We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough place but beware next door construction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #148 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We arrived quite late and were met by a very helpful young man at the check-in desk who was keen to give us plenty of information.

We had the family suite (301) on the first floor. This was spacious with two separate rooms and a few nice touches such as roomy seating area with large TV as well as TV in each bedroom.

Fruit was replenished every day, another nice touch.

The room was also clean and well serviced every day.

The location was a little out of the way but the walk to Causeway Bay / Timnes Square was only around 10 minutes. We avoided using the shuttle bus, so can't comment on that. Instead we tended to use the fun little trams which were to be found a couple of minutes down the road. These run into the central area very frequently.

Breakfast was OK but a bit of a disappointment. There were some strange choices available on some days. Different forms of egg are available but don't expect to be asked what you would like by the rather abrupt staff. The choice does not compare to other hotels we have stayed at in Asia but certainly offered enough to fuel you up for the morning. Coffee was reasonable, via a machine.

The breakfast location was a rather tired and ugly bar area which could have done with a face-lift and a few more tables, there was often a few minutes wait to get in.

The 5th floor 'Breeze' area was pleasant, including free coffee / tea facilities. Despite this I do not think that residents shoudl have to go to this area or the lobby to access free wi-fi when paying this much for a room. I am sure that the manager is going to come on and say that it is free in rooms to those who book through the hotel website.....Mister, it should be free for all at your prices!

My main problem was the noise from the building work which is going on next door. It started at around 8am every morning and I am not exagerating when I state that you could not hear yourself think, let alone listen to the morning news on the TV. The whole room was vibrating as well. It's a good job that we spent the days oput of the hotel. The noise was also very noticable in the breakfast area. Not a nice alarm call....nobody warned us of this when we checked in. This was very disappointing!
I would seriously consider avoiding this hotel at present for this very reason. There appears to be a new hotel being built next door which is nowhere near completion, so I would expect this awful noise to continue for a good few months to come.

The elevators seemed to lack any logic in their programming and would tend to oscillate between the upper floors and then, apparently, stay on one floor for ages. Luckily we were only on the third floor so had to use the stairs a few times when we got tired of waiting. If you were on a higher floor or elderly / disalbled this could be an issue.



All in all a decent hotel at a reasonable (by Hong Kong standards) price. If you don't mind being a little off the "beaten track', and don't expect too much from breakfast, I would recommend it but not until the building work has stoppped!

Room Tip: Keep away from the lower floors and elevator side where the work is being done next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Temasektony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable time on sharing with us your previous stay at Cosmo Hotel. First of all, we are so glad to know that you had an wonderful stay at our spacious 2-bedroom suite measuring 83 sq. meters. With all nice facilities and amenities equipped in the well-appointed rooms, we always aim to provide our guests a hassle-free and comfortable stay with us. It’s also great to know that you found our front line staff professional and knowledgeable with professional trainings. Conveniently located between city centers Causeway Bay and Wan Chai, we intend to give our travelers a sense of oasis after a long busy day. Despite the fact that it takes only 8 minutes to reach Causeway Bay MTR station, our free shuttle bus could bring guests up to 15 destinations. Alternatively, many guests did find the public transports like trams and buses worth trying like you.
Thank you for your feedbacks towards our breakfast, we offers both eastern and western choices with delighting cook-to-order eggs to cater different guests’ needs. We will keep up improving on the food quality /variety and service standard to ensure every guests a good morning with us. Apart from our trendy and fashionable Nooch Bar located on the ground floor, which is transformed into a nice area for breakfast in the morning; the outdoor area at 5/F provides another choice for resting with free wifi and coffee. Making booking through our official website does not only guarantee free internet in room, but also free breakfast for most room types and a flexible check-in / out time. We hope you may check that out on your next return to optimize your stay with the widest range of exclusive benefits. We regret to learn your unpleasant experience due to the intermittent noise from construction work. We understand the possible inconvenience brought and therefore we have thoughtfully put notice in all guestrooms during the construction period for guests’ advanced planning on their itinerary. We trust that the waiting time of elevators have just been lengthened occasionally during your stay due to the high occupancy, appreciated your kind understanding on this. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back for a better stay soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

808 - 814 of 1,443 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

The hotel looks better in the picture. Actually the lobby is next to the breakfast place. I had an apartment, small but convenient. The draw back is a very poor internet connection, and a breakfast that changes everyday but not for the better. The best part of it, is the space on the fifth floor with wifi and coffee and fruits. People are nice but for the price I paid I would prefer to spend 50$ more and get a better place. It was quite expensive for what I got. I guess that since there was a show on maybe the price was so steep, I guess if i had paid $200 or less I would have considered it a better place. I agree with the fact that some personel was more efficient than others. But also thereis work going on next door of a new hotel I think and maybe it is did not contribute to quite night. Also the A/C is very noisy. The plus is that you can get to good restaurant or time square in less than 10 minutes walking. I cannot say i would not stay there, and I could not say I would recommend but a little improvement for the breakfast at all levels, wifi quality, and finally the noise of the A/C and it will gain in my books

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdnirc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Cosmo hotel is always considered as a hip hotel with modern design offering comfortable accommodation at the same time. With 7 room categories sizing up to 83 square meters here, guests could always look for their most suitable room type according to own preferences and budgets. Conveniently located in Causeway Bay, it takes only 8 minutes to reach the closest subway station from hotel with lots of restaurants nearby. Alternatively, our free shuttle bus could also bring you up to 15 destinations. Understand the needs of international travelers, we offers 100MB high speed internet access in hotel public areas and our guest service team could always provide prompt assistance on internet connection problem. You could enjoy free wifi at guestrooms too by simply making reservations at hotel official site now. Thank you for your feedbacks towards our breakfast and we will keep improving on our food variety and quality. Although hotel prices are always dependent on different city-wide fairs and events, many of our guests have given us thumb ups as a “value for money” accommodation choice. It’s delightful to know that you found our staff friendly and helpful, and also the relaxation area on 5/F – Breeze great for getting online with coffee. We are regret to learn your unpleasant experience regarding noise issue, and we hope you had contacted our 24-hour on duty guest service managers for an immediate room change on the spot. We look forward to welcoming you back in the soon future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 October 2012

When my friends and me decided on the hotel to stay during our trip, I totally hv no expectations on this hotel. It really turned out to b a great surprise to us as their front desk are really efficient and helpful, especially their manager on duty - Kelvin. The room is big and clean. And, they are quite flexible in meeting their guests request.

I'm really thankful to hv selected this hotel for my 4D3N trip to Hongkong. Haha!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuneChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I stayed there with my family for 9 nights. It was only one of a small number of hotels that offered room accomodation for a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children). The room was small but very clean. The buffet breakfast that we paid for as part of the package was really good especially the variety of foods to choose from, both of western and chinese origin. I found Yannick Lau and his staff very professional, very friendly, hospitable, helpful but above all, most humble. Despite what other reviews indicate, the MTR is in fact only a 10 min walk from the hotel and we used it every day to go to our desired destination (Disneyland, the Buddha, HK island etc). In fact, we don't know what we would have done without it. Yes the shuttle bus does come every hour until 10:30pm but the nights were that balmy, we walked back from certain shopping precincts and markets. It wasn't hard to find our way back to the hotel with the map that the hotel staff gave us. Highly recommended and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Room was tiny without any space for suitcases. My husband put his on a stand by the bed and it collapsed and fell on his foot badly scraping it. Hotel offered a bandate and didn't really appologize for the incident. Room and bathroom were clean and suitible for a night or two stay if you are not planning on being in the room for too long. It is a beautiful city and one should spend as much time as possible to enjoy it. Hotel breakfast is not bad with some variety of food. Excellent esspresso. 10 min walk to metro. You don't need to use their shuttle bus to get to it, just walk for 5-6 blocks. Shuttle to the airport express makes a lot of sense. It is free and it takes 15 minutes. Just make sure you come 15-20 minutes ahead and stand in the line. It was around 50 people waiting in line for it at 9:00 AM. Not everyone got in. Overall it took us 45 min to get to airport from the hotel. If you have two people it is worth to get a ticket from the agent (not a machine) and get a discount. Round trip ticket is 140 Hong Kong $ (vs 180 if bought as a single and thru the machine).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irene025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear Irene,

Thank you for your comment. First of all, it’s delightful to learn that you found our rooms well-appointed with all facilities smartly equipped. Comprises of 7 room categories sizing up to 83 sq. meters, most of our guestrooms could overlook the amazing city’s skyline views or the breath-taking greenery of Happy Valley racecourse. Your feedbacks towards our breakfast make us keep improving on the food variety and quality to cater international travelers’ needs. Conveniently located amid Causeway Bay and Wan Chai, it takes only 8 minutes to reach the Causeway Bay MTR station. On the other hand, our favorite shuttle bus services could bring guests towards 15 destinations including Time Square next to Causeway Bay subway station, Wan Chai Convention Centre, Hong Kong station for airport express interchange and other Central areas etc. To make sure every guests could prepare their itinerary in advance, all our shuttle runs on a fixed schedule and first-come-first-serve basis. Our shuttle towards Hong Kong airport express even runs in extra 30-min interval during peak hours to cater high demand. This definitely save guests lots in travelling around the city. We regret to learn your husband’s experience and hope that our guest service team has given him prompt assistance towards the accident, while our housekeeping department could also be contacted for extra storage facilities upon luggage storage issues. Our apology that one of our staff’s service didn’t meet your expectation, which we believe is an occasional case with our regular professional training towards all teams. Rest assured that we will reinforce trainings towards all front line staff to ensure every guests will receive excellent services from us under all circumstances. We hope to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed at the Cosmo Hotel for two nights. The Superior room was quite small although all was pretty clean including the bathroom.
The breakfast buffet is quite expensive for what they offer: nothing special.
Both MTR station are too far from the hotel: it is not only a 10 min walk. And shuttle bus service is only once per hour and ends around 8, so if you stay there, be prepared to pay a cab after a long day out.
Also, there's no restaurants or stores nearby where you can buy food or water... We had to order room service for one dinner and the food was good though expensive.
Personally, for my next leisure trip to HK, this hotel will not be my choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear Ahsieh,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Apart from the superior room, Cosmo Hotel offers rooms of 7 categories and sizing up to 83 sq. meters for guests’ choices. All guestrooms are well-appointed and smartly designed to deliver great accommodation experiences. Conveniently located in city’s shopping districts Causeway Bay, it takes only 8 minutes to reach the mega shopping mall Times Square, which is right beside the Causeway Bay subway station. Many of our guests find it worth exploring with series of shops and restaurants on the way as well. On the other hand, all our complimentary shuttle buses operates on fixed schedule towards 15 different destinations with major shopping malls and entertainment areas, in which the one brings guests to Times Square/ subway station runs as frequent as 20 minutes until 21:35pm every night to save you from taking cabs. With international travelers in mind, our breakfast not only combines both eastern and western selections but also cook-to-order eggs for a wonderful morning. We thank you again for your feedbacks on breakfast and room services, we will keep improving on food quality and choices for greater values. We hope to see you again soon for an even better leisure trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#112 of 730 in Hong Kong
3,281 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 730 in Hong Kong
3,859 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#72 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fortress Hill
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
#105 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,568 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#109 of 730 in Hong Kong
995 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.375-377 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#93 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#117 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £52 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A young and chic boutique hotel located amid the city centres of Causeway Bay and Wanchai, Cosmo Hotel is just 8-min walk away from the Causeway Bay subway station and provides free shuttle bus to 14 major destinations in town. All guestrooms boast modern design with theme colours in orange, green or yellow. Free smart phone is available in every room which allows guests to use unlimited 4G internet, Wi-Fi hotspot, free local and IDD calls to 8 select countries. The smart phone can be used both in and out of the hotel. Other facilities include Nooch Bar at the lobby and an outdoor patio Breeze on 5/F. Cosmo Hotel is 100% smoke-free and is one of the few EarthCheck's silver-certified green hotels in Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmo Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmo Hotel
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing