We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location & we love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location & we love it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

This hostel location very near to MTR station & lot of places to shop around this area. The hostel also provide us the cold drinking water and hot water, so we can save a lot in buying mineral water.water in Hong Kong is really not cheap as we all know. Recommended to everyone especially budget traveller

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nggt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    178
    94
    18
    11
See reviews for
82
71
100
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Stayed with friends last April 2009.
Stayed with family last May 2011.

Been to Hongkong twice already and this is the most practical place for a traveler who's on budget like me. And if I'll go to Hongkong for the 3rd time (soon), this is where I'll be staying again for sure!

(+)
*Located just in front of Ladies' Night Market (MongKok)
*Very near MTR station (anywhere you go, you'd just have to ride on these)
*Great staffs! If you have any concerns, whether it's in the middle of the night, there's someone who's gonna help you. Thanks Stan (the owner) and family! Stan can speak english pretty good so you'll not have a hard time communicating with him.
*Free purified water (so you can refill your tumbler anytime) and free hot water for your coffee or noodles
*Convert you USD to HKD here (believe me, they've got higher conversion rates than that of the airport
*CCTV on lobby (so you'll feel quite secured)
*Buy your Disneyland tickets here as well, it's cheaper and you'd be able to avoid the long lines in Disneyland's ticketing counter
*Just a bus ride away from/to the airport (even if it's your 1st time in HK, you'll never get lost)
*Free wifi on our room
*You can leave your luggage at the 'reception area' if you're early for the checkin or has checkout already

(-)
*The building is old and there are lots of hostels in the building and some residential owners as well, so it's quite dirty outside
*Very small bathrooms
*If you don't have a laptop/phone you can use the 2 computers in the 'reception', maximum of 30mins(?)/person since there are people who'd want to use the computer as well


-------
Note: If you're on a budget and is not sensitive with the environment outside, better stay on hostels like this and use the saved money on your shopping instead :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank icetheexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

This has to be the smallest room i have ever stayed with the smalles restroom. I was really hard to move in their toilet and i am barely 5 feet at that. Imagine someone taller and bigger! Anyway, I found the place clean enough. There are ammenities like the microwave oven and clean water. Wifi is also available but only in their office, you can also use any of their 2 computers. Stanley, the owner, is very accommodating. Location is superb. Didn't hear any irritating noise (from the streets or nearby rooms) but the matress is thin...I wanted a queen size bed but what they did is just have the 2 single beds merge. Oh well, as they say you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthro_pologo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We had a twin bed room with en-suite at Dragon hostel. The room was very small, but had everything we needed (air-con, shower, toilet, tv), unfortunately it didn't have a single window which made it feel very boxy. However, it is in a great location in the heart of Mong Kok and that is definitely it's saving grace. I don't have any negative points, and would recommend it to someone for it's price and location, but be prepared to be in a very small room! The owner spoke good English and was very happy to help, and there is also free internet in the foyer.

Room Tip: ask for a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valladolid
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

This place only stands out for it's situation: right besides the main street in Hong Kong, 1 minute to the Lady's Market. Out of that...it's kind of a filthy place to stay in, I mean, it's tiny, the bathroom has the shower over the toilet, so, once you're done showering the place is all wet...for the rest of your stay, since it's so damp it'll never be dry again...
It's in an apartment, and it's quite hard to get the elevator, because there is only one you can use. It states it's got laundry facilities...well...not quite! if you want to clean your clothes you have to give them to the staff, who will charge you a lot...and will do your laundry "asap"... If you are to stay here, be aware that you'll probably end up hating the place. We did.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovetotravelmucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

This was our 2nd trip and 2nd time staying in the hostel. For the location and price, it is a real value for money accommodation. Very near to Mongkok MTR station, so so convenient. Rooms are small, bathroom is small for my size but no issue here. The sink is small too. Basic stuff like aircondition and TV is there. Rooms are clean too. Wi-fi access works a charm. If you just want a place to sleep in your trip, this will be a good place. If you need something luxurious then this is not your choice.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andytt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Hi every traveller to Hong Kong,

do not stay here unless you want the sound of rock n roll music above your heads until 11pm each night. You might find this amusing but there is a bad practice on the 8th floor of the Sincere House., 83 Argyle Street. Mong Kok, Hong Kong, Hong Kong.
I would estimate ~30 - 40 Db as there was vibrations the wall next to my bed.

This is not the main point. The duty staff just tried to offer another room and guess what I heard at a lower volume ... that's right the same, annoying band practice. If the band was half good I would mind but they suck as much as the service here.

Its up to you - Dragon Hostel Hong Kong = Noisy Rock Music = Bad Night Sleep

Also there is no Wifi in the room or it works occasionally. Again, this place is doggie!!!

The choice is yours.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chicha78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,062 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#21 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#33 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#86 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon Hostel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon Hostel Hong Kong

Property: Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Address: Room 707, 7/F Sincere House, 83 Argyle St, Mong Kok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Dragon Hostel Hong Kong 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dragon Hostel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing