We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Backpain due to really hard bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fleming, Hong Kong
Ranked #177 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Backpain due to really hard bed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed a couple of nights at the Fleming Hotel.
Standing outside the hotel I was expecting the worst but the room was very clean.
We stayed for 3 nights and already after the first night my husband and I woke up with terrible backpain. The bed was terribly hard. The second night I even considered sleeping in the chair.

On the plus side, the hotel's location is quiet good and the staff is very friendly.

After 2 days in Macau we decided not to go back to the Fleming and booked another hotel in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    145
    39
    7
    6
See reviews for
25
66
37
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
217 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We arrived on an early flight & got to the hotel at about 7:30 AM, just in time to attend to a conference later that morning. We were pleasantly surprised that the front desk staff allowed us to check-in early & upgraded our room at no extra charge, thanks God! We later discovered that the hotel had friendly staffs all around & responded fast to our needs.

This is a no-frills hotel good for business travelers or those who like to roam the city by foot. The room was spacious, modern, clean, quiet (stayed on the 11th floor) & had free & fast internet access in the room. The location was a short walk from Causeway Bay MTR Station (about 10-15 minutes) and a lot of shops, restaurants, mini markets, bars, clubs & the Indonesian Consulate (there were Indonesian restaurants & supermarket too).

The hotel, per its site's claim, is also truly a 3-5 minutes walk from Hong Kong MTR's Wan Chai Station (not to be confused with Chai Wan at the end of the same line), depending on if the pedestrian lights are green all the way & of course how fast you walk. It took about 1 hour door-to-door from the airport to the hotel taking the Airport Express Train to Central Station & then switching 2 stops with the MTR subway line to Wan Chai Station. Make sure you exit correctly (Hennessy Rd.) & turn right at the top of the stairs on Hennessy Rd. to walk towards Fleming Rd. (you'll pass a McDonald's). At the Hennessy-Fleming intersection, make a left on Fleming & cross to the other side of Fleming Rd. The hotel is at the corner of Fleming & Jaffe Rd. in an inconspicuous dark grey building.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agchen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed twice at this hotel. Once in a standard room with a shower, and once in a slightly larger room with a tub. Both times I got a mixed feeling about the hotel. The first time, I was given a twin bed room, although I had requested a king sized bed. I had requested a quiet room, and I was indeed given on both occasions a quiet room at one of the higher-lying floors. The rooms are furnished with all sorts of things, which makes it quite convenient. But things look a little dingy and more like a well-exquipmed three-star hotel than a four star hotel. The doors for example are quite thin, so you can hear quite well what's going on in the corridor (and I imagine vice versa). On the plus side, this hotel is usually quite a bit cheaper than larger hotels in the area. If money is not an obstacle, I would recommend to book one of the cheaper rooms at the Rennaissance or equivalent hotels. It's better value overall. On the other hand, if you get a good deal at the Fleming and don't mind the above issues and the lower level of service, it's a pretty choice as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anglosuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Fleming Hotel is in the Wan Chai tourist and entertainment area, which makes it fantastic for eating and drinking,. This is a modern hotel, rooms are very clean, bed are comfortable and the bathroom spacious and well laid out.

I was there for business and trade conference, which meant I could walk to the HK Exhibition Centre every morning, much easier than stressing about taxis and transport.

Overall great hotel, great service, great location and great staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at the Flemming Hotel for 2 nights en route back to London. The hotel were extremely helpful in arranging a car from the airport to the hotel, we were greeted by a very friendly and efficient reception. The room was perfect for the 3 in our party. The hotel is in a good location, close to the underground. The breakfast room adjacent to the hotel, although small, provided a very good breakfast selection and the service was excellent. If I return to Hong Kong then I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had an executive room which gave room for 3 people, corner with side view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huntsmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I've stayed at The Fleming every time I visit Hong Kong and it never fails to deliver. It may not have the leisure facilities of larger hotels (which means it probably suits the business traveller best), but if you need somewhere modern, clean and comfortable at a great value price then this is definitely worth checking out. Service levels are consistently high.

In terms of location, you're in the thick of the action in Wan Chai with easy access to some excellent restaurants and bars, and just a few minutes' walk from the MTR to go further afield.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are perhaps a bit too 'standard' so it's worth paying a little extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glebetrotter17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Overall, for Hongkong standards, OK. I would say that it encounters more the expectations of European guests who will appreciate it more than people used to American hotels.
Go for the larger rooms ! ( I wanted a late checkout at 6:00 pm and they moved me into another room, which was smaller than the one I had for the previous 2 days. That smaller room would be a problem if 2 people stay in it with 2 ( or more ) pieces of luggage ..... ! But, this is a problem almost everywhere in HK = small rooms !
First ( larger) room needs a few touch-ups, but the second ( smaller ) room was in good shape.
Overall very clean and friendly, efficient staff. Great breakfast ( with 20% discount ) in the adjoining restaurant: for both American and European tastes, with a lot of good quality food ( smoked salmon, smoked roast, eggs, bacon, sausage, baked beans, potatoes, bakeries, yoghurt, juices, lots of fresh fruit, etc. etc.......
"Computer City" is only 3-5 minutes away ( comfortably walking ) - a great place, for all and any electronics and similar products !!!!!! I upgraded my ultrabook memory ( from 4 to 10 Gb ) for 60 Euros, they did it in front of me, in 5 minutes !
Many other shops, restaurants, clubs etc. in the area !

I would stay here again, but my Chinese business friends live in the Happy Valley area and I will have to book hotels there, in the future ( for ease of meeting there ).

Room Tip: Ask for the larger rooms ! Try their breakfast !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ullemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#125 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kapok apartment
Kapok apartment
#186 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
#159 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#119 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#112 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
#124 of 716 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleming, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleming, Hong Kong

Property: The Fleming, Hong Kong
Address: No.41 Fleming Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Fleming Hotel)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fleming, Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fleming, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleming Hotel Hong Kong
The Fleming, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing