We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cheap budget hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Very cheap hostel. Nice location, near Mongkok MTR. However we found it difficult to locate the entrance.

Room and bathroom is very small, with limited space. 1 of our rooms has unpleasant odour. Free Internet usage and they have free wifi as well. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful.

Highly recommended for budget travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aarontanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

I booked the room 2 months before I go to Hongkong and I paid in full through China bank. When I arrive they ask me if I had a reservation and I just show them the bank slip. They give me a room at 6th floor 611 at room 61. It was very clean and feels like im in dormitory. It was quit, with fast internet connection, and free potable drinking water. The bathroom was clean, with soap and shampoo, tissue, hot water, towels are provided when you ask for it... the best part of my room is it was just beside the bathroom. For charging your electronic items in the room you need to ask a plug in the reception area with a 20HKD deposit and is refundable. The location was convenient for shopping at ladies market and access to MTR is easy. Before entering the bldg there are money changer and the exchange rate was better than in airport. Going back to the airport from the hostel, you need to go to HSBC bldg 3 blocks away and you could see the bus stop A21. I have traveled alone but I had no problem with the hostel, if you want to ask something the receptionist would call Stanley and you could ask him. I will be back at Dragon Hostel in my future visit in Hongkong.. Thank you for a nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lazyMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Arrived late after long flight, but warm welcome - eventually - as it took a while to find at first. Fantastic location for Kowloon and well placed for food, transport links and sights. Room clean, if a little small! Hot water and fridge an added bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyworld2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We were a family of 8 so we obviously have to look for a cheap but clean place to stay. Emailed the contact person for availability and got a reply by the same day. Price was affordable and was able to make a deposit at a local bank (Chinabank) and everything else is smooth.

The room is definitely small but clean. No need for fabulous rooms as we are out most of the time. The restroom is really small so if you are not used to it, it will make you feel uncomfortable. But the location is the best! Less than 5mins walk to the MTR, just across Ladies' Market and 24 hour stores & fastfood (we ate at KFC & McDo).

Room Tip: If you are out most of the time, yes hostels are a good place to stay. same if you are a large group...
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dins O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Just 3-5mins walk from Mong Kok Station, perfect assessibilty and very convenient. Langham shopping centre, Ladies Market, foods, restaurant is everywhere....
For 1st timer is quite difficult to find the place because it is inside one of the building.
Room is a bit small but for Asian is still OK, air-con is old but still cold, water pressure a bit low, need to spent more time inside the bathroom. Has microvawe, fridge and driniking water outside the room. Tickets for Disneyland, The Peak is sold at the hostel. Just ask the reception will do. Free baggage storage.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LifeGoesOn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The rooms in this hostel were small and basic, but that is the norm in any Hong Kong accommodation. Most importantly they were clean and in a great location. This hostel is situated in the centre of vibrant Mong Kok and only a 5 minute walk from the train station. The rooms were cleaned everyday and hot water, cold water and toilet paper were provided. It was a great place to rest our weary heads after exploring the city. Great price too, compared to some other places we had looked at.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We had a wonderful Family Trip to Hong Kong. The neighborhood where Dragon Hostel is located is not really high class but for those familiar to Hong Kong, this is the real Hong Kong. Very Near MTR and the Airport Bus bus-stop. Using the Airport bus can save your family almost $HK100. We felt secure in the area. Had the opportunity to go around very late at night and generally you feel safe.The room, toilet and shared pantry were very neat . Beddings and towels were well laundered. Cudos too,to the cleaning lady, bless her, she was very very nice. Contrary to some reviews, we were given a room that was quiet ( no rock & roll). We never experienced the long wait for the elevators, despite being there at peak season. Eating out is no problem, make sure you go around and check the neighborhood, as we were surprised by the number /variety of restaurants present, both Chinese and a lot of others. Try the noodle house on the same street, great and friendly. Great Shopping around. We will be back! Cheers! EDBueta & Family

Room Tip: Book early, tha's it. You can probably get the best rooms, w/ windows as we did. Stanley and Ire...
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edbsbc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 721 in Hong Kong
544 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#35 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,177 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Ah Shan Hostel
Ah Shan Hostel
#23 of 159 in Hong Kong
304 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#2 of 159 in Hong Kong
579 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#3 of 159 in Hong Kong
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon Hostel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon Hostel Hong Kong

Address: Room 707, 7/F Sincere House, 83 Argyle St, Mong Kok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 159 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: £11 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Dragon Hostel Hong Kong 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dragon Hostel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing