We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Ranked #142 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
358 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed at L' Hotel Causeway Bay. Found it very reasonably priced and centrally located. MTR station was just across the hotel making it very convenient for us to get around. Not too many commercial establishments in the area. More residential. In fact, there was a school nearby. But there were sufficient restaurants, convenience stores and groceries within a short walking distance of the hotel making it easy for us to access. Staff was generally helpful especially one doorman. Wifi only available in the lobby though they also had a couple of computers which hotel guests could use for free. They have a small gym and swimming pool tucked away in one of the higher floors.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    339
    167
    25
    19
See reviews for
139
159
65
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
muntinlupa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Specially if you're staying on HK island side. Two streets away from Electric Street which is lined with lots of small but good restaurants and shops. There's even a McDonalds and Cafe d Coral nearby. Diagonally across Exit A of the MTR. Tram, Bus E11 and Bus A11 stops to and from the airport are close by. Internet in the lobby only, though there is one computer for free 15 min.One stop from Causeway Bay or about 15 min walk. Rooms and beds are just fine , bigger than most HK hotels. Good value for money if you get a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blazt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Right across the road from the Tin Hau (island line) MTR and 500 m walk to the nearest tram station, L'hotel is at a very convenient location. The major shopping and F&B artery in Causeway Bay is just 1 MTR stop or 3 trams stop away.
Plus there is a 24 hr convenience store right next to the hotel and pharmacies, bakery, McDonnald's and Welcome supermart all within 5 min walk, you can reach almost everything easily.

Checking in and out were effortless, each took less than 5 min. Key cards were ready when we arrived! Thumbs up! Service was efficient. Requested additional pillow and shower gel arrived within 5 minutes with a smile. Housekeeping lady at 16F was warm and friendly. We had to check out very early in the morning. One of their concierge helped us to hail a cab while the others helped with the luggage.

Hotel itself is "fairly" new HK standard, less than 5 yrs old. At 26 sqm, rooms were "spacious" by HK standard. There was walking room for the two of us and our toddler despite having 2 big luggage lying around. Room décor was basic (think plain white tiles in bathroom) but utilitarian. There was almost everything we needed, hair dryer, kettle, TV, safe, toiletries, vanity mirror etc. Only thing missing was WIFI in the room. There was only broadband, chargeable at HKD 120/day. Our room was really smoke free!

Breakfasts were included in our rates. Spread was non spectacular (more suited to Chinese palette, think congee, dim sum, fried noodles) but adequate.

My only problem with the hotel was that free WIFI was only available at the lobby and for 20 min each time. I noticed 2 desktops available for use in the lobby. With the many Chinese mainland tour groups that it received, the lobby could be quite busy and rowdy.

At HKD 1,000/day with two breakfasts thrown in, L'hotel was really value for money. I would highly recommend it.

Tip: Unless you are travelling solo, it isn't worth it to take the L'hotel airport shuttle at HKD 130/pax. The stop for the public airport bus is a just a few hundred metres away. Alternatively, take a cab (~HKD 40, 15 min) to the HK airport station, check in there and hop on the Airport express (HKD 90 or HKD 160 for 2 pax. Only take 24 min!).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sevenheaven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed pre and post xmas.
Hotel is in handy location opposite Tin Hau metro. Rooms are good size and breakfast was fine.

However there are things that would not persuade me to stay again.
WIFI.
WIfi had to pay for (150 dollars a day). Hotel had to plug in a wifi connector to my room and I don't know if this is why (on the 17th floor) the wifi was so bad - I often lost connectivity and had to switch on and off. Reception didn't seem that interested when I queried it - "speak to manager when he is in" (as if I knew who manager was and when he/she would be in.

LIFTS - 3 lifts. On the 33rd floor on first stay and 17th on second stay. Often had to wait for these and on one occasion I waited over 5 minutes for lift and (apart from ground floor) you have no indication of where lifts are (eg what floor number they are on)

LOBBY - No real comfortable place to sit and wait and on one occasion when we were waiting for our transport to airport realised there was nowhere to sit and have a coffee (lounge bar not open in the basement and 1st floor restaurants for lunch only). Design of building limits space in lobby I realise but perhaps there should be space in lounge bar outside of opening hours? We were directed eventually to a not especially clean/nice Starbucks down the road.

If location, room size and breakfast are your main concerns I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel but its the added bits that I have had on previous visits to other hotels that makes my review so negative.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here with my wife for 8 nights. The hotel is in a good location with the Tin Hau Metro station just across the street. There are several restaurants, 7-eleven, supermarkets just around the hotel.
A McDonalds is also across the street open 24/7. Room is clean and tidy, you dont need more than this if you want anything more than just to get a good night sleep. I would recommend this hotel and stay here again if I would be in HK.
We did not have the hotel breakfast included, but there was no problem to get some from all the supermarkets and 7-eleven.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gohilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel 28th December - 2nd January. We found the service there to be excellent and all the staff were so friendly, attentive, and helpful. It's not the 'poshest' of hotels but for the price you pay it's really good value considering the service you receive, the quality and size of the rooms, and the location (hotel is right opposite the Tin Hau MTR station, one stop away from Causeway bay).
Our booking included breakfast which was buffet style with a good selection of continental, Chinese and western style breakfasts. The only real downside is there's no in-room wifi. But there's wifi in the lobby and their restaurant. Overall I was quite happy with our stay there and definitely recommend it to anyone looking for affordable accommodation on Hong Kong island with decent sized rooms :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank i_heart_cupcakes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The check in process take a little bit long but other than that everything are nice. Hotel is nice. Hotel location is good right at the MTR. Perfect for us and would like to go back to stay when we will be back to Hong Kong again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Cheng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Fortress Hill
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
#107 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#61 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fortress Hill
The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#109 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,995 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Regal Hongkong Hotel
Regal Hongkong Hotel
#114 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View

Property: L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Address: No.18 King's Road, Causeway Bay | Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tin Hau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embrace the serenity of L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View where guests can enjoy the wonderful harbor view at amazingly good prices. The 40-storey building in the Causeway Bay district has 275 spaciously appointed guestrooms including 25 generous sized suites to help guests unwind. Every room is designed to show off Hong Kong's natural wonders and come with a glorious view of the Fragrant Harbour or of the lush green mountains of Braemar Hill. Inside, designers have created a space to soothe the soul and temper the spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing