We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for European Taste”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fleming, Hong Kong
Ranked #128 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Overall, for Hongkong standards, OK. I would say that it encounters more the expectations of European guests who will appreciate it more than people used to American hotels.
Go for the larger rooms ! ( I wanted a late checkout at 6:00 pm and they moved me into another room, which was smaller than the one I had for the previous 2 days. That smaller room would be a problem if 2 people stay in it with 2 ( or more ) pieces of luggage ..... ! But, this is a problem almost everywhere in HK = small rooms !
First ( larger) room needs a few touch-ups, but the second ( smaller ) room was in good shape.
Overall very clean and friendly, efficient staff. Great breakfast ( with 20% discount ) in the adjoining restaurant: for both American and European tastes, with a lot of good quality food ( smoked salmon, smoked roast, eggs, bacon, sausage, baked beans, potatoes, bakeries, yoghurt, juices, lots of fresh fruit, etc. etc.......
"Computer City" is only 3-5 minutes away ( comfortably walking ) - a great place, for all and any electronics and similar products !!!!!! I upgraded my ultrabook memory ( from 4 to 10 Gb ) for 60 Euros, they did it in front of me, in 5 minutes !
Many other shops, restaurants, clubs etc. in the area !

I would stay here again, but my Chinese business friends live in the Happy Valley area and I will have to book hotels there, in the future ( for ease of meeting there ).

Room Tip: Ask for the larger rooms ! Try their breakfast !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ullemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Fleming recently, a hotel we have enjoyed staying at many times previously. It’s a really modern hotel with good sized rooms, comfortable, well appointed with excellent bathroom/shower facilities.
The Fleming is in an ideal location for your perfect stay on Hong Kong Island, close to Wanchai Ferry Terminal, The Harbour Centre, HKG Exhibition Centre, MTR and the tram and bus networks.
The Fleming is also a short stroll to the entertainment and nightlife district including some of the best bars and restaurants on The Island.
A nice touch at the cosy and friendly reception area is the nightly offering of some of the best wines in the world for evening drinks at your leisure. It’s great to be able to stop and relax for a while and indulge in a good red while you wait for friends or just take in a newspaper or magazine.
The Fleming, floor by floor, is quite small with only a handful of rooms on each level. This is fantastic as it means there is hardly any guest traffic noise and if you ask for a room on a high floor you will also avoid traffic noise from the Gloucester Road flyover.
This is the best value for money top end Hotel in Wanchai by miles and the staff are to be commended for making check-in and departure so easy. It has been a long time since we’ve considered staying anywhere else but The Fleming on Hong Kong Island, it’s the best.

Room Tip: Request room on high floor away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with my wife to break the trip to Perth. It is best the prettiest location but makes up for it in all other respects. Although not the best location, it is very convenient for local bars, restaurants, shops and MTR station. The hotel is smart and well maintained in all areas. The room was very comfortable and had all the facilities we could want. The staff were always helpful. The free wine in the lobby each early evening was a nice bonus! We ate breakfast and one dinner in the restaurant and the food and service were fine. I would stay here again if in Hong Kong Island.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Paid for a slightly larger room and was completely staggered to find we had one of the corner rooms - the largest in the hotel. Huge bathroom by Hong Kong standards and a kitchenette make this the perfect place for a longer term visit. The bed was perfect for us - hard with a little bit of give - and the room was really nicely furnished.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The staff are helpful and the room was comfortable with facilities you need as a business traveller. The room service menu doesn't have much options though. The breakfast at the restaurant was good enough and reasonably priced. Complete value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shubhro_Das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Fleming is located only a three minute walk from the MTR-Station Wan Chai. It is a small hotel what I appreciate. The staff is very friendly, the check in and out procedure was comfortable. The room was very small but that was ok for two nights. But what I liked the most is that it is quiet. I would pick it again.

Room Tip: I would chose an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mats29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I've coming here for years. Got tired of paying $400 a night at the big name hotels. Here everything is included. Breakfast in a small cafe adjacent to the hotel, WIFI, newspaper. The staff is friendly, attentive, professional and a delight to deal with. The rooms are fairly spacious, beds and pillows comfortable, large desks to work on, frig, bottled water (gratis), large flat screen TVs, coffee makers and tea pots and large bathrooms with wonderful showers. If I had to find something to nitpick it would be lack of lighting in the bathrooms. Ok for me but when my wife joins me she has makeup issues.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ultrapilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#131 of 730 in Hong Kong
401 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#116 of 730 in Hong Kong
3,187 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#47 of 730 in Hong Kong
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#25 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,508 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#19 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,268 reviews
TUVE
#34 of 730 in Hong Kong
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleming, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleming, Hong Kong

Address: No.41 Fleming Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Fleming Hotel)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#105 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £133 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fleming, Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish, boutique hotel for those in the know who don’t just want to visit Hong Kong, but be plugged in to the life of the city. Each of our rooms has been thoughtfully designed for maximum comfort and charm, in a timeless classic style inspired by Hong Kong’s iconic cross-harbour ferries. Each room category is available with either king size or twin beds and features high quality Sealy Mattresses and luxury bed linens, separate work desks and luxurious bathrooms with our own custom designed “Shen Nong” amenities. All guests receive complimentary access to state-of-the-art fitness centre Goji Studios, complimentary breakfast, access to the guests’ Welcome Lounge and our unique bespoke Luxe City Guide to the best of Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Fleming, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleming Hotel Hong Kong
The Fleming, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing