We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Ranked #144 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I have booked a triple room with complimentary breakfasts at this hotel via the booking.com. The moment we stepped in the hotel, we made no fuss about it :-)

Location - very good. just behind Times Square. 5 mins walk from causeway bay mtr exit A. we just took the airport express from terminal 1 to central station and transfer to mtr line to causeway bay station. very convenient.

Reception/ Check In - very accommodative when we checked in at 7am. as the hotel was running full the night before, they told us to come back at 12pm for our room. the access cards, breakfast coupons were ready for us to check in at 12pm. very good.

Room - i have a 12 year old girl with us, they have set up the sofa bed neatly with bedsheet cover and pillows. the room is not so big but it was so much better then rainbow hotel we stayed during our trip to HK in June. 3 sets of toothbrushes, sets of coffee/ tea/ jasmine tea/ sugars/ creamers. 3 sets of towels. toilet were clean.

Area - easy access to MTR, shopping, banks etc. lots of people around, we feel safe.

We will try other Holiday Inn hotel chain in HK again in the future.

Room Tip: Higher floors 27 - 29 floors (quiet).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianaGhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    591
    276
    56
    18
See reviews for
295
195
116
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

It was our first time to try Holiday Inn Express after many recommendations from friends. Check-in time was 2pm but there was an available room so we were checked in by 12nn. The room size is the same as similarly priced rooms in Hong Kong. The room looks a bit dated when compared to more hip accommodations and could use a facelift. The beds were very comfortable and always had a good night's sleep. We didn't try the set breakfast included in our stay as there is plenty of very good places to eat around the hotel. The location is fantastic with the hotel right behind Times Square and is right next to an entrance/exit to the Causeway Bay MTR station.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyapjoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 933 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Well managed property close to the Exit A of the Causeway Bay MTR and litterally across the street from the famous and always fascinating Times Square. Take the airport express train to Hong Kong station (24 mins, HK$100) and from there take a taxi to the hotel, only about HK$70 -- or if you don't have too heavy suitcases take the Central MTR instead as the taxi line at Hong Kong station can be VERY long at times. I waited over 1 hour this time for a cab.

Excellent:
- Competent and efficient staff (which is the norm in Hong Kong)
- Absolutely top quality bed, sheets and pillows. 5 stars!
- Quiet, nothing and no-one has disturbed my sleep which is always a big plus for business travel
- Free Wi-Fi (sometimes slow but still acceptable)
- Free breakfast on the 6th floor.. Not the buffet style but basic coffee/tea, croissant, eggs, ham/sausage, congee, noodles, fruits.
- Small safe (very common in Asia, very rare in Europe/North America, wonder why..)
- Clean and modern

Ok:
- No ironing board in the room but there is an ironing room on the 10 or 11th floor.

Could be improved:
- Not much actually. Keept in mind that this is a budget hotel.
- TV viewing is not optimal as the set is not right in front of the bed. CNN is not available but BBC World is.

Room Tip: According to the floor plan posted on my door not all rooms are the same size. It seems that rooms n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World_Citizen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This was my first time trying out the Holiday Inn Express brand as my usual experience was with Holiday Inn.
Viewing pictures of the room sizes on their website first was useful in preparing myself for the smaller than usual room sizes than other Holiday Inns. Hong Kong has one of the highest property prices in the world so space is understandably a premium. Having said that, efficient layout of furniture and decent size of bathroom made my stay comfortable and never claustrophobic. The room was clean and the aircon worked well but as some other reviewers have said - some things are looking tired (the carpet for example).
The free breakfast menu usually consisted of 6 different sets of western or Asian food and must say the quality of the breakfast was pleasantly good! Portions are not big but this being Hong Kong, actually I was more interested in the food outside the hotel.
Location of the hotel in Causeway Bay was a big plus! If you wanted to take the MTR, the station entrance was just across the street in Times Square. If you wanted to take HK's famous trams (to Pacific Square, IFC, central business district etc), the stop was less than 10 minutes walk (towards Hysan Square shopping mall). If you wanted to take a trip to Repulse Bay, there was a small private bus company and their bus stop was only 5 minutes away.

Only thing I could only gripe about was the design of the shower cubicle. With the glass door closed, water still flowed out onto the floor while one was having a shower.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry066_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This really ticked all of th boxes: good room, quiet, clean and a served breakfast. Check in was super slick-Benson Wong the check in clerk could not have been more helpful. Fantastic location within Causeway Bay andthe MTR.
If all Holiday Inn's were run in this way it would be first choice for many travellers. Even spoken to by one of the management team (Elva Liu) to ask our opinion of the service. A real impression that she listened and took note of our comments. Only negative is that the TVs could do with being upgraded.
I think we were perhaps given a bigger room (1203) and so cannot comment on their general size, but this one was ample in every way.

Room Tip: A corner room-1203 was a excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

It is fairly basic accommodation and my comments are based on expectations for the price and class of hotel. The rooms are all fairly small and the decoration is a bit tired, they are reasonably clean though there were some stains on furniture (sofa and desk chair).

But it is in a great location, right next to Times Square in Causeway Bay with loads of restaurants nearby. Many tourists might prefer Kowloon or upmarket Central but I find Causeway Bay well located for my purposes.

A few other notes:
- Internet is free and seems to work ok, speed varies.
- Breakfast is included, or at least was in my case.
- There is a small room safe (not large enough for a 15" laptop).
- Slippers are provided, I appreciate this.
- No iron / ironing board.
- Small refrigerator (unstocked).
- TV was still CRT.
- Staff at front desk friendly and helpful.

Although my room was opposite the elevators I was not disturbed at all - the room was quiet.

So nothing glamorous but acceptable for the price given the location. I might stay there again if my choices are limited but will usually go for something more upmarket.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are pretty much the same size, the corner rooms are slightly larger. I am not awar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3rdimension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX_Causeway_Bay_HK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear 3rdimension,

Thanks so much for sharing with us your experience of a recent stay in our hotel. It is great to have heard that you are satisfied with our fantastic location and the service provided by our Front Office staff.

If you are interested in getting a lower rate for our room (especially during peak season / high demand periods) you may consider to book the hotel room under the “Advance Purchase” deal, which you are required to place your reservation with us at least one week prior to your arrival date, whereby you could enjoy a discount up to 25% off our regular room rates.

Again, we would like to thank you for spending time to post your comments about our hotel, so that we would have the opportunity to learn from our customer. Of course, we will strive for improvement on our facilities, as guests’ satisfaction is our number 1 goal.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay.

Best Regards,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel and found it a reasonable choice. The front desk was efficient, the rooms small but comfortable. Very good wifi access. The location is good and the presence of the nearby metro station makes getting around simple. The breakfast was quirky, ham sandwiches with scrambled eggs, the congee was okay, but the promised spring rolls did not materialise, they had apparently run out but the next table seemed to have found some, and the barbecued pork buns had never seen any pork or been near a BBQ. But overall a pleasant stay, but probably need to review their breakfast menu if they are going to attract more western custom.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#79 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,406 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#68 of 718 in Hong Kong
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#115 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,011 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#113 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,158 reviews
Mong Kok
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Mongkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Address: No.33 Sharp Street East, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Sights and Sounds of Causeway Bay’s Exotic Commercial Centre at the Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay. Only 2 minutes walking distance to the Causeway Bay MTR Station, and just across the road to one of the Hong Kong’s most popular shopping malls - Times Square. Some tourist attractions and landmarks are nearby, such as the Hysan Place, Sogo Departments Store, Hong Kong Stadium and Happy Valley Racecourse are within walking distance. Hotel provides complementary set breakfast for every guest each morning. Meanwhile, Every guestroom features a Handy smartphone for free usage during your stay in Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay. Enjoying unlimited data use, free local call and IDD call to 10 designed countries. With the Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, you may connect up with your own devices, adding to your enjoyment of exploration throughout the city. Kids under 18 years old stay free when he / she are sharing the same room with the parents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong
Holiday Inn Hong Kong
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Holiday Inn Causeway Bay
Express Holiday Inn Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing