We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£96
Priceline
£105
Agoda.com
£89
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
66
224
91
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
66
224
91
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking distance restaurants and shops tst location avenue
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We had a three night stay in Xi Hotel.

Pros
- Nice and attentive staff.
- Central location.

Cons
- As others have stated the hotel is located on a bar/club street. When they close around 4-5 a.m ther is alot of screaming and cars honking in the street. We slept about 5 hours per night.
- The rooms are worn.
- Very basic breakfast.

We have stayed at many other hotels in HK and this was definitely one of the worse. My recomendation is to choose another hotel.

Room tip: Choose high floor.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DBorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul L, General Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Xi Hotel as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. We sincerely thank for your commendation on our location and our staff service. However, we are very disappointed to read your review and would like to extend our sincere apologies for your disappointment and the inconvenience caused.

We appreciate your valuable feedback about the noise in the room. We truly understand and share the feeling of bearing such annoyance.

We will make every effort to seek continuous improvement in serving our customers satisfactorily. Normally, we will arrange room change if we have room available.

Once again, please accept our wholehearted apology for any negative feelings that had experienced. We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Xi Hotel in the near future.

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Location is perfect, it is in TST in a quiet street, there are few bars/clubs down the hotel but we did not hear any sound during the night.
The airport bus stop is one corner from the hotel and the subway 2 min walking.
When we arrived, hotel was overbooked and they upgraded to a superior room.
Rooms was big and very clean for the price we paid. We have been traveling several times in HK, staying sometimes in guesthouse or 4 stars hotels.
This is the best deal if you don't want to spend to much money but at the same time have a decent room.
Breakfast is Okay.

Room tip: Ask for a high floor
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul L, General Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Xi Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to receive your review and eager to provide the comfortable stay and pleasant experience to our guests, your valuable words would be the key to drive us sustainable and success.

Please notify us when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong and we will try our best to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Thank you,

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I had been staying in this boutique hotel every time when I am in Hong kong. I had been trying to find a hotel that is relatively small in size, quite and free from the tour group crowd. Located this hotel 3 years ago and had been staying in this hotel everysince. This is my 7th stayed in this place. Room is small but the queen size bed is comfortable. The outstanding feature is the pleasant eatery with an outdoor patio. There is no queueing during breakfast, Good continental style breakfast on the house. Having breakfast with greenery on the outside open air patio and reading the paper is a pleasure. Ideal for FIT visitors, on business or a couple looking for a free and easy holiday. Front desk service- nothing special, looking for a smile, I have not seen one in all my stays.Locating is ideal, very near Mrt, Resturants and shopping mall is only 100 mtrs away

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul L, General Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

We thank you for your continous support given to us.

We are eager to provide the comfortable stay and pleasant experience to our guests, your valuable words would be the key to drive us sustainable and success.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I would have given Xi Hotel 3/5 because it's technically an average hotel. However, recent experience with awful hotels further worsened by their terrible service has lowered my expectations, particularly in Hong Kong, where the people at front desk can yell at or nag you if they feel like it. Xi Hotel has pretty good service -- really polite and accommodating staff. And the price for the area was absolutely great. I would go back here if I had a weekend in Hong Kong and wanted to save money for other things like shopping and sight-seeing.

1. Great location -- a lot of pricey hotels in the surrounding areas, so you know you're in a good area. Use the N exits of East Tsim Sha Tsui for access.

2. Bed was firm and linens were okay. The interior of the room is what you would expect for the price. There's a minibar, free and pay mineral water, a kettle, some cups. Towels and fluffy slippers are provided. In room safe. Couldn't find the hairdryer, but it's pretty warm in Hong Kong so I didn't bother asking for one. Free in room wi-fi, big flat screen TV but didn't see a DVD player. iPod dock serves as a clock and iPhone charger for two -- brilliant.

In a place where hotels (whether swank or average) routinely charge for in-room wi-fi, sometimes on a per device basis, this is heaven. Sometimes the connection gets cut though.

3. For toiletries, they have shampoo, conditioner, lotion and dental kits. The quality of the toiletries is adequate -- you will not smell like Provence got sick in your hair or anything, so if that's what you want bring your own stuff.

4. Breakfast was pastries, bread, cereals, coffee, tea, fruit, savory stuff and hard and soft-boiled eggs. They have a toaster. No rice or meat. Al fresco or indoor dining available. Flat screen TV in this area. It's served at Courtney's, which is a wine bar. I'm sensitive to third hand smoke but didn't have problems eating here.

5. They have a common area called the library, with computer stations and a flat screen TV.

Warnings -- (a) the comments about the weird water temperature are right -- it can get really hot or cold even if you don't move the knob.

(b) In-shower soap dispenser = slippery floor. Wondered if they used wall tiles for floor tiles. Please use the rubber anti-slip mat.

(c) The street, Minden Road, isn't pretty, but it's so close to Nathan Road!

(d) No pool or gym.

If taking the Airport Express -- get down or board in front of Holiday Inn Golden Mile (on the sidewalk, not in the inner front drive of the hotel) on Mody Road. To get to Xi Hotel: with Holiday Inn on your right, walk straight to the corner of Mody and Minden Row, then turn right. Next corner, turn left to Minden Road. Hotel is to your left, after the girly bars, ha ha.

I traveled with a ten month old baby -- if you have a baby:

1. There's a space in a regular room for a third bed or crib. We didn't actually request for a crib so please check if they have one to lend (I think they do but please check).

2. There's a minibar for storing baby's milk and vitamins, complimentary mineral water and kettle for boiling water.

3. Bath time is challenging because there's no tub. You have to pick between the shower (with the fluctuating water temperature -- not recommended) and a tiny sink that was just too small to bathe the baby. We borrowed a plastic basin because they didn't have a baby tub; it was probably the first time someone did this because they really searched for one -- how nice. We did get one of the variety that you would wash your clothes in if you were in a third world country, but that was just fine and no extra charge.

4. Bring enough bottles for milk because I'm not sure how you can sterilize bottles. We didn't try to ask; although it seems they would be kind enough to help.

5. No baby friendly breakfast, unless you count cereal (puffs and flakes + milk, and fruit -- Granny Smith, oranges and bananas) and bread. Bring your own!

6. Your exit, if you are taking the MTR to Xi Hotel should be the lift to Hanoi Road (N1) not K11 Mall (N3) because of the stairs. Cross over the small street (Hanoi Road, not Hart Avenue -- the one with no traffic light -- to your left from the lift), and then the bigger street with a traffic light (Mody Road). At that corner (Mody and Blenheim), turn right to Blenheim, then right to Minden Road. In short, Minden Road is parallel to Mody.

Room tip: We stayed at the 18th -- very quiet. Room was relatively big -- fit 3 adults and a baby just fine.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jennylimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul L, Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Xi Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to receive your review, and especially pleased to read your kind words about our hotel service and location.

We have noted your constructive feedback on hot water supply and appropriate actions have been taken by our Engineering Department to check water heater in all guest rooms. We will make every effort to seek continuous improvement in serving our customers satisfactorily. Moreover, please note we could provide baby cot for children under age of 2 for free.

We are eager to provide the comfortable stay and pleasant experience to our guests, your valuable words would be the key to drive us sustainable and success.

Please notify us when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong and we will try our best to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Thank you,

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I first stayed in this hotel 5 years ago when it was the Minden, and it was a nice clean and spacious boutique hotel. This time the price has not changed much but it has become like a budget hotel! the rooms were small, the pillow flattened to a pizza the moment i slept on it, but worse of all, the hot water was not consistent. It kept becoming cold after a while.I had to keep adjusting the hot water during my shower. The location is nice, just few minutes from Tsim Sha Tsui MTR. Only recommended for those that needs a bed for the night.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CatherineL431
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul L, General Manager at Xi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Xi Hotel Hong Kong as your preferred choice of stay during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are very disappointed to read your review and would like to extend our sincere apologies for your disappointment and the inconvenience caused.

We have noted your constructive feedback on hot water supply and appropriate actions have been taken by our Engineering Department to check water heater in all guest rooms. We will make every effort to seek continuous improvement in serving our customers satisfactorily.

We are eager to provide the comfortable stay and pleasant experience to our guests, your valuable words would be the key to drive us sustainable and success.

Same superior quality, different name. From 1 August 2012, The Minden has transformed into Xi, contemporary artistic boutique hotel in Kowloon.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Thank you,

Paul Lam
Hotel Manager
Xi Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews