We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service in response to problem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel LKF By Rhombus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel LKF By Rhombus
Ranked #165 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service in response to problem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

I booked a standard room at the Hotel LKF because of its great location and it also had a reasonable price. I was going to stay Saturday and Sunday nights there.

When I arrived at the Hotel LKF to check in, the manager, Jiho Kim, immediately came to talk with me. Apparently, my room had "ventilation problems", and they did not have any other rooms for me in their hotel. He was very apologetic. But, he had already rebooked me (in an upgraded suite) for Saturday night at their sister hotel, the Hotel Panorama. The Hotel Panorama is not in LKF, but it's in TST, which is still a nice place to be. The Hotel Panorama suite (incredible views of the harbor and Hong Kong)and service (personal service in the private club level) were very nice . On Sunday, I returned to the Hotel LKF and they had upgraded me to a suite there as well.

The suite was very comfortable and everything you would expect from a boutique hotel like this (comfortable, clean modern design). My room also had nice views of central Hong Kong and the hills. Also, the restaurant at the top of the hotel, "Azure Restaurant slash Bar" was very comfortable, had good food and drinks, and it had incredible views of Hong Kong. Finally, the location of Hotel LKF is excellent if you want to spend time in the Lan Kwai Fong, but it is also good for being a tourist (closet to SoHo, the Mid-Level escalator, or the Peak Tram), or shopping (the Landmark) in the central part of Hong Kong. It's also very close to the Central MTR station and not far from the Hong Kong airport express train station.

Overall, the service was excellent. Everyone at both hotels seemed to know my name and they were very friendly. They paid for my transport to and from the two hotels. They gave me some free food and drinks at the hotels, And, they gave me a complimentary ride to the airport when I left on Monday.

The hotel staff's response to problems really showcases their commitment to customer service. They could have just cancelled my reservation, or stuffed me in a sub-par room. But, they went above and beyond to take care of me when they had a problem. And, in the end, the rooms and service were the best I have had in years.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    240
    100
    40
    28
See reviews for
49
161
63
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

5 reasons to stay in LKF by Rhombus:
1. Clubbing-party location. This is number 1 in Hong Kong for all ages (See Dragon eye club for people above 30… Bars and clubs in Lang Kwai Fong street for younger ages).
2. So close to Central and Soho shopping, nice lunch dim sum locations (See Maxim Palace), walking distance to the Star Ferry etc. etc.
3. Comfortable Rooms with Central Skyline view, nice towels, free espresso machine, etc.
4. Generally good value boutique hotel. If you can price the time and effort to go to places especially at night, it ends up worth your while… The rooms are 5 star value and yes there is not a pool but I don’t know many people that go to HK to lie by the pool… We had two complimentary drinks and nibbles at Azuro (the 29th floor restaurant /bar of the hotel) per person every night of our 8 night stay! We also had free internet and gym facilities outside the hotel. These kinds of packages are available from various websites; you can check all these through tripadvisor.com.
5. After a long trip to HK it is so nice to go up the elevator and enjoy a superb dinner at Azuro restaurant and a few drinks at the Sky bar (nice view). Both of these are part of the hotel and very popular.

Don’t stay in LKF by Rhombus hotel if:
1. You want a quite time. Everything will annoy you if you do: the noise, the people from outside crowding the elevators, the sticky floor the next morning…
2. You are in Hong Kong for business that will not involve entertaining like going out for dinner and drinks.
3. You don’t like to walk 10 minutes up hill from Central.
4. You want to lie by the pool.
5. You want on-site spa facilities. However, I’ve tried some wonderful spas in the area just 2-3 minutes walk from the hotel.

Generally:
Some of the staff provide better service than others, but this is the same everywhere (the elevator guy was so polite by the way!).

We were 2 couples, we booked the Deluxe 600 room and they booked the 600 superior. Both had nice views and were about the same size. The Superior room has bigger spaces with sitting area, but smaller bathroom with no separate shower. The deluxe room did not have such big space for sitting but the bathroom was really big with walk in shower- bath area.

My friends that didn’t book in LKF because of the reviews ended up having to come to Lang Kwai Fong everyday for the entertainment part of the night.

Overall it was a good choice!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TTMdots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

this is one very nice spacious property, rooms are generous and modernly appointed, staff where very helpfull....major gripe...high fees for use of a clapped out slow PC and very expensive wi fi..yet apparently LAN was free....bloody ipads. Had a great stay, will come back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skippy_Sardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

Really enjoyed my stay here. Staff was friendly and helpful in suggesting nightlife, rooms were stylish and comfortable, and location in heart of all the action was nice. Highly recommend if you're in HK for a fun time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulThackeray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldives
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

My company's Hong Kong office is situated in Central and therefore I had stayed in majority of the hotels in the Hong Kong side. Hotel LKF is by far the best hotel in terms of providing a certain level of personal service. It is the only place in Hong Kong where everyone knows my name. After those long hours of work from the office, the vibrant place within the hotel area provides sheer pleasure and entertainment from the numerous pubs and dining establishments. Not to mention the hotels bar/resto on the 29th floor is great, in the evening it's very popular, even for people from outside the hotel.

If you are looking for a hotel to walk out and "live" Hong Kong this is definitely the place.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOKI14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

Company booked my wife and I at this hotel for trip to satellite office. Recommending they place future visitors in a more appropriate venue.

As stated elsewhere, hotel provides ear plugs due to location directly on the bourbon street of HK. More importantly, the upstairs club shares the lobby and elevators of the hotel, meaning that public areas are shared with club patrons. Thus, at night there is a steady flow of very loud, very drunk people (an early 20's, spring break-type crowd).

Room is billed as 500 sq ft., although that doesn't seem possible. Living area barely fits furnishings and features Ikea-style decor and brown carpet. Not like the W. Wired internet connection costs $20 USD - wireless is not offered. Bathroom is more spacious, although offers only a makeshift shower by placing hand nozzle in a bracket. View from the bathroom is very nice on high floors.

Evening check-in experience was laughable (after 8 hours of travel). Bellhop provided no help with bags from the taxi - we navigated our bags through the LKF crowd on the sidewalk. Once inside, he dragged our two roller bags into the elevator and room. We thanked him, and he moved to the middle of the room, standing there for several seconds as we began unpacking. Realizing he must be waiting for a tip, I searched in my wallet for HKD. He informed me that he would accept foreign currencies, as well. I gave him $3 USD, and he remained standing there looking at me. Losing patience, I asked him, "How do I get you to leave this room?" He told me that a tip should be $50-$100 HKD. He finally left after I gave him an extra $5 USD note. Far too much, but the quickest method of getting him out of the way of my closet.

Otherwise, the rest of the staff seemed generally polite and friendly (if not particularly helpful), and included breakfast was convenient. Altogether, though, this isn't a legitimate hotel for guests on business or really anyone above the age of 25.

Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank TA999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

Location is the key. Yes there are noise during the night and of course the weekends, but that is expected in the middle of LAN KWAI FONG! Why else would you stay here? If noise is your primary concern, this is not the hotel for you, but i think the higher floors are quieter since i was on the 15/f. Great service, loved the experienced, and loved lan kwai fong!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StrikyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#35 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#18 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Sheung Wan
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
#104 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#159 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Central
Butterfly on Wellington
Butterfly on Wellington
#42 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LKF By Rhombus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LKF By Rhombus

Property: Hotel LKF By Rhombus
Address: No.33 Wyndham Street, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#115 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel LKF By Rhombus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel LKF by Rhombus is a deluxe boutique hotel located in the heart of Lan Kwai Fong, with a 4-minute walk to the MTR Central Station and a 5-minute drive to the Airport Express - Hong Kong Station. Major commercial buildings, luxury shopping malls, art galleries are all within walking distance. Hotel LKF by Rhombus has been delighting international jet-setters with its 5-star personalised service, premium design and ultra-comfortable guestrooms, ranging in size from 500 to 950 square feet. Azure Restaurant Slash Bar, situated at the pinnacle of Hotel LKF by Rhombus, features amazing views of Central and offers ever changing modern cuisine. Other upscale facilities include Meeting Rooms, Fitness Centre and Business Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotelopia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel LKF By Rhombus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lkf Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel LKF By Rhombus Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing