We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cool hotel with good vibe--and it is inexpensive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #141 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
travelin_aha
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cool hotel with good vibe--and it is inexpensive!”
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Trendy hotel that is clean and inexpensive. I felt very safe there and liked the location--it was close to the Happy Valley Racetrack (which you should definitely go to if you have the chance). While it is very central, it is so convenient to a lot of transportation. Plus, taxis are super cheap.

The rooms are small but very functional. For the people freaked out about the cemetery, I don't get it. You can't see it from your room--you'd only know it was there if you walk around the back. Plus, it is kind of cool--there are several different religions that use the cemetery, including both Eastern and Western faiths.

Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank travelin_aha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    569
    321
    77
    49
See reviews for
255
439
172
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

great hotel esp for the price!!
we paid approx $88 Canadian. we were there for 8 nights, and were offered an upgrade. the room was still quite small, so not sure what a regular room would look like. however, this is asia, and small rooms are quite the norm.
The hotel offers quite a bit of freebies. Internet in the lobby (quick tip, if you login in the lobby, you can then access internet free for 24 hrs in your room), 2 free water bottles a day, tea, coffee is available on the 5th floor. Best of all, the FREE shuttle. This shuttle comes twice an hour, and takes you to many of the key hot spots on hong kong island ,including the Airport Express Central station (you can take this shuttle too when you first arrive from the airport for free). The bus to Causeway Bay comes more frequently. Causeway Bay is about a 10 minute walk. Because the Hotel is situated on a busy intersection, it takes longer to get across the street since you need to go underground via the subway. This is not a big deal though, because there is a bus, and walking is good for you!! Fun fact. one of the drivers looks like Jackie Chan, could easily pass as his brother.
The hotel does offer some dining vouchers for the lobby bar, and the restaurant at the Cosmopolitan Hotel (the main building- where you catch the shuttle). The dining vouchers nothing to go crazy about, we didn't use them, but it's a nice gesture!

only downsize would be that although it is very close to Causway Bay (less than 1 km away), there is not much food close by. i.e quick take aways, 7-11.... Again, because of the way the road are, takes you a bit longer to get anywere. 7-11 is about 10 minutes away. Again, not that big of a deal, except if you just want to 'run' down for a quick snack. So we would just stop by the grocery store before we hopped on the shuttle, problem solved!!

Great hotel. Would stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jelly__Bean00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

We are two active, fairly sophisticated travelers from L.A. who stayed for three nights at the Cosmo. We were very happy we chose to stay on HK island over Kowloon and thought the hotel's location was very convenient (not to mention the hotel offers free shuttles to various places around the city). Hong Kong is not a friendly city overall, but you wouldn't know it based on the treatment we received from hotel staff. The staff at both the Cosmo as well as at the neighboring Cosmopolitan hotel were fantastic. Everyone from the assistant manager to the bartenders went out of their way to make our stay special. Staying in HK island is expensive but the Cosmo provided an affordable alternative and we felt it was a good value for the price--this is not a really plush hotel, but it was very comfortable. Plus, we were able to put some of the money we saved on lodging and lower transportation costs towards other activities, since everything in HK is expensive. We would definitely recommend the hotel to other travelers, especially if you are looking to really enjoy the city feel of Hong Kong.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank girlinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dijon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

This hotel is the little brother of the Cosmopolitan Hotel in Hong Kong but seems to be better value for money. We told the staff we were on honeymoon so they let us have an upgrade for free, however, the room was really tiny, so we can't imagine what our original room must have been like. The rooms are very elegant and clean and tidy, but the size was a bit of a problem for us as we had so much luggage for our round the world honeymoon.
I recommend this hotel for anyone staying a long weekend or stopover as the location is good. However, anyone staying for a long time or has a lot of luggage, you may find the rooms a little bit small!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithy_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotel, Anita Chan, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, 7 July 2009
Thank you for your comments. Cosmo Hotel offers a wide range of room size up to 83 sq. meter offering good spaciousness. Upon guest request, moveable drawers are also available from Housekeeping office for storage.

We hope you’ve had some nice time during your honeymoon and we look forward to be of service to you and your family again in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Our stay at Cosmo was more than comfortable when it comes to the rooms, cleanliness and installations. As for the service, however, the very contrary. The reception staff was mostly unhelpful, and reluctant to provide us aid when in need.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barcelona006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotel, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, 3 June 2009
Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you feel happy with our rooms and other facilities and reckon that our hotel is clean and comfortable.

In terms of services, we feel regret that our effort has not proved to be a success for you. As a customer driven organization, we understand how important service weighs and we have already passed on your comments to the team. We know that there is always room for improvement and hope that next time when you return to us you will find our staff most helpful and welcoming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Very clean and elegant hotel. Tiny rooms (but who cares), marvellous staff, and a nice bar with live music (and good too!) every night till 2 am (and you can smoke there - until September, when the total smoke ban is put into effect in Hong Kong).
The sister hotel, Cosmopolitan, is just down the block, and from there you can take their shuttle services, to a few different places in the city. Free of charge of course!
I would have preferred a more central location, more to the west. But other than that, we'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SchackStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoHotel, Anita Chan, General Manager at Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong, responded to this review, 3 June 2009
Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy to know that your stay at Cosmo Hotel is a marvelous one.

To suit different needs, Cosmo Hotel features several room types 15 sq. feet to 83 sq. feet offering good spaciousness.

Apart from Nooch Bar, Breeze on 5/F is also a smoking ban-free area where guests can enjoy a free cup of coffee and free WiFi surfing, indoor and outdoor.

In terms of location, we are located just a 10 minutes ride to Central and a mere 5 minutes ride to HK Convention Centre in Wan Chai. To do some good shopping, Times Square mega shopping centre is an 8 minutes walk from the hotel.

Having our guests in mind, we also provide free shuttle service to take guests to several popular spots on the island including the west part in Central, Admiralty, Wan Chai and Causeway Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapunda, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Situated on a the busy Queens Rd East road, but dont let that worry you. This hotel is the little sister of the bigger Cosmopolitan Hotel, 2 doors down the hill. Located close enough to be able to get to everthing, but just on the edge of the city that its not crowded with tourists. Two minutes walk to the bigger Cosmopolitan Hotel to use their complimentary shuttle bus, or 10 minutes walk to Wan Chai train station (exit A3 is the easiest to use). The tram outside Happy Valley race course is at the end of the road. Busses to Stanley just up the road. Service was excellent, staff were great and knew what they were doing.
Checkin following a long flight was quick and easy, as was check out. Hotel arrange a car for us to get to the airport.
Rooms have been reported as being small, but ours was fine, maye a tight squeeze if more than 2 people in the room, but for 2 it was great.
Breakfast was free as was the wi-fi in the lobby, cafe/bar and on the level 5 outdoor sitting area.
Will we stay here again - sure will.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#114 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,095 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#78 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,543 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#81 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
JJ Hotel
JJ Hotel
#137 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong

Property: Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No.375-377 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#92 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#94 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#109 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A young and chic boutique hotel located amid the city centres of Causeway Bay and Wanchai, Cosmo Hotel is just 8-min walk away from the Causeway Bay subway station and provides free shuttle bus to 15 major destinations in town. All guestrooms boast modern design with theme colours in orange, green or yellow. Free smart phone is available in every room which allows guests to use unlimited 3G internet, Wi-Fi hotspot, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including UK, US, Australia, Singapore, China, Canada, Japan, Malaysia and Korea. The smart phone can be used both in and out of the hotel. Other facilities include Nooch Bar at the lobby and an outdoor patio Breeze on 5/F. Cosmo Hotel is 100% smoke-free and is one of the few EarthCheck's silver-certified green hotels in Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmo Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmo Hotel
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing