We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not as good as first time round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel
Ranked #54 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good but not as good as first time round”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here first back in 2010 and were blown away back then by the novelty of it all. This time round we stayed for an extra night (3 in total) on a short stopover in HK on the way back to the UK. The hotel is nice and everything is perfect for the kids - Disney characters at breakfast and dinner, great pool, Disney shop in the lobby and overall Disney-ness.

But - everything is geared at guests staying 1 or 2 nights max. (including ticket packages to Disneyland). Prices for food are incredibly high - room service for drinks alone was unbelievable. Noodles (takeaway) from the Chinese restaurant in the hotel came at a high high price (and they're noodles in HK - come on!). The level of English language proficiency from the staff was a lot lower than it should have been - even front of house staff. Yes most guests are from mainland China but the staff should still speak good English.

The focus seems more around a commercial business than the usual friendly service you've come to expect from Disney as a global brand.

Don't get me me wrong - it's great fun still, particularly for the kids but not so good on the value for money side and service.

Whilst your staying don't just get the shuttle bus to Disneyland - walk instead. It's about 10 minutes more and you get treated to some of the best views in the world, of the awesome HK skyline and Lantau Island.

Room Tip: Pool or sea view rooms with a balcony are nicer! But you don't really spend much time in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnoble100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,063
    607
    179
    39
    22
See reviews for
1,237
165
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I was on a package deal that included breakfast and park tickets. The room was a non smoking room and there was absolutely no evidence of smoking anywhere. It was clean, spacious and the hotel is just beautiful. They offer slippers and bathrobes for everyone in the room, including kids sizes. The breakfast was so much fun and the kids loved the character interaction.

I have been to every Disney in the world, and the walkway from the hotel to the parks was just incredible. Clean, beautifully landscaped, it was honestly so nice to walk to the park in such a peaceful setting. I loved every minute we spent at this hotel. We did checkout the Hollywood hotel as well and my kids were impressed with that one. Of the two, I think we all agree we would stay at the Disneyland Hong Kong hotel because of the proximity to the parks. I'm not a bus person, so walking to and from the parks was perfect for us.

Spend the money and stay at the resorts. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sweetdisneybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The hotel may not be the highlight of your trip, but then Disneyland Hong Kong is the real reason to stay here. The hotel is buzzing with the day crowd and the gift shop reminds me how close you are to meeting Mickey, Minnie and the gang in just a few minutes. Don't forget to hop across to the other hotel in the venue for breakfast (the characters drop by to say a personal hello to all the kids!)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepakagarwal98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our stay in this hotel was superb coz all the hotel staff were very friendly and courteous and makes one feel really valued. The rooms are also very good and clean and the amenities are superb.

The shuttle rides are very convenient (15 minutes intervals), going to-from the hotel and the park (MTR train).

But to really appreciate your stay at this hotel, the Buffet Breakfast with the Disney Characters is a must! A one of a kind and very special experience. Imagine eating your pancake and eggs while Mickey and Pluto are tapping your back or making fun at you? Priceless.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenDNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

the hotel is a stone throw from the disney land park at hong kong. there was a bus ride every 30 minutes and since we wanted to visit disneyland this was an ideal place to spend a night.
A descent hotel with a disneyland feel, a must visit for kids.
Obviously its very far from the city. Service and staff were courteous.
if you go to disneyland, this is a place you should stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaranPuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel is located close to the Hong Kong Disney Land, where a shuttle bus goes around every 30 minutes. The hotel is super in terms of design rooms and service. The only shortcome of this hotel is its location, it is located between the airport and the city and the taxi to the city costs about 150 Hong Kong Dollars. It is suitable for disney visitors only.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AduFaisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The hotel itself is great. Awesome service and large rooms (deluxe seaview) with beautiful furnishings. Nice pool too with slider for the kids and easy to get to disneyland park with free shuttle running constantly.

Unfortunately I had booked a deluxe seaview with breakfast in the enchanted garden for the kids but on arrival were given a very confusing spiel about upgrading to kingdom club which we did. Unfortunately the breakfast sucked in the kingdom lounge - not atmosphere and no disney performers which is what I wanted. The check in spiel was very confusing and they refused to let me "downgrade" again to the breakfast I wanted, so we ended up just having breakfast once.

Very disappointing and they should get reception staff that can explain properly.

Room Tip: Deluxe Seaview is large and very good for up to for persons. Don't bother upgrading to Kingdom C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Disneyland
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
#93 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,934 reviews
Disney Explorers Lodge
#209 of 718 in Hong Kong
41 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#56 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#51 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,754 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel

Property: Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel
Address: Hong Kong Disneyland, Lantau Island,, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Disneyland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#52 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#101 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a lavish Victorian palace nestled along the shores of the South China Sea. Savor exquisite dining from around the globe, lounge the day away with a cocktail poolside or explore a garden maze in the shape of Mickey Mouse. Boasting stately accommodations with modern amenities plus live music in the grand 6-story lobby , this architectural marvel combines the splendor of a vintage seaside resort with the magic of Disney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disneyland Hong Kong
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing