We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restricted access”

Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery (Man Fat Sze)
Ranked #19 of 828 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A steep climb to reach, but efforts are rewarded with over 12,000 Buddhas both outside and inside the temple. There is no admission fee. A small restaurant at the top offers refreshments, but bring your own water for the trail.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“restricted access”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The buildings you can currently see are very nice but they are doing a lot of building work at the moment, restricting access to some areas of the monastery

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,038
    654
    152
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“10,000 Buddhas plus 10,000 steep steps, 10,000 insect bites”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

First, let me start by saying if you have bad knees or are way out of shape this is not for you. We traveled on August 15th and the sun was relentless. There was no charge, but we paid in sweat! The climb was steep and seemed never ending. We felt insect bites everyother step ( felt like mosquitoes ). I had to stop three times during the incline. The climb is lined with hundreds of gold painted life sized Buddhas along the way. BUT . . . When u finally reach the top the work out is well worth it! Gorgeous!! I definetly reccomend this to your list of Hong Kong do's!

Helpful?
1 Thank Itsmeisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Was under renovation”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We came up to see the Buddha, unfortunately the Monastery was under a lot of renovations. I bet it will look great when it is done though.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Happy_HolidayerSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Colourful, Peaceful & a Great Workout!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Temple of Ten Thousand Buddhas is a very clean, tranquil, and peaceful place. Beware of "false monks" at the entrance who will approach you and claim to bless you and ask for money. Just politely say, 'No thank you" and walk away. There are LOTS of steps, so take plenty of water and get ready for a great calorie-burning workout. This attraction is colourful and a great place for photos. Please keep in mind to be respectful when taking photos, as photographs aren't appropriate in all areas. At the top there is a very inexpensive vegetarian restaurant that serves tasty food. I am very happy that I decided to visit this attraction when in Hong Kong. It is convenient to public transportation. (I personally recommend making a small donation. It is not required, but I believe it is in good taste for tourists to do so.)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank JeniferTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A lot of gold painted Buddhas on your climb!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Actually despite my title it is worthwhile going - although I found all the gold buddhas on the way up a little tedious after a while but the views and the temples at the top make up for it! Also there is a little tea shop which is great for a pot of tea and recovering!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KeepOnTravelling2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery (Man Fat Sze) also viewed

 

Been to Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery (Man Fat Sze)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing