We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY HAPPY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fleming, Hong Kong
Ranked #180 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“VERY HAPPY!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed in The Fleming for over 60 days in Oct thru Dec 2013 for the first time, working in HK, and surprisingly found this boutique hotel's guest room very clean and its service very friendly, well above the average of those other 4 star hotels in Wan Chai and Causeway Bay within similar price range. Location-wise, The Fleming is 5 minutes walk to HK's Exhibition Centre and 5 minutes taxi ride to CBD's banks, office towers and luxury retail centres like the Landmark. I will undoubtedly stay again in The Fleming when I next visit Hong Kong and will definitely ask my business associates to stay there when travelling to HK.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CLH2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    145
    39
    7
    6
See reviews for
25
66
37
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

DO NOT TRUST THE FLEMING - what a start to the new year. We had a flight on New Year's Day and out suitcases were stolen by the hotel staff. They seamed to be extra helpful in trying to load suitcases and in hindsight never trust a hotel despite the extortionate costs of over £200 per night.

They have walkie talkies to each other so you have a sense of the wool being pulled over your eyes, but then you just think this is must be how it's done over here.

No responsibility taken to provide help, just bare faced lies and didn't even say to call the police. The fleming should be ashamed.

AVOID AT ALL COSTS AND IF YOU HAVE A RESERVATION MAKE SURE TO CANCEL YOUR STAY AT AN UNTRUSTWORTHY HOTEL.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFlemingHK, General Manager at The Fleming, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Mr Khakhar,

As stated in a private email to you Mr Khakhar, we have reviewed all CCTV footage and there is nothing there to suggest theft on the Fleming's part.

We take accusations like this very seriously as we pride ourselves on our fine level of standards and service as you can see from 95% of the reviews below.

We keep our offer open to you or anyone you may know in Hong Kong including the Hong Kong Police to come and review the CCTV footage at anytime. Unfortunately, for security reasons we cannot send you the footage over email.

We have taken the necessary steps on our side and are certain that there was no theft or wrong doing.

Please feel free to contact us again if you have any further queries and our offer remains open to you.

Best regards,

Jacky Yau
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed a couple of nights at the Fleming Hotel.
Standing outside the hotel I was expecting the worst but the room was very clean.
We stayed for 3 nights and already after the first night my husband and I woke up with terrible backpain. The bed was terribly hard. The second night I even considered sleeping in the chair.

On the plus side, the hotel's location is quiet good and the staff is very friendly.

After 2 days in Macau we decided not to go back to the Fleming and booked another hotel in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We arrived on an early flight & got to the hotel at about 7:30 AM, just in time to attend to a conference later that morning. We were pleasantly surprised that the front desk staff allowed us to check-in early & upgraded our room at no extra charge, thanks God! We later discovered that the hotel had friendly staffs all around & responded fast to our needs.

This is a no-frills hotel good for business travelers or those who like to roam the city by foot. The room was spacious, modern, clean, quiet (stayed on the 11th floor) & had free & fast internet access in the room. The location was a short walk from Causeway Bay MTR Station (about 10-15 minutes) and a lot of shops, restaurants, mini markets, bars, clubs & the Indonesian Consulate (there were Indonesian restaurants & supermarket too).

The hotel, per its site's claim, is also truly a 3-5 minutes walk from Hong Kong MTR's Wan Chai Station (not to be confused with Chai Wan at the end of the same line), depending on if the pedestrian lights are green all the way & of course how fast you walk. It took about 1 hour door-to-door from the airport to the hotel taking the Airport Express Train to Central Station & then switching 2 stops with the MTR subway line to Wan Chai Station. Make sure you exit correctly (Hennessy Rd.) & turn right at the top of the stairs on Hennessy Rd. to walk towards Fleming Rd. (you'll pass a McDonald's). At the Hennessy-Fleming intersection, make a left on Fleming & cross to the other side of Fleming Rd. The hotel is at the corner of Fleming & Jaffe Rd. in an inconspicuous dark grey building.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agchen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed twice at this hotel. Once in a standard room with a shower, and once in a slightly larger room with a tub. Both times I got a mixed feeling about the hotel. The first time, I was given a twin bed room, although I had requested a king sized bed. I had requested a quiet room, and I was indeed given on both occasions a quiet room at one of the higher-lying floors. The rooms are furnished with all sorts of things, which makes it quite convenient. But things look a little dingy and more like a well-exquipmed three-star hotel than a four star hotel. The doors for example are quite thin, so you can hear quite well what's going on in the corridor (and I imagine vice versa). On the plus side, this hotel is usually quite a bit cheaper than larger hotels in the area. If money is not an obstacle, I would recommend to book one of the cheaper rooms at the Rennaissance or equivalent hotels. It's better value overall. On the other hand, if you get a good deal at the Fleming and don't mind the above issues and the lower level of service, it's a pretty choice as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anglosuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Fleming Hotel is in the Wan Chai tourist and entertainment area, which makes it fantastic for eating and drinking,. This is a modern hotel, rooms are very clean, bed are comfortable and the bathroom spacious and well laid out.

I was there for business and trade conference, which meant I could walk to the HK Exhibition Centre every morning, much easier than stressing about taxis and transport.

Overall great hotel, great service, great location and great staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at the Flemming Hotel for 2 nights en route back to London. The hotel were extremely helpful in arranging a car from the airport to the hotel, we were greeted by a very friendly and efficient reception. The room was perfect for the 3 in our party. The hotel is in a good location, close to the underground. The breakfast room adjacent to the hotel, although small, provided a very good breakfast selection and the service was excellent. If I return to Hong Kong then I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had an executive room which gave room for 3 people, corner with side view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huntsmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#132 of 718 in Hong Kong
375 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
#191 of 718 in Hong Kong
147 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
#162 of 718 in Hong Kong
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kapok apartment
Kapok apartment
#187 of 718 in Hong Kong
79 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#115 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,010 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
#120 of 718 in Hong Kong
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleming, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleming, Hong Kong

Property: The Fleming, Hong Kong
Address: No.41 Fleming Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Fleming Hotel)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fleming, Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Fleming, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleming Hotel Hong Kong
The Fleming, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing