We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liked it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lan Kwai Fong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
Ranked #104 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Liked it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed there with my wife for 4 nights in sweltering August...wanna have a tip? Don't go to HK in August. It's HOT.

Anyway, the hotel has a fantastic location, although it can be tricky to find again if you don't really know HK. Room was very small, as was the bathroom...but both did the job and the view we had was quite something. Also you're in LKF in mere minutes. Great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xerobasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    495
    175
    53
    29
See reviews for
84
318
119
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

通算6回目の香港。(うち1回は約9ヶ月間の滞在)

同行者(姉夫婦:2人とも香港は初めてではない)とも相談の結果、
今回のポイントは以下でした:

・リーズナブルであること。
・ラグジュアリーさは不要。シンプルでも、快適かつセンス良しであればOK。
 朝食も外で食べればいいので、レストラン不要。ジムやプールも不要。
・九龍半島より香港島側がよい。
 できれば中環(セントラル)が、どこにも行きやすく便利。
 (空港への往復も、TSTへもCauseway Bayにも行きやすい)

前々回(2010年12月)にお世話になった、
「Butterfly on Wellington(バタフライ・オン・ウェリントン)」
が結構良かったので、今回もまず見てみましたが、1泊1室HK$1,600ぐらい。
(※この当時、1HK$=約12円)
あれ、前はもうちょっと安かったのになーー・・・・・・。

ただ、この辺り=中環(セントラル)と上環(ションワン)の間って、
最近こういうタイプの「ブティックホテル」が増えてまして、
お値段と内容を見た感じで、今回こちらにしました。
(お値段は、一番スタンダードなランクのお部屋で、1室1泊HK$1,270+サービス料10%)

シンプルながらも清潔でセンスが良く、
モダン・チャイニーズ?みたいなインテリアでまとめられています。
ロビーは、広くはないですが、センスよい落ち着き感。
私の泊まったお部屋は25階。窓が出窓になっていて、
ちょっとしたseating spaceになっているのが、粋です。
iPod用のラジカセも有り。最近この手のホテルには多いですね
※iPodは、ご自身で持参ください。
バスルームも清潔感有り。臭い等もない。アメニティ系も十分。
バスタブは無いのですが、今回は夏だし、たった2泊なので無問題。
シャワーの水圧も十分、もちろんしっかりお湯出ます。
もう少し良いランクのお部屋なら、バスタブもあったのかな?(未確認)

総合的に、私はかなり気に入りました。
ただ、姉夫妻は、同じタイプのお部屋で2人1室だったので、
ちょっと狭く感じたかもしれませんね。ごめんなさい。

※香港人の友人曰く、最近香港のホテル価格はどんどん上がっているとのこと。(2013年11月現在)
 やはり中国本土からの観光客が多いのでしょうか。
 旅慣れた方なら、こちらのような「ブティックホテル」をいくつか比較検討なさって、
 そのとき安いホテルを選ばれるのがオススメです!
 (特に、オープンから半年ぐらいのホテルがオススメかも)


As my 6th visit to HongKong. (Once I stayed for 9 months)

Considering w/ my companions (sister & her husband: they have visited HK before, too), our requirement was following:

-Reasonable rate.
-Doesn't need to be laxuary. Could be simple as long as confortable & sophisticated.
-Will eat breakfast outside. Don't need any restaurant, gym or swimming pool.
-Prefer HK island to Kowloon Peninsula. Central is the best.
(Easy to access everywhere: TST, Causeway Bay & Airport)

I stayed "Butterfly on Wellington" before, which was quite good, but a little bit over budget this time.
However, more this kind of "reasonable-priced and sophisticated with minimum facility" hotels have opend around this area. So, I checked several similar hotels and chose it this time.

Our requiments above were all fulfilled. You can enjoy local noodle & congee as breakfast from wide range of choice in the neibourhood. Also, easy to come back even after you enjoyed drink until late night at Lan Kwai Fong.

Rooms are compact. The standard room was OK for me, I stayed myself and I am a small Japanese woman. But if you stay as 2 persons in 1 room, and if you are tall... might better to consider an upgraded room if they are larger.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akiko_nnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

There are three key great features of this hotel: very central location, courteous service staff and good room layout. It is perfect for the city holiday, it is well known with taxi drivers. Despite super central location, it was fairly quiet and we got good night of sleep. The hotel has a 2 Michelin star restaurant on its premises which we unfortunately didn't try. There is a cozy lounge on the 4th floor where one can get free access to wi-fi.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss_Gl0betr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
186 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

First and most importantly, there are two hotels with similar names in the central district of Hong Kong, not only do you need to ensure you book the right one, but also the taxi driver takes you to it. The other hotel uses the initials LKF to avoid confusion. As the taxi drivers often don't speak or read in English, take a photo of the address in Chinese on your smartphone to show him, or ask the visitor information at the airport to write it out for you. Or drive around for hours in the steaming traffic!

The easiest, cheapest and fastest way into Hong Kong is on the airport express subway, for 2 passengers or less. Theres only 5 stations on the line and no need to change. It's dead simple and costs £16 one way for a discounted 2 person ticket (£10 for a one person). You miss the crazy traffic, arriving in 25 minutes; clean not overcrowded and simple. For 4 people a taxi is cheaper but slower. 

The exit station has a metered taxi rank right outside, maximum £3 and you are at the hotel, getting a nice orientation of the local markets, antique dealers and bars en route. Taxis are cheap, safe and plentiful. 

The hotel footprint is tiny. So small there is just a corridor with reception and small room on the ground floor; in fact there is only a maximum of 7 bedrooms per floor. It's occupancy made possible by its towering 30 floors, accessed by an efficient smooth elevator. 

Rooms are very small, as is the bathroom, but reasonably well equipped. Small wardrobe, safe, mini-bar fridge, TV with wide choice of channels, kettle (but no tea or coffee), hair dryer, work table and free but poor WiFi signal, the latter works great in the small lobby or bar area however. Slippers and robes where a welcome touch, with great views from the high floors. Plug sockets are UK type in Hong Kong. 

A/c individually controlled, quiet (on low speed) and efficient. 

Service is friendly and breakfast buffet provides a reasonable hot and cold selection of the usual fare, albeit the room is small considering occupancy. It was expensive and with a coffee shop directly opposite the hotel we would of skipped it, if it wasn't already in our rate. 

From the hotel, walk up the hill two blocks and turn left and you are in the main bar and restaurant area. Some fabulous restaurants with great choice of food. Keep heading straight and you hit the late bars and night clubs which are all located in a small car free area, with most spilling out onto the pavements. 

Note: The other hotel, with the same name (LKF) is located within this lively area. 

We chose the hotel more for location but we would return as the stay was comfortable and reasonable value. 

Hope that was helpful. 

 

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick_From_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed here with my partner for 4 nights and would stay here again without hesitation if I was in Hong Kong. The location of the hotel is it's biggest advantage. The rooms are not standard western size but they are very clean and have all expected hotel standards i.e tv, toiletries etc. The view from our room was fantastic and gave us a great view of the the city. The location helped us to explore the island on foot easily and the proximity of shops, bars and restaurants made our trip so much easier. We ventured out for all our meals and found the time out guide to hong kong a really good guide to picking good restaurants and eateries. The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful and had were very knowledgeable on the local area.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the higher up rooms for a better view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice now, the second time by mistake as I was supposed to be booked into LKF in Wyndam St (travel agent error). Room service is horrendous, served in take away containers with plastic forks and does not look safe to eat. Internet does not work properly, I was unable to send any emails so it was quite useless to me. I did get foot reflexology one night which was good until the Therapist tried to rip me off with expecting a huge tip. Elevators are old, slow, small and clunky. Much better hotels around than this - LKF us great.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
520 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is an excellent hotel in terms of location - a short walk to Central and the famous Lan Kwai Fong bar streets and a very short walk to Sheung Wan MTR station.

Great service at this boutique hotel with all the basics you need - the rooms are small (once upgraded to a executive corner suite which was decent in size but still small) but in Hong Kong, I don't see the point of spending a lot of time in your hotel with so much to do, from eating, shopping and all the different leisure activities to do.

I stay here mainly for business and it's more than sufficient to cater for what I need - walking distance to the office with easy access to anywhere you need to be whether by taxi or the MTR.

You would be hard pressed to find a hotel with such a great location and at very good prices in this part of town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mokkey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#31 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#34 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Central
Hotel LKF By Rhombus
Hotel LKF By Rhombus
#163 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#18 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#99 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lan Kwai Fong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lan Kwai Fong Hotel

Property: Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
Address: No.3 Kau U Fong, Central, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#79 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#98 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lan Kwai Fong Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awards winning boutique hotel in Central near the trendy dining and nightlife area of SoHo and Lan Kwai Fong, close to MTR & Macau Ferry Terminal, within walking distance to premier offices and designers shopping. Rooms with oriental décor, free WIFI and mobile for free IDD calls to 7 countries. BreeZe Lounge provides complimentary coffee and tea with snacks throughout the day and happy hour with free house wine at 5-8pm daily. Guests can enjoy privilege in neighbourhood shops and restaurants e.g. D-mop, Y-3, Vivienne Tam, Momotaro, Sohofama, b yourself cafe etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lan Kwai Fong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lan Kwai Fong
Lan Kwai Fong Hong Kong
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing