We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #141 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I would say that it was an average hotel. The rooms were small and it had no plug in the bathroom, not particularly clean and they charged the internet in the room. The view was really nice from our 18th floor rooms. Free wifi was only available in the lobby and on the 5th floor, but only for one hour per day, which is not that much. The people in the reception were mostly kind and nice and the buffet for breakfast was varied and yummy. Nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmopolitanHotelHK, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Erica,

Thank you for staying with us. We value your comments greatly.

We are sorry that the room you checked into appeared smaller than you expected. While each room in the hotel is thoughtfully appointed for guest’s utmost comfort, they are of varying sizes to accommodate different travelling needs and budgets. That said, we would recommend you to try our studio or suite measuring from 250sq.ft. up to 900sq.ft. on your next visit for a more spacious and relaxing stay with us.

We have noted your comment on having no plug in the bathroom. In fact, it has been intentionally excluded from the bathroom design as a safety precaution to prevent potential risk of electrical hazards in wet surroundings, we hope to seek your understanding is this matter.
As for the cleanliness of room, please rest assured that our housekeeping team has been reminded on this aspect specifically and they will ensure all the guest rooms are in tiptop condition at all times.

Your mention of one-hour-per-day free WiFi in the lobby and Breeze on the 5th floor is also noted with great concern. We believe it was a rare system error as free WiFi service in those areas is actually available for 24-hour. We hope that you had the chance to seek help from our Guest Services Team on the spot to solve the problem, we are terribly sorry for the unnecessary inconvenience caused. On your next trip, you may consider booking through our hotel official website so that you could enjoy a series of benefits including free in-room WiFi, Best Rate Guaranteed, 24-hour check-in/out service etc.

Lastly, thank you for your kind compliments on our kind and nice staff and the yummy breakfast, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    587
    326
    80
    50
See reviews for
265
447
175
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nomads
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at the Cosmo for ten days and were delighted with our stay. The room was spotless and cleaned every day. The buffet breakfast was varied but more importantly had different choices every day.

But it was the Guest Services Manager Victor Cheung who was so helpful with his suggestions of what to do in Hong Kong that was the main positive of the hotel.

Next time in HK we'll return to the Cosmo.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear SteveLorena,

Thank you for staying with us. We’re glad to know that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the room and the superb service rendered by our professional team.
Your kind comments especially to Victor will be directed to him. It is always encouraging to hear from satisfied guests as we continually strive to deliver a high level of service. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the breakfast too. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

After arriving at 5am jetlagged and tired. We arrived at the hotel at 7am to be greeted by a rude and unpleasant desk clerk who rudely informed us that we cant check in until 2pm. My young children fell asleep on the lobby chairs. When we finally checked into the rooms we found them to be very average if not a little dated. The bathroom always had a horrible stench and housekeeping wasnt very thorough. The location was NOT at all walking distance as many other reviewers had mentioned. I would not even consider asecond trip to Hon Kong let alone staying at the Cosmo!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Manal,

Thank you for bringing your recent unpleasant experience to our attention. We are so sorry that the service of the front office staff didn’t quite meet your expectation this time, we will definitely reinforce training to all our front line staff in order to provide the best service to our guests under any circumstances. We have noted your comment on early check-in. While the normal check-in/out time is at 2pm and 12nn according to international hotel standard, our hotel is offering flexible 24-hour check-in/out service to guests who book through our hotel official website in advance. We apologise that we were not able to extend early check-in for you due to full house, we sincerely hope to seek your kind understanding on this.

For room choices, our hotel offers 7 room categories measuring up to 83 sq. m., we hope you will have the chance to try the other room types when you visit us next time for not only a more spacious and pleasant stay, but also with great views of city skyline. Your feedback about the occasional stench in bathroom is also noted. Though we seldom receive similar comment from our guests, please rest assured that housekeeping team will pay extra attention on this to ensure excellent hygiene condition at all times, we apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Location wise, we are located amid the busiest districts of Causeway Bay and Wan Chai with excellent transport links. The closest Causeway Bay subway station is only an 8-minute walk away. In addition, the hotel also provides complimentary shuttle bus service to bring our guests conveniently towards 15 major attractions, making exploring city even more relaxing and economical.

Manal, We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

overall good but the room so small. the service is good, we can borrow umbrella for free. the shuttle bus is very useful, using it we can go everywhere. the room is clean but the wall is very thin, we can hear when our neighbor close the door or speak too loud.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JULI D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Juli D,

Thank you for staying at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong. It’s nice to know that you love the exceptional services we provided and enjoyed the free shuttle service that brings our guests utmost convenience to travel around the city. In fact, Cosmo Hotel comprises 7 room categories sizing up to 83 sq. m. to suit our guests’ different preferences and budgets. I hope the next time you will also have the chance to try our suites which measure 83 sq. m. to enjoy even more spacious and pleasant stay.

We regret to learn about your unpleasant experience about the occasional noise from next door. Though we seldom receive similar comment from our guests, please rest assured that we will look into our in-room soundproof facilities and make necessary improvements, we hope you had the chance to inform our guest services manager for assistance on the spot, our apology for the inconvenience caused.

We hope to welcome you back again to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I booked two rooms on 13/7/13. The hotel was around 15 mins by walk from the closet subways with many turns, and ups and downs.
At the time of our arrival around 3.30hrs, one of our rooms was not ready to check in, so we had to packed ourselves in one room while we were waiting. We got a room upgrade as a compensation, still had to wait for it for at least one or two hrs.

The rooms were average, the suite was nice for 4-6 people with two bedrooms and one seperated living room. Nothing fantasy. We found the speaker for iphone was broken and there was no bathrobe set in the room. So we had to call the front desk during the night. Many thanks to Mr. Victor, for handling it well and made us feeling better after all those disappointment.

Free wifi alvailable on the ground and 5th floors. After the area called breeze closed you 'd have to lay on the floor at the corridor to use free wifi. No seats at all.

The breakfast was good. Variety selections. Most were tasty. The attendants were nice. We enjoyed it.

Special thanks to ..
Victor, Guest Service Manager - super friendly and professional.
Katherine, Guest service agent - very helpful, and answered our questions very patiently with smiles.
Benji, Concierge - thanks for your help. calling the cab in the rain :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dandelionph7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Dandelionph,

Thank you very much for your review. Your recognition on our attentive services is a huge encouragement for everyone in the hotel. We will definitely pass your kind compliments on to Victor, Katherine, Benji and the housekeeping team for their warm hospitality.

In fact, our hotel is located amid the busiest shopping and business districts in Causeway Bay and Wan Chai, which the nearest Causeway Bay subway station is only an 8-minute walk away. On the other hand, our hotel also provides complimentary shuttle bus service to bring our guests to 15 destinations on Hong Kong Island side.

We are very sorry about the occasional lengthened time for arranging guestroom, we believe it was due to high occupancy during your stay, we sincerely hope the room upgrade that let you enjoy nicer view and more spacious accommodation had made up for it in some ways. Your comments on iPod dock and bathrobe set are also noted. While we trust our Guest Services team had taken immediate action to solve the problem, please rest assured that housekeeping team will pay extra attention to ensure excellent condition of the in-room amenities at all times, we apologise for the inconvenience caused.

As for free WiFi access, besides Breeze on 5th floor , guests can also enjoy free WiFi at hotel lobby and other public areas. However, we would suggest you to book through our hotel official website on your next trip to enjoy the best online rate, free in-room WiFi and 24-hour check-in/out service.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I booked the Cosmo again because I like the hotel and the location,
The Service is good and all good for me and I hope this time will be the same for me.
I like the room is clean and quiet also very easy to go eat out side in the mall or local food experiences.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natwara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I booked the Cosmo after seeing the many high reviews here. The low rate should have given me a warning, but the reviews made me think that I might have found a hidden gem in Hong Kong. Now I think that the good reviews must be for the affiliated hotel that's only a few doors down the street, called Cosmopolitan Hotel. Or that there are some rooms in the Cosmo that are more expensive and significantly nicer than the standard room where I stayed.

The hotel lobby is fine, nothing special but nothing bad. But my room was downright unpleasant. The bed (double or queen size) took up nearly all the space in the room, and once I'd placed my suitcase, there was hardly any space to step anywhere. The mattress was rock-hard, which I expect in any hotel in China, but not in Hong Kong. I searched the entire room and found only one outlet, in a little cubbyhole that's about a foot off the floor. You have to kneel down, pull out the coffee/tea maker and reach about a foot into the cubbyhole for the outlet. Then there is nowhere to place your phone or whatever you're charging, except on the floor, so you have to be careful not to step on it! Though there is a small table in the room, the outlet is just out of reach, so if you want to work on your laptop with it plugged into the outlet, you have to sit on your bed to do it.

I appreciated that the hotel had made an effort to put some nice touches (for example, the headboard of the bed was modern and chic, and the bed linens very nice and crisp) into the room, and the tiny bathroom was tiled, but I still could not shake the impression that the floor and walls in the room were slightly grimy. I am not a nothing-but-luxury will do kind of hotel guest, and have stayed in 3 star (or less) hotels in many countries in Asia, and enjoy those for the local ambiance as long as the room feels clean and has enough space to move about comfortably.

The location may be good for vacationers who don't mind walking a fair bit to the MTR station or the tram. But I had to take the cab several times and the maze of streets to get to the hotel caused expensive cab fares. For the next time, I will know that booking a more expensive hotel that is close to the MTR or tram will save me money.

To be fair, the hotel does share a free shuttle bus with the affiliated Cosmopolitan Hotel to a number of locations as well as the convention center and the Airport Express station, it's just that the departure times (approx 1 per hour) did not work with my schedule.

There is one spot in the hotel that is wonderful and unique and should not be missed: the space called "Breeze" on a rooftop on the 5th floor. It's a magical space in the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong, with a view of greenery, nice shaded area, and free wireless internet.

The immediate surroundings of the hotel are institutional - cemetery, temple, hospital, racetrack - so there is nothing to do or see strolling around and the immediate streets around the hotel cannot be crossed. But if you find the underpass that allows you to cross, you can get to streets with shops and restaurants within half a mile walk. I've been to Hong Kong many times, and am used to being much closer, so found that another disadvantage of this particular hotel, but for a tourist to the city with time on their hand, it may not be a draw back.

Room Tip: Some travelers report a nice city view - my room on the 7th floor had none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Andrea,

Thank you for staying with us. We really appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps us to improve your next stay experience with us.

We regret to learn that you found the room smaller than you expected. In fact, Cosmo Hotel comprises 7 different room types that measure up to 83 sq. meters to cater for guests with different budgets and preferences. I hope the next time you will have the chance to try our Executive room or Two-bedroom suite with your friends for a more spacious stay with extra storage for luggage. Yet, our Guest Services team is always happy to assist on luggage storage issue on the spot if any. While all our mattress are imported from high quality brand Simmons, guests could always contact our 24-hour on duty manager for extra toppers if a puffier bed is preferred. We noted your comment on the placement of power socket, we will definitely review with management for further improvement in the future. Regarding the cleanliness of the floor and wall, rest assured that our Housekeeping Department will be reminded to ensure the best condition of every guestroom.

While it takes only an 8-minute walk towards Causeway Bay subway station and series of entertainment and dining spots are just within easy reach, hope you have chance to try our free shuttle bus that could bring our guests to towards 15 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wan Chai, Central, Admiralty etc. as well; this service definitely saves guests lots of time and traveling cost. Besides, public transports like taxi, tram and buses are also available as alternative.

On the other hand, we are great to know that you love our outdoor relaxation area on 5/F – Breeze, with free coffee and wifi provided. Meanwhile, we highly recommend you to book via our official website to get more exclusive offers like free wifi in guestroom, 24-hour check-in/ out service etc. for a true value of money! We sincerely hope to welcome you back to Cosmo Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#114 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,158 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,646 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#80 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,408 reviews
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#118 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong

Property: Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.375-377 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#91 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#93 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#111 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A young and chic boutique hotel located amid the city centres of Causeway Bay and Wanchai, Cosmo Hotel is just 8-min walk away from the Causeway Bay subway station and provides free shuttle bus to 15 major destinations in town. All guestrooms boast modern design with theme colours in orange, green or yellow. Free smart phone is available in every room which allows guests to use unlimited 3G internet, Wi-Fi hotspot, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including UK, US, Australia, Singapore, China, Canada, Japan, Malaysia and Korea. The smart phone can be used both in and out of the hotel. Other facilities include Nooch Bar at the lobby and an outdoor patio Breeze on 5/F. Cosmo Hotel is 100% smoke-free and is one of the few EarthCheck's silver-certified green hotels in Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmo Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmo Hotel
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing