We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Businessman’s Haven”
Review of Lanson Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Lanson Place Hotel
Ranked #21 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Businessman’s Haven”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

While you are on business look no further than the Lanson Place Hotel in Hong Kong. After all, you would spend more time at your business meetings and probably most of your dining would be outside. The accommodation is excellent with a kitchenette and out of the world business services and gym facilities. But there is a lurking feeling that we are in a serviced apartment rather than a hotel (there is hardly a driveway). But then, that would be an advantage for getting your unfinished work done without distractions. For distractions, we are bang in the quieter part of Causeway Bay and very near to all the gorgeous eateries and shopping outside close to Sogo and Times Square. The MTR underground station is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Rugby fans plan your trip in March and stay in this hotel to enjoy your matches that much better.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynFernesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    445
    71
    18
    5
See reviews for
261
438
105
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Whenever I come to Hong Kong on a personal trip, I would definitely stay at Lanson. I was a big Lanson fan. I have stayed at Lanson at least thrice in the past few years, when Anson was the manager there. Believe that he has since moved to the Lanson in KL, and there's a new manager at Lanson. Call me sensitive but staff morale seems negatively affected. While service standards weren't appalling (service standards varied depending on who you interacted with), Lanson doesn't quite feel the same.

The good stuff first. Location of Lanson is good, close to Jardine's Bazaar, Sogo, Island Beverly La Foret, and the Causeway Bay MTR, walking distance to Times Square. Be sure to check out Mak's Noodles at Leighton Road (moved from Jardine's Bazaar). I was in Causeway Bay a few days ago, and boy was it crowded. Might want to think twice about staying there on a weekend in December. Bellboys/concierge was very helpful as usual, but as mentioned above, they seemed to lack the enthusiasm that they used to have in the past.

The not so good stuff. The check-in counter ladies were generally sullen, especially a lady called Agnes. I remember her name because she checked us in and out both times (we stayed for 2 nights, skipped off to macau in between, and went back for another 2 nights), she looked really unhappy, and the sullen service provided was quite a mood dampener. She made us feel like we should apologise for being in her presence. We don't expect anyone to break out the champagne or anything, but there's no need to make hotel guests feel like they shouldn't be there.
The room was clean, but the first 2 nights were spent in room 806 which had a bad layout (tiny closet which was blocked by the bedside table, and tiny toilet). We didn't find the beds that comfortable this time around. Time to change the mattresses. If they were just changed, think procurement/hotel management made a bad decision with the mattresses.

Will think twice about staying at Lanson again. Might try the new hotels like Pennington Hotel nearby next time.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 806 as the room layout is bad (tiny closet and tiny toilet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngauntysg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Just came back from this hotel and I never want to stay there again !

First of all, if your hotel can't open the window, please don't have kitchen inside of room. We smell someone cook in the early morning, cooking smell pervade all our room and wake me up.

Then, the hotel stuff give us a new room. Become someone smoke, air is full of cigarette smoking.After complain, they just call and say they ask that man stop smoking. Stuff didn't do anything to help us get rid of smell.

Yes! Cooking smell came again in next morning. We already change to another level. God! I really had it enough.

I don't know what's going on there. Why should I spend my money in this kind of hotel ?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annekelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We spent two fantastic weeks in HK over Christmas and New Year. Lanson Place is really one of the best hotels you can chose for such a stay. Impeccable service, excellent jazz venues, fantastic breakfast and nice surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SG
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I usually stay at the Crowne Plaza up the road, but on this trip, CPHK was not available, so I was booked into the Lanson Place. A member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, it certainly lives up to its billing, with its cosy ambience, and understated elegance. It is quite a different world from the glitz and "corporate" touch of the large chains, but certainly a pleasant change. Again, perhaps because they are smaller, they do try harder, with more personal service. The complimentary snack basket in the kitchenette is a wonderful touch, as are the beautiful toiletries. To top it off, the bell boys running out into the street to get a cab for you is reflective of the level of service Lanson Place provides, and indeed expects of itself. Keep it up!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relakjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Loved the location - close to Causeway Bay shopping - and a couple blocks away from the Metro (which is the easiest way to get around HK and avoid traffic). Prices are reasonable for HK. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived on a red-eye from Delhi at 7am, so we upgraded to a suite which had a nice living room and huge windows overlooking the hillside. The decor is tastefully contemporary (cool tiles in the bathroom). The bed was super comfy with feather down pillows. The breakfast buffet isn't large, but the food is good (yummy pain au chocolat). The concierge was a huge help figuring out the best way to meet up with a business associate in Dongguan (we took the train from HK to Mainland and it was really easy - much better than the bus or boat). Perfect for a quick business meeting stopover in HK as well as a good spot close to Causeway Bay's shopping mecca.

Room Tip: Choose a suite if you want more space. The rooms are on the small side, but super functional with lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingham Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

If Hong Kong is a whirling palate of primary colors, the Lanson Place is the muted earth tone that becalms the frazzled nerve.

Situated in the eastern part of Causeway Bay, the Lanson Place is some distance away from Central, the financial and business district, and TST, the main tourist area. But it is close to Time Square, the upscale shopping district of Lee Gardens, as well as the hundreds of local stores, restaurants, coffee houses, drug stores, herbal shops and markets throughout Causeway Bay. It is also steps away from Victoria Park which is a mini-version of New York’s Central Park. The hotel is only a couple city blocks from the nearest MTR station. Nevertheless, it is probably more suitable for returning travelers who are somewhat familiar with the city than first-time visitors.

Lanson Place is smallish which is part of the charm. It does not have a big, noisy lobby crowded with people. The ground level is spacious and quiet with only a concierge desk and a half dozen tables and chairs for guests to meet with visitors; the reception desk is on the first floor. Once inside the hotel, the noise and hustle and bustle of the city are left behind.

The room I had was clean, spacious and quite comfortable. The décor and color scheme were subdued and elegant. I think there are only ten or so rooms to each floor. The bathroom had only a shower and no bath tub. The mattress was firm and comfortable. There was, however, a “pillow menu” which means if the feather pillows were not to your liking, you can call Housekeeping to order foam pillows, latex pillows, bolster pillows, pocket spring pillows or buckwheat pillows. That’s what I call catering to the guest’s specific needs!

The men at the front door and the concierge desk were very friendly and helpful. The same cannot be said about some of the women behind the reception desk; they were efficient but mostly had their noses buried in their computer screens or paper work.

The hotel does not have a restaurant. It does offer room-service meals which are take-outs from restaurants near-by. I would not recommend using that service because it took a long-time for the food to arrive and, by then, it was getting cold. However, there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel to satisfy your needs.

Overall, I liked the Lanson Place very much. I would definitely stay there again and I would recommend it for people who do not mind straying a little bit off the beaten path

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doublestop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,285 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,627 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#12 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mira Moon Hotel
Mira Moon Hotel
#17 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,188 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,774 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanson Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanson Place Hotel

Property: Lanson Place Hotel
Address: No.133 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#24 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanson Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanson Place luxury hotel in Hong Kong combines elegance, style and convenience in equal measure. The boutique hotel of 194 rooms, each with a kitchenette, and penthouse suites, is tucked discreetly in Hong Kong’s thriving Causeway Bay entertainment and shopping hub. A member of “Small Luxury Hotels of the World”, the Hotel is a haven from the modern metropolis outside with an elegant lounge and cocktail bar, exercise room and full business services. The concierge services are unrivalled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lanson Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanson Place Hong Kong
Hotel Lanson Place
Lanson Hotel Hong Kong
Lanson Place Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing