We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Get What You Pay For”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in this hostel during our holidays in HK early this year. We decided to give it a try after listening to some good review and knowing that the fact that its price is on the lower side compared to the rest, as it is a well known fact that the accommodation rates in HK are very expensive!

So when we arrived in the hostel, we were quite taken aback that the room is extremely small. We were surprised that tiny room is actually meant for triple sharing! It has a double bunk bed on the left side and a single bed on the right side. That room also comes with a tiny bathroom with just enough space for toilet bowl with a water heater right above it and a super small basin. Amazing is the word to describe the design of this room!

The room is so small that you have to let one person to go his/ her bed first, then only the next one can move in. You can't even open up your luggage flat on the floor too! You got no space for that. Another turn off part about this room is the strange water heater. The temperature is uncontrollable! The water turns icy cold and burning hot in within the 10 minutes of your bath. So you need to be extra careful in your showering process!

Besides all these negative part, the good things about this hostel is all the beds and blankets are clean. They also provide you with iron and hair dryer with a deposit charged. Also, this hostel is located nearby to the MTR Mongkok station and the bus stop to go airport. This made your travelling very easy and convenient. You also just cross the road to visit and shop the Sai Yeung Choi Street which sells various souvenirs. Many shops and restaurants are also available in that area.

So in conclusion, the Dragon hostel is quite valued for money if you have a small budget for accommodation. As they say, you get what you pay for. But i would personally recommended this hostel to only single or couple travelers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darleneliew2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    178
    94
    18
    11
See reviews for
82
71
100
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed in this hostel twice. The first time I arrived very late at night and I had a reservation starting from the next day but they were able to arrange a private room for me anyway (I guess I just got lucky because they had a spare room, but it was a relief not having to wonder around the city looking for another place). They adjusted the price a bit, so I didn't have to pay for 4 beds and the next day I moved to another room. My second stay took place as planned. In both occasions I had a double private ensuite room but there are various other options available - it is better to reserve in advance though because on weekends they are usually full. Rooms are claustrophobic and most of them do not have windows so the only air you get is from the AC or if you open the door. They are arranged in 3-4 apartment sections on the 7th floor, so the place doesn't get noisy or crowded and it is reasonably safe. To get there you need to get off at the Mongkok metro station, which is relatively central but it will take you around 1 hr to walk form there to the harbour. The elevator and the stairs accessing the property are dirty and not inviting, but the rooms inside are clean.

I suggest that you bring your own flip flops (they provide some plastic ones but they don't look good), your own soap and bath set (there are no courtesy items and the soap in the distributor is always over) and that you don't stay more than 2-3 nights (or else all your clothes will start to stink and rot for the high humidity).

The staff is generally helpful, although not all members speak English. I am not sure which I would consider the best hostel in Hong Kong, since they are all quite far from the "average" European, but this is a fair one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilaria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This place was horrible, not very clean, cramped and had very unhelpful staff. However, it is easy to get to and in a good location, and this probably makes it worth putting up with. Go for it, if you need to save money.

Room Tip: The dorms are just grim. Invest in a single/double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas_Alexander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

It was our first trip to Hong Kong so we tried online to find a suitable and reasonable hotel. Dragon Hostel was on the top list. When we checked with our travel agency, we were also recommended this hotel so we gave it a shot. We chose a 5-bed private ensuite and the price is really reasonable. The hostel prepared well by providing us beforehand what to do when we get to the city and what transportation to take. Although the hostel was a bit difficult to find even with the map provided because there was no English sign outside the building. However, this was the only drawback I can find. Everything else was very good. Location was perfect for the night market, ladies market, MTR was just around the corner and the hostel even provides descounted tickets to most of the sights around HongKong. The owner and his staff were very helpful and accommodating and we were able to get a discounted rate when we need to extend our stay for half a day because my dad got ill. It may not be a five-star place but if you know how expensive Hong Kong is, this place is a hidden treasure you need to find. To Stephen, thank you for making our stay in Hong Kong a comfortable one. More power and hope to see you again on our next trip!

Room Tip: Choose a 3-4-5 bed suite when you travel in groups because it would be cheaper per head per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Althea-CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed in a 5-bed private ensuite, and our request to have a room with a window was granted by the owner Stanley who was very accommodating, together with Stephen and Stephanie. Aside from the good service, the location was the best part since the Ladies Market/ Night Market was just a couple of blocks across the street. The Mong Kok MTR Station was just 1 block away. The Flower Market/Bird Center was just 1 MTR station away. The hostel was actually in the middle of the shopping district but we had restful nights because there were no disturbing noise at all. FOR A WORTHWHILE TRIP IN HONGKONG WITHIN A BUDGET, THIS HOSTEL IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!! Truly deserving of its many awards.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The overall aspect is fine and reasonable when comparing the price and the room + facilities, However, the main entrance of the building is close at 4pm (if i'm not wrong), so you have to walk to the opposite to get in, which was a bit confusing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogdag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is a hostel / hotel converted from a number of apartments in a typical Kowloon residential building near Mong Kok station. The normal gripes apply for this kind of place: very small room, toilet / shower combination in a small space, queues for the lift (although not too long) and mattresses that some will find too hard. However, it is very clean, the aircon and the water heater work well, the staff are friendly (although with massively varying English ability), they are flexible, and you really won't find anything better at this price anywhere in Hong Kong. My wife was sceptical about us staying there. By the end she was completely happy to come back again. We stayed three people in a four person room, and used the extra bed to store our suitcases. A good decision!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrainsandmoreTrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 716 in Hong Kong
6,035 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#21 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,110 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#34 of 716 in Hong Kong
3,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 716 in Hong Kong
3,471 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#87 of 716 in Hong Kong
2,083 reviews
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon Hostel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon Hostel Hong Kong

Property: Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Address: Room 707, 7/F Sincere House, 83 Argyle St, Mong Kok, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Mong Kok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Dragon Hostel Hong Kong 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dragon Hostel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing