We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location was good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Ranked #140 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The location is good
The breakfast is not buffet .. It is set menu from 3 choices.
Basic hotel and i would recommend. Its a business hotel recommended especially if Business is the agenda.
It is clean and aircon is cold.
Price of hotel is reasonable.
Happy stay i would say!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cotton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX_Causeway_Bay_HK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent favorable review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor, much appreciated. I am so pleased that you enjoy your stays with us here.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express Causeway Bay on your next visit to Hong Kong.

Best Regards,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    568
    263
    50
    13
See reviews for
280
185
111
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed in April 2014 with a Saturday night duly hiked on rate for a nearby exhibition. The hotel is in a great location and meets all the basic needs. The breakfast was super fast and acceptable (okay, I can't eat that manufactured gel they called ham....) and I got an upper floor room that was actually non-smoking. All good so far. However, the room was dirty with my feet pulling up balls of long hairs out of the carpet. Telltale marks in the shower suggested the bathroom wasn't exactly spotless either. The in room WiFi was just average to possibly only ordinary - definitely could be better. I'll keep experimenting in HKG and this place may get another go, but it isn't anything to excite anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX_Causeway_Bay_HK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Peter A,

Thank you for spending time to review and shared with us your experience of the stay in Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay.

We are delighted to know that the excellent location of our hotel was one of the key advantages for your recent stay. On the other hand, we are naturally upset to have learnt about your unpleasant feeling with our internet service and also the degree of guest room cleanliness. Please be rest assured that remedy action will be taken in order to make improvement of our internet access and also the House-keeping daily routine works.

We always look for ways to improve our services and facilities, whereby your feedback will help us to do so more effectively.

Thank you very much,

Yours sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed a second time now at Holiday Inn Express Causeway Bay. It is still a comfortable hotel and of course in an outstanding and convenient location.

However, for a business traveler, I am down grading from my previous rating of this property to average, because the internet simply makes it unbearable (at least for me) to do work from the room. The staff does try to work around this by providing a router directly in the room, but it is obvious the hotel management knows the internet service is lacking (and seeing this issue has existed for at least a year since my last stay) they are content to just deal with the short coming instead of fix it. When I spoke to the desk about the internet speed being so slow and communicated that I expected more from an international brand in Hong Kong, the staff's response was because this is a Holiday Inn and not a premium property that high speed internet should not be expect. Well, I can partially agree that one should not expect the best amenities, but I think it is very reasonable to expect reasonable internet speeds which is not the case at this property.

Other things to note, the mini fridge shelf was dirty and sticky, but other than that the room was still tidy and comfortable.

I booked directly on the IHG site for the best rate. I would still recommend this hotel for travelers not intending to spend much time in the room as the location is excellent and you can often find this property at a very competitive rate for the location. I would NOT recommend this to business travels that need stable and reasonable speed internet access.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xmikex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX_Causeway_Bay_HK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear xmikex,

Thank you for taking the time to express your feeling and concerns.

We are very pleased to know that you have found the location of our hotel to be very convenient.

Our apologies for your disappointment about the degree of our guest rooms’ cleanliness, and also the Wifi connection.

Your comments have been taken seriously, meanwhile, we would seek ways to get our services and facilities improved according to our customers’ feedback.

If there is anything we could do on your future stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Yours sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
189 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We were in HK for the rugby seven and the Holiday Inn location was perfect for that as it was less then a 10 minute walk to the ground. It was not cheap but we were during one of the biggest weekends in HK.
It is very close to the Causeway Bay MTR station, getting to and from the airport was quick and easy even with luggage and less then half the price of a taxi.
Time Square shopping centre is just across the road (if you are into that sort of thing) there are number of other streets lined with restaurants and shops within a 5 minute walk.
The room was very clean and comfortable, we had a corner room (1916) there was a little hum of road noise but nothing to keep you awake.
The real let down is breakfast. You get a choose of 4 - 5 options some western some asian style, but it is mass produced and you can tell. It has NO taste even the tea was average. We only eat there 2 of the 5 mornings as we could not face the same mass produced, tasteless thing over and over.

Room Tip: Corner room 1916 was smaller but very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kev_deb2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX_Causeway_Bay_HK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback following your recent visit, much appreciated. I am so pleased that you enjoy your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Causeway Bay during the Rugby Seven week. Meanwhile, we are so glad to have learnt that you are pleased with our convenient location, clean and comfortable guest room. Whilst your comments about the breakfast has been well noted. Please be rest assured that we will strive to have better improvement in this area.
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and we do hope that next time travel brings you to Hong Kong that you will again choose the Holiday Inn Express Causeway Bay.

Yours sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Not cheap in peak season unfortunately but if you want shopping, good food locally and more shopping then this location is great. Approx 10 metres from the Times Sq Mall which has 9 floors of shops and 4 more floors of restaurants. The hotel itself is what it says - an Express - rooms are spacious (we had 1803 corner one), restaurants look a little jaded so we did not try but we did have the rather processed breakfast (selections A thru E!!) twice; its OK as a quick snack, but considering what the room cost at this time of the year its not really good enough. Overall we would stay again albeit out of season if we needed to hit this area of town. Shopping can actually be better on the Kowloon side though (my wife says...)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WallaceBluemonday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX_Causeway_Bay_HK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent feedback here on TripAdvisor, much appreciated.

It is nice to know that you found our location to be convenient and rooms are spacious. Whilst your comments about the breakfast has been well noted. Please be rest assured that we will strive to have better improvement in this area.

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and we do hope that next time travel brings you to Hong Kong that you will again choose the Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay.

Yours sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

You can find bigger and more extravagant hotels in causeway bay, but for under 800 HKD this place in unbeatable. Rooms are slightly more spacious than average around town which is a plus. Service and location is top notch. I'll definitely return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank shaolinchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX_Causeway_Bay_HK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Shaolinchris,

Thank you for your review and feedback following your recent visit. It is nice to know that you found our location to be convenient, rooms are spacious and service is good. What better compliment could we receive than your wonderful comments and feedback here? Thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
498 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a 3 day business trip it was very good with excellent service and staff. Several elevators make reaching he bedrooms easy The only negative would be the breakfast which was not up to the usual HIE standard, this was disappointing.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank IGW187351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX_Causeway_Bay_HK, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts here on TripAdvisor, much appreciated.

The staff will be very pleased to hear of your recognition of their service. They work incredibly hard to make guest's stay an enjoyable one whether that be for business or leisure. Whilst, we regret your disappointment about the breakfast. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express Causeway Bay on your next visit to Hong Kong.

Best Regards,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#68 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#74 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#108 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
#146 of 713 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Address: No.33 Sharp Street East, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Sights and Sounds of Causeway Bay’s Exotic Commercial Centre at the Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay. You stay in the center of the Hong Kong Island, as the hotel is located at the commercial hub of Hong Kong. Travel from the Hong Kong International Airport to Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay via the Airport Express Railway, the journey takes about 40 minutes. Meanwhile, limousine transfer between the Hong Kong International Airport and hotel can be arranged by our Reservations or Front Desk staff in advance. Doing business is convenient at the Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay, with a host of corporate headquarters in the nearby Times Square and Hysan Place; meanwhile the Causeway Bay MTR station is adjacent to the hotel. Hop on the MTR for some direct trains to most of Hong Kong’s tourist attractions, it includes the Lan Kwai Fong,Victoria Peak, and Avenue of Stars. It is a good-value choice for everyone, as hotel provides every guest with a complimentary set breakfast each morning and free internet access via Wi-Fi. Meanwhile, stay in the Superior Room, guests can enjoy a handy smartphone with complimentary internet access and also free local and IDD calls to designated countries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Causeway Bay Hotel Hong Kong
Holiday Inn Hong Kong
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Holiday Inn Causeway Bay
Express Holiday Inn Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing