We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for kids but otherwise overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel
Ranked #55 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic for kids but otherwise overrated”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Its a nice,clean,imposing thing....I was there with my 9 yr old daughter for 3 days...But what they lacked in the loo,more than made up in the pool.The area is totally awsome.,during our stay she got blisters on her feet and must admit,the care and medical attention given to her was fantastic.
Dont miss out "Chef Micky" although it might cost you a bomb because you get to meet him only if you pay for the buffet.But it was worth it.
The room dissapointed me,especially the toileteries in the bathroom,guess it caters to only kids needs!
There are regular shuttles to Disneyland every 10 min,which was verrry convenient.Also since it dosent make sense to cover Disneyland in 1 day the hotel nearby really helps.Overall a worthwhile stay but value for money?I doubt.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,075
    616
    183
    39
    22
See reviews for
1,258
166
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed one night in a Fantasia corner room. Large room with nice theming and features. The theming wasn't quite as defined as the US, but still very nice. Our room had a great view of the ocean and we could see Central in the distance.

The lobby and grounds were beautiful, but there were a lot of families at all times and the building felt very crowded. The staff was extremely helpful, I was looking for cold medicine for my wife and they were able to help me out. Hotel also gave us a late checkout to stay in the park longer until our afternoon flight.

Overall very happy I stayed here, would definitely recommend it to other travelers. We took the bus from the MTR station to the hotel, and then walked from the park to the hotel. Nobody else seemed to do this but us, but the walk was only about 15 minutes and was quite nice. Definitely walk over the bus as it was crowded and not always filled with the most polite visitors. For one night only, the room was very expensive, but again, that's the cost of staying close and what Disney tends to do globally.

Room Tip: Fantasia room is very nice with a bigger space and good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonKr_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights and was impressed with their level of service. The room was big for my family of 4 and the deco is great. The staff was always ready to help and greet the guests. They were all out to make each guest feel happy. My kids loved the stickers given by the staff throughout the stay.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank keeny_sgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed at the HK Disneyland hotel for 3 days in June 2013. Overall it was a great experience. The hotel is very spacious and beautiful. Colonial architecture remixed with Disney characters. Mickey is everywhere, sometime subtle (in the carpet design in the lobbies) sometimes in your face (food, elevator voice). The hotel grounds are fabulous, green gardens, fountains and beautiful pools. We upgraded to a room with a balcony, which overlooked the sea and the fishing pier which was really pretty.

Overall the experience is great and worth the money that you pay for it. Though there are a few improvement areas to make traveler experience better.

1) The checkin lobby is small and if you arrive earlier than the check in time and your room isnt ready, there's hardly any place to sit. The lobby gets packed. If you are early just sit in the cafe near reception and order some drinks, its worth it

2) food - there is not much of a choice (especially for vegetarians - my wife is a vegetarian and found that she had hardly and choice to eat). The food is also very expensive. typical Disney prices, 2 to 3 times of what you would pay as compared to a similar resturant elsewhere.

3) The special room decoration - we asked for a special room decoration, its a part of they deals that they give. All they did was add a couple of decals on teh door and the window of disney characters and some ballons and placemats. I expected more somehow.

but one thing that made the experience quite nice was teh disney makeover. it comes at an extra cost (like everything in disneyland) but its quite nice. for about 1000 HK dollars they do a princess makeover including the dress and makeup. My daughter enjoyed it

lastly, when we were returning from the park to teh hotel on teh first day, we wondered if staying in the resort hotel was something that we could have avoided altogether. Disneyland is not too far away from HK central and is well connected with the MTR. You anyways cant walk back to your hotel from teh park, you have to take a shuttle bus (long queues at the end of the day) might as well wait in teh queues for the bus to the MTR and stay in HK, somewhere near Tsim Sha Sui or Central, which is a 120 HK dollar cab ride away.

Room Tip: Choose the room with a balcony - great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sujay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cimanggis, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The most exciting moment for the kids was having breakfast with Disney characters.
The variety of food was not bad, my kids enjoy it very much.

When we enter the room and start checking the amenities, we surprisingly found small slippers for our little daughter. So cute.

For the room itself, we find it nice, clean but lack of Disney ambiance, despite from the toiletries and amenities. So the feeling was just like staying in a ordinary hotel.

Overall, it was a nice stay, close to Disneyland and easy to take a MTR to Citygate mall.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koriyama, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We chose the Hong Kong Disneyland Resort hotel because we wish something special and our choice was absolutely true :D

The room is very nice, clean, and spacious with two double beds. Children loved the room very much. They were interested the facilities in the resort (swimming pool and children play room)

The location is so close to Disneyland and when we felt tired, we just came back by the shuttle bus, taking a short nap and back to Disneyland again at night to watch the fireworks.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CHUN250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were so happy staying here with the kids, spending our summer vacation! Excellent service & hotel facilities, great buffet with Disney characters. Rooms are so nice, the kids really enjoyed the bath tub. Bed is comfortable. Spending two nights here is absolutely great! Disneyland is the happiest place on earth! Everyone can be a kid!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pinkfoodieprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Disneyland
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
#92 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,946 reviews
Disney Explorers Lodge
#203 of 718 in Hong Kong
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#50 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,814 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#54 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,971 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel

Property: Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel
Address: Hong Kong Disneyland, Lantau Island,, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Disneyland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#51 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#52 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#100 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a lavish Victorian palace nestled along the shores of the South China Sea. Savor exquisite dining from around the globe, lounge the day away with a cocktail poolside or explore a garden maze in the shape of Mickey Mouse. Boasting stately accommodations with modern amenities plus live music in the grand 6-story lobby , this architectural marvel combines the splendor of a vintage seaside resort with the magic of Disney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disneyland Hong Kong
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing