn't have a single window which made it feel very boxy. However, it is in a great location in the heart of Mong Kok and that is definitely it's saving grace. I don't have any negative points, and would recommend it to someone for it's price and location, but be prepared to be in a very small room! The owner spoke good English and was very happy to help, and there is also free internet in the foyer.

Room Tip: ask for a window!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This place only stands out for it's situation: right besides the main street in Hong Kong, 1 minute to the Lady's Market. Out of that...it's kind of a filthy place to stay in, I mean, it's tiny, the bathroom has the shower over the toilet, so, once you're done showering the place is all wet...for the rest of your stay, since it's so damp it'll never be dry again...
It's in an apartment, and it's quite hard to get the elevator, because there is only one you can use. It states it's got laundry facilities...well...not quite! if you want to clean your clothes you have to give them to the staff, who will charge you a lot...and will do your laundry "asap"... If you are to stay here, be aware that you'll probably end up hating the place. We did.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovetotravelmucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This was our 2nd trip and 2nd time staying in the hostel. For the location and price, it is a real value for money accommodation. Very near to Mongkok MTR station, so so convenient. Rooms are small, bathroom is small for my size but no issue here. The sink is small too. Basic stuff like aircondition and TV is there. Rooms are clean too. Wi-fi access works a charm. If you just want a place to sleep in your trip, this will be a good place. If you need something luxurious then this is not your choice.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andytt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Hi every traveller to Hong Kong,

do not stay here unless you want the sound of rock n roll music above your heads until 11pm each night. You might find this amusing but there is a bad practice on the 8th floor of the Sincere House., 83 Argyle Street. Mong Kok, Hong Kong, Hong Kong.
I would estimate ~30 - 40 Db as there was vibrations the wall next to my bed.

This is not the main point. The duty staff just tried to offer another room and guess what I heard at a lower volume ... that's right the same, annoying band practice. If the band was half good I would mind but they suck as much as the service here.

Its up to you - Dragon Hostel Hong Kong = Noisy Rock Music = Bad Night Sleep

Also there is no Wifi in the room or it works occasionally. Again, this place is doggie!!!

The choice is yours.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chicha78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Although finding the front desk was not easy (the city is confusing in general), once I did I was pleased with the service, and the value for my money. Stanley Fan speaks excellent english and was very helpful. The room was very small - no window, but bright, comfortable, with a TV, air conditioning, and a ensuite bathroom. This location was perfect - a block from the MTR and right in the heart of the action. Everything was easy to get to from here. The hostel is clean but shows it's age, so if you are looking for value and location - this is the spot!

Room Tip: Talk to Stanley Fan.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubakerryllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#12 of 721 in Hong Kong
6,546 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#34 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,171 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Ah Shan Hostel
Ah Shan Hostel
#21 of 159 in Hong Kong
304 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#2 of 159 in Hong Kong
577 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#3 of 159 in Hong Kong
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon Hostel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon Hostel Hong Kong

Address: Room 707, 7/F Sincere House, 83 Argyle St, Mong Kok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 159 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: £11 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Dragon Hostel Hong Kong 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dragon Hostel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing