We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service at Lanson Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lanson Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Lanson Place Hotel
Ranked #20 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service at Lanson Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Just got back from a 5-day shopping and eating trip in Hong Kong with my wife and teenage daughter. Lanson Place Hotel is just a 5 to 10-minute walk to Sogo and Times Square where the Causeway Bay MTR Station is, so moving around is really easy. The hotel is clean and modern with free computer access in the business centre and a kitchenette in the room we stayed in. Service was great from the moment we walked in and we had a complimentary upgrade as the room we originally booked was too small for the 3 of us. Whatever we requested for from housekeeping were delivered within minutes and we always seem to be in need of something - from more coffee mate to tissues to extra, towels, pillows and blanket. The concierge service (especially Mr Andrew Leung) was a treasure trove of information and we were able to get advice and directions to traditional milk tea cafes, brisket beef restaurants, noodle houses, etc. Andrew even had someone walked us to an Italian restaurant nearby. I guess if there is a drawback, it would be the bathrooms which are either transparent or with partially frosted glass, This would be uncomfortable for casual friends or families with older children.

Room Tip: The Superior Double Room is the smallest and has only a queen-size bed with transparent bathroom onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    437
    70
    17
    4
See reviews for
256
429
102
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,381 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Just got back from Hong Kong, where my family and I stayed at lanson place ( we took two deluxe and one superior room for four nights). When we arrived outside the hotel, the bellhops literally ran out to help us with our bags. Check in was smooth and the free wifi was most welcome. Though a little out of the way, it was close enough to times square and all the excellent restaurants and Cha Canting (local small restaurants serving noodles and dim sum etc) that dotted the area. The concierge was very good and helped us to make many reservations, even recommending an excellent dim sum place roundbthe corner frequented by the locals. We will definitely stay here on o next visit.

Room Tip: For the bashful, ask for a frosted bathroom; if these are not available, you can ask them to cover t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orator11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

What a delightful boutique hotel indeed. Many thanks to fellow tripadvisors for your tips and reviews. It’s a place for singles, couples or small families. Not recommended for big groups or noisy kids.

TRANSPORT:
Getting to Lanson was a breeze. We used the very comfortable Airport Express train to Hong Kong station. Purchase the tickets from Airport Express Customer Service circular counter outside the arrival hall.

We bought a set of Group tickets for 3px (total HK$210) which is discounted compared to 3 single tickets for the Airport Express Train. This can be paid by credit card. In addition, we bought 3 separate "On Loan Octopus" cards (Hk$150 - unused balance refundable) for the local subway rides over the next 5 days. Cash payment only.

The Airport Express Train was a very comfortable 25 min ride to Hong Kong station. From there, we hopped into a taxi for a short 15 min ride to Lanson. Cost HK$61 inclusive of four 4 bags.

TIP: Suggest you request Lanson to email a chinese and english map for the taxi driver. The hotel is tucked in a corner and isnt that easy to locate on your first visit, esp with luggage in tow.

So if its your first time, its wiser to use the taxi rather than MTR.

TIPS: Give yourself plenty of time to arrive at the airport upon departure from Hong Kong. We left Lanson at 6.45am (our flight was 9am)by taxi to HK station for the Airport Express Train. Although we did Internet check in 48 hrs earlier, the Q's at the airport Bag Drop off counters, the Immigration and Customs were quite long. Plus the long walk and skytrain to the departure gate meant we didnt have extra time for much browsing. There are lots of shops inside the departure lounge so if you intend to browse, give yourself lots of time.

If you intend to get a refund on your On Loan Octopus card - save time by doing it at the MTR station a day earlier. They dont handle this at the Hong Kong Station Airport Express counter. You may be in too much of a rush once you reach the airport as the Refund is only done at Arrival Hall Airport Express Counter since there isnt one at the Departure Hall.

LANSON:
Upon arrival, the staff quickly whisked our bags into the lobby and we went to the 1st level for our check in. We arrived early at 7.30am by taxi from HK station and Janet at reception attended to us. She was very efficient, polite and professional throughout.

We enjoyed our stay tremendously at Lanson - much of it was due to the upgrade so we could spend time together as a family. The special upgrade they gave us came as a delightful surprise. It meant the 3 of us could spend quality family time together in bedrooms within the same unit. AND we didnt even have to wait till the normal check in time to get our keys. Now that's real service. What a great start to our holiday!

We also met the lovely Sales Manager Rachel, a few days later. She was kind enough to still show us the Dlx and Premier rooms which we had booked originally. Found these rooms stylish and will definitely recommend them to our friends.

We were impressed with the ambience, elegance and quietness of this hotel during our 5 night stay from Dec 5-11.

Room amenities were more than ample. Nice thick towels and comfortable beddings. Very clean and well maintained. The rooms are more like chic apartments rather than the conventional hotel rooms - which suited us fine. There was an ipod dock in the rooms.

Housekeeping was efficient and did a great job. We usually make it a point to call and let them know when we are going out so they can make up the rooms.

The interior of the reception, breakfast lounge, reading area is cozy. Stepping into Lanson is such a treat esp after walking through the hustle and bustle of the surrounding streets.

The Concierge team are the first ones we meet on arrival. They do such a superb job of getting our luggage and making restaurant reservations or recommendations for shopping or meals. Especially Andrew and James who were outstanding in their service. Andrew even guided us to some nearby outlets round the corner when we werent sure of our directions. They even print out the maps of certain shops outside Causeway Bay. The best team we have encountered in all our travels – unassuming, friendly, professional yet without airs.

Returning back after a long day was so pleasant when greeted by the friendly staff.

Note that WiFi is chargeable at Lanson. So we bought a PREPAID iphone SIM CARD from the telco named "3" at Sugar Street. About 10min walk from Lanson. Helpful friendly staff put in the SIM card and activated it for us on the spot. This was great for our iphone 4S and ipads. Cost HK$298 each. Daily maximum is HK$28, more than enough for our 5 night our stay (valid for 6mths and can be topped up at 7 eleven stores).

LOCATION:
The hotel is a stone's throw from so many local eating outlets and shopping streets. Get the main map from the hotel and ask concierge to point out the places you are interested in.

Don’t expect anything posh once you step outside of Lanson. However, if you are looking for good food and local flavour from the simple shops in the little streets esp Jardin’s Bazaar, then this location is superb. There are some nicer shopping malls like Windsor House, Sogo, Lee Gardens 10mins away.

We came for the HK food in the local eateries and well known restaurants, so for us there was no necessity for a restaurant in this little boutique hotel as there are so many eateries within walking distance. In fact, if may even spoil the ambience having crowds of diners entering in.

FOOD:
We enjoyed the fresh soup prawn wanton dumplings and noodles for breakfast at MAK's noodle shop. Opens 11am. The sign is in English. A small little eatery along Jardin’s Bazaar. The wanton noodles are in a small bowl, just nice for a light breakfast. The wanton skin is very smooth and the generous fillings inside are fresh. The swee kow soup dumplings are also good.

A few shops down from Mak's is the octopus soup ball noodles eatery (haha..for uninitated, its white octopus meat rolled into ball sizes). Recognisable by the cooks preparing the food from the window and some pictures plastered outside the shop.

We found that walking through Jardins Bazaar was very convenient to get to Causeway Bay MTR, Exit E.

Other foods we tried near Lanson:
Dim Sum at King's restaurant in Windsor House. Menu is in english. The total bill came up to HK$318 which was very reasonable for the dishes we had.
(the branch of telco "3" where we bought our Prepaid SIM card is round the corner from Windsor)

OUR FAV MUST TRY FOODS:
HONOLULU CAFE at Stanley Street (Central MTR)
VERY GOOD TO DIE FOR EGG TARTS (tarn tart) and LAI CHAR. The egg tarts filling is so incredibly nice and soft that it actually wobbles. The pastry is light and flaky. Yummy. Try to go before 6pm to ensure they don't run out of tarts. The Lai Char (milk tea) is good & thick. The shop sign is in chinese light gold letters. Look out for the elevated small takeaway section outside the shop. Take the Causeway Bay MTR to Central station. We preferred to walk into Stanley Street from Pottinger street side. We found that the Wan Chai Branch is not as good.

PEKING DUCK - Peking Garden (under Maxim's group). 3rd floor of Star House in Tsim sha Tsui Star House. Opens 11.30am lunch and dinner 5.30pm. Best to make reservations. After dinner we strolled to the Avenue of Stars to watch the harbor lights.

They serve only a WHOLE Peking Duck for HK380 which was just nice for the 3 of us. The pancake skin is really nice and the brown sauce is not heavily salted. We chose the minced duck with pickled vegs & lettuce for the remainder of the duck meat to be cooked. Very nice. Was also Impressed with the Braised Tientsin cabbage with ham. The total bill was HK$770 including 2 shots of Chivas regal.

Star House is easy to find if you come by ferry. However from Tsim Sha Tsui MTR, its much trickier. So get a taxi if you aren’t sure.

Well, this super lengthy review sums it all up. A very comfortable delightful and superb stay in Lanson!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank traveljet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed at Lanson Place Hotel together with my daughter and her husband ( newlyweds) and her in laws.The location is superb,so close to shopping in Causeway Bay,Time square and the MTR and food. The staff are all very helpful especially the concierge staff.It was our in laws first time to HK since the 80's and they felt very comfortable putting up at Lanson Place.We like the dining room and the library area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brighton3186vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I loved the Lanson Place hotel and it was a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong. I thought the location was great. Taxis were in abundance and every taxi taken did not cost more than US$10 to any location. I liked the fact that the malls and Lee Gardens were so easily accessible as well. The door staff were excellent and so accomodating, helping me all the time with directions.
The room itself was small even though we were upgraded to the Deluxe Room after taking the Executive package. But it was very clean and I had no issues in general. Loved the free pastries!
I highly recommend getting the Executive Package as you get free WIFI and the drinks in the evening. Not so much for the breakfast as it is just standard fare but the drinks in the evening coupled with gorgeous piano music in-house was a treat.

Room Tip: Get the Executive Package!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cher_nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandaluyong, Rizal, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Lanson Place in Causeway Bay in hkg last week. We have been to hkg numerous times, staying in a couple of hotels in the same area, but this is our first time to stay at Lanson Place. It's a small yet very comfortable boutique hotel, with really comfortable rooms. Believe all their rooms have a mini-kitchenette wc is great when you want to just heat up or eat in. Also has a nice simple living room area w/ couch, flat screen tv and work table. Bed was so very comfy with soft duvet to keep you warm enuf at night. Location was absolutely perfect as it wasn't right smack in the hustle bustle of the city but everything was still easy walking distance. Lee garden w/all the brand names just around the corner! I'm already planning our next visit!

Room Tip: Great huge windows that let natural light thru.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

I guess a reflection on the lanson comes from the fact I write this review on its wifi, a service you have to pay a premium for, for the second time. The first time I wrote a longer review, however during uploading I was asked to log into the lanson again, merely because my wife checked her facebook on her ipad.

The rundown of this place, from the perspective of a honeymooning couple is:

1. Great location. Quiet area of causeway bay but less than 200m to the main shopping areas and MTR, which is in addition only 3 stops from Central or even kowloon (if you transfer).
2. Staff are generally excellent, including the front door staff who will happily point you in the right direction and, if available, press the button for the lift as you walk in, a nice touch.
3. Breakfast is good, great variety and quality. Busy during weekdays due to business people, less so on weekends.
4. Wifi is available at a *significant* premium (not great coming from so many hotels were it is complimentary). It is fast and the signal is strong however if you even try to access it from a second device the first is immediately disconnect. Which is honestly crap and definitely not worth the price paid.
5. We were offered a 'premium' room upgrade when we arrived. It included wifi and breakfast in addition to a better room, so we went for it, despite the extra cost, roughly 30%. What we got was a 'fifth' floor room (really fourth since there are no floors ending in 4) looking into the alleyway and the decrepit indonesian consulate. Oh and a frosted toilet door. Not normally one to complain, I was fairly livid, so marched back down to reception who, to their credit, were helpful. The only 'premium' room available higher up was a smoking room, so they offered us a (further) upgrade to a room on the 21st floor. So in the end we got a good deal, however it did leave a bitter taste in the mouth.
6. The upgrade comes with complimentary drinks in the evening in the hotel lounge. After a day of shopping we decided to drop our bags off and make use of this before going out to dinner. Unfortunately there was not a soul in sight, so we quickly backtracked.

In summary, our stay here was fine - nice clean room, good breakfast, very helpful staff. But the Lanson let itself down on the little things - a room upgrade which wasn't and a premium wifi service definitely wasn't. In terms of bang for your buck it was the best I could find in HK when I booked, but I might look harder next time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thetownfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,063 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,467 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#17 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#33 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
TUVE
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanson Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanson Place Hotel

Property: Lanson Place Hotel
Address: No.133 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#24 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanson Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanson Place luxury hotel in Hong Kong combines elegance, style and convenience in equal measure. The boutique hotel of 194 rooms, each with a kitchenette, and penthouse suites, is tucked discreetly in Hong Kong’s thriving Causeway Bay entertainment and shopping hub. A member of “Small Luxury Hotels of the World”, the Hotel is a haven from the modern metropolis outside with an elegant lounge and cocktail bar, exercise room and full business services. The concierge services are unrivalled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanson Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanson Place Hong Kong
Hotel Lanson Place
Lanson Hotel Hong Kong
Lanson Place Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing