We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disney Tour with My Son”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mexan Harbour Hotel
Ranked #530 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 17 April 2010

It was a short but fun-filled tour with my son in HK. We will definitely go bck there for more fun. The hotel is fine, just an average hotel room. You need to bring your own socket converter, otherwise you have to buy from it from them at HK$20 each.

Additional remarks to this tour:
We would not take a tour package next time so we can really enjoy Disneyland the whole day. The package tour would require you to go to places as scheduled that you'd find not necessary. We were told that during the tour, we won't be paying entrance fees anymore, etc. but we were surprised to be asked HK$50 each boarding a boat towards the Floating Restaurant's view.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
Thank MindaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2009

I stayed here in mid December. The room was cleaned daily; but the disposable sandals which the hotel provided was flimsy - it tore the moment it was in contact with water.

I didn't really like the attitude of one of the female staff there. When I requested for additional blanket and extra toilet papers, she came up promptly but shoved the things into my hands and grumbled before walking away. Other than her, the receptionists at the lobby were fantastic, they spoke good English and were helpful with my enquiries.

I had a good view of the port and the tsingyi bridge. However, the hotel was far away from the main shopping areas of mongkok and causeway bay. I took a taxi from the hotel to mongkok and it cost around HKD$80, approximately 15 mins ride. The nearest MTR is Kwai Fong station and there are two shopping malls there as well.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joankoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

The hotel is far from the city proper but its clean and the check in counter are all accomadating .The bathroom are clean and they change the beddings and towel everyday.The breakfast quite ok.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

1. The rooms are really tiny. The walls had writings on it and under the bed are dust and trashes that former guests left.

The bathroom with a sliding door does not have a lock in it. The toiletries included one tiny soap for 4 days and toothbrushes that are literally disposable...they are only good for one time brushing as the bristles fall off.

The tv has no cable...sorry.

Recommendation: Bring your own personal toiletries or buy at the airport.

2. Service: No room boy.
Front desk receptionists speak good English.

3. Restaurant: Lunch buffet was great. But it gets boring when you have the same menu everyday.

4. Accessability: We did not attempt to ride public bus. From Sogo to Mexan Harbour, taxi fare is about 90 Hongkong dollars. Make sure you ask for an id card of the hotel indicating the name of the hotel in chinese. You will show this to the cab driver in case you opt to ride a cab.

5. Amenities: Pool was closed. No amenities.

Tips:

Mexan Harbour Hotel is located beside the Rambler Plaza. Should you get tired of hotel food, just proceed to L1 parking and turn right headiong to Rambler. There is a good restaurant there and the plaza has shops where you can buy groceries or medicine and other necessities in Watsons, Japan Home Plus, Da Vanci Luggages, among others.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank touristaManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2009

Went to HK end of dec 2008 during end year holiday with my wife, this hotel was too far below our expectation. When I check their official website it looks nice hotel but it fact it's horrible. No room-boy to help us bring our luggage when we checked-in. The bedroom is very small. Due to travel agent's error, they gave us twin bedroom. When I want to change to double bedroom (king/queen bed), the receptionist said they dont have this kind of room ;(
No breakfast, no drinking water.
Our travel agent said that we would get the Seaview bedroom. Yes, we got our Seaview bedroom (plus containers port view as well).
They provide "one-time" sandal from paper which is spoil when it got water.
They have 4 lifts but all the 4 lifts would unavailable due to lift maintenance every morning 7am-9am. We stucked at 29th floor and could not went down and need to called the receptionist because of this lift maintenance schedule.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IndoTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights.

Front desk staff is courteous, House keepings are helpful and they greet me whenever they see me.

Location is a bit awkward.
There are mini buses to get to the Subway stations, but the bus stop is on other side of the building.
However airport is extremely convenient just walk up to the main road and keep right, there is a bus stop with A31 bus to the Airport Departing hall, cost HKD$17.80.

Room is typical Hong Kong size which is SMALL, bathroom is remarkably small, with all the noise from container port outside and ship whistles, day and night. The experience feel like aboard a cruise liner, but without feeling afloat.

Local calls are free, but Internet is not.
I would only recommend this hotel if can get a very good rate, and do not mind noise. OR have sea sickness problem but want to experience a cruise.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank s2000_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2007

I selected the Mexan for a one night stay between airflights due to its proximity to the airport. Neither the taxi driver or the taxi dispatcher at the airport knew where it was, even with a written address (albeit in English.) The dispatcher looked it up in a book and explained it to the driver. We arrived late at night, tired from much travel. This was the end of a 30 day trip. It was the ONLY hotel in all of China that did not provide drinking water. The room was tiny. Thought it would be fun to watch the harbour, but it was noisy and closing the shades was tricky. We requested a wake-up call that never came - maybe it is good that it was noisy! Breakfast was not included, and we were not offered any. Although the hotel is near the airport express train, it does require a taxi to get to the train, and the (English speaking) driver convinced us to take the cab the whole way, which ended up costing us an additional $10 US.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyTravelerSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsing Yi
Rambler Garden Hotel
Rambler Garden Hotel
#425 of 730 in Hong Kong
301 reviews
Tsing Yi
Rambler Oasis Hotel
Rambler Oasis Hotel
#506 of 730 in Hong Kong
402 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Silka Far East Hotel
Silka Far East Hotel
#210 of 730 in Hong Kong
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
I-Hotel Limited
I-Hotel Limited
#469 of 730 in Hong Kong
32 reviews
Jin Xiang Hotel
#445 of 730 in Hong Kong
1 reviews
Silka Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
#178 of 730 in Hong Kong
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mexan Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mexan Harbour Hotel

Address: No.1 Tsing Yi Road, Tsing Yi, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsing Yi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #530 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: £31 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mexan Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 800
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Mexan Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mexan Harbour Hong Kong
Mexan Harbour Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing