We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel - Unflexible / poor services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
Ranked #106 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average Hotel - Unflexible / poor services”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

An average hotel (I would give 3 star) but highly inflated (applicable to all Hong Kong hotels i guess), but, I ended feeling that it was pretty expensive.
Location, Services and room are average.
The most positive thing (pretty good in fact) is the fact that every room are provided with a mobile phone with Internet acess that you can take outside (good for reservations, access to maps, among other stuff).
We have experienced some noise of other guests arriving at 5am and 6am for half-hour or more for 3 nights in a row.
Worst of all, I, mistankely, have made two consequently resevations for the same dates trought booking.com, and the Hotel denied to cancel one of them without any penalization cost. I was shocked with this policy, as it is a clearly bad faith of the hotel. Unfotunately, as I cannot cancelled the two resevation and had to proceed with onte of them.
An hotel that use this type of politics does not respect their clients, as so, I recommend to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francisco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanKwaiFongHotel, Manager at Lan Kwai Fong Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Francisco S,

Thank you for your valuable comment. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the handy mobile service which provides free IDD calls to 5 countries and also 3G mobile internet access.

Regarding the duplicate booking, as it was found upon your check in, while our cancellation policy is 3 days prior to arrival, therefore we had been holding the room for you since your reservation and we are not able to sell to other guests on the same day.

Thank you for your understanding on this matter and please contact us directly for your future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    514
    176
    54
    31
See reviews for
89
327
121
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed her for three nights in a costly high level harbour view room.The rooms are extremely small with minute bathrooms. The view was towards the harbour into buildings.The hotel is badly marked and difficult to locate.I had dinner in the sub let Chinese restaurant which served no alcohol and despite its claimed Michelain star rating offered only passable food.The same location is where breakfast is served.It was poor with a clumsy buffet.Fried eggs on demand but the bacon from the buffet looked awful and I did not go back for the next two breakfasts.This is an example of what can be very ordinary in Hong Kong where generally hotels are outstanding and well priced. I would NEVER go back here even if it was free!

Room Tip: Do not go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanKwaiFongHotel, Manager at Lan Kwai Fong Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Christopher,

Thank you for your valuable comment. We are sorry to know that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. Our standard room starts from 19sqm, please consider our Deluxe Room and Suites for future visits. Our suites are equipped with private balcony which overlook the spectacular view of the city and illuminated at night.

Our buffet breakfast served with Chinese and Western choices and both hot and cold items. Thank you for your comment about our breakfast, we will definitely look into that.

Our hotel is not located on the main street but at a very convenient location between Central and Sheung Wan. Guests may reach premier offices, international banks, Lan Kwai Fong, SoHo, designer shops, IFC and Landmark within 10 minutes, perfect for business and leisure stays.

Thank you for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Chose this hotel for its location close to the Macau Ferry terminal...only a 10min. walk...and readily available airport transport. Unfortunately we arrived around noon in a very restricted reception area. Staff tried their very best to cope on a busy Saturday.
Found the Saturday day rate very expensive at nearly HKD2000 with no breakfast included but the Sunday rate was more reasonable averaging out the expense.
Room(1306) was clean and spacious with a distinct Chinese decor. The air-conditioning was very efficient but rather noisy. My partner was disappointed with the local shopping after comparison with the Causeway Bay area.

Room Tip: Try to avoid 12noon check in/out chaos in reception area....especially on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanKwaiFongHotel, Manager at Lan Kwai Fong Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Max J,

Thank you for your valuable comment. Saturday noon time is usually quite busy with both check in and check out. Please accept our apology for that.

Around our hotel, there are more than 100 local designers in the trendiest PMQ and also some well-known local fashion designer boutique e.g. Vera Wang, Walter Ma, Cecilia Yau, William Tang, Paul Lau etc. (just 2 minutes away)

If you prefer international brands, you may try IFC and Landmark, or along Queen's Road Central.

Hope you have time to discover more interesting shopping around our hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It is hard to find such a quiet hotel in Central, it's near the CBD and I can get to office by 5-10 min walking. Visitors have many dining choices around. The trasport to the airport is not far away. BTW, it is easy to grab a cab here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanKwaiFongHotel, Manager at Lan Kwai Fong Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Clark,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hotel is at a very convenient location, close to MTR, Airport Express Hong Kong Station and also Macau Ferry Terminal. It is an easy walking distance to the premier offices and international banks in Central and Sheung Wan.

Hotel is close to SoHo and Lan Kwai Fong and with many dining options around. We also provide free WIFI and handy smart phone with free IDD calls to UK, US, Australia, China and Singapore, also unlimited 3G mobile internet access which the guests can enjoy the convenience to travel around Hong Kong.

Hope to have you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were in HK for a one day trip and decided to stay somewhere close to the lan kwai fong area. Seeing that this hotel was the closest to our destination we decided to stay in this hotel. Upon booking the reservation I could already sense the room will be cramped as the size has mentioned on the web. We checked in to the hotel and easy checkin delivered whereas our request we made prior to arrival was set. We arrived late evening so it was a big help to be given the late check out. As we only had one day we spent a late night out and as tired we requested to extend the late check out at least one more hour and willing to pay as well as our ferry would have been about the right time but instead we were rudly informed that we could not extend as they are already granting us a favor of a late check out and there is a guest already waiting for our room. Now we called this request in the morning around 9am and I don't think it was necessary to inform us that there is someone waiting. If it cant be granted then it cant. We felt pretty dissapointed in the way it was handled but its a good thing we didnt expect much from this hotel to beging with. I suggest when others decide to stay in this hotel you should take a taxi because its located on a hill which is very hard to walk up especially during the summer heat.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journey2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanKwaiFongHotel, Manager at Lan Kwai Fong Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Journey2525,

Thank you for your valuable comments. Please accept our sincere apology for the improper response from our colleagues. We will definitely look into that.

It is a good tip to take taxi to the hotel especially if you have luggage. It is an easy walking distance if you only have small hand carry luggage.

Looking forward to have you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Lan Kwai Fong Hotel. It's easy to walk from there to most places in Central and mid-levels. The escalator is an interesting experience and very practical. Shopping is also easy from the very fancy places along Queens Highway to the small shops on the side streets. Easy to get snacks at the numerous shops and supermarkets.

Room Tip: We chose a Harbor view hotel and we received a corner room. it was very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shoshanah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Hotel is really excellent and I will come back with may friends again. Hotel is near Office, near shopping center, near lots of restaurant... very comfortable. Hope to receive promotion for next trip and wish to come back again soonest.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nguyen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#34 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,083 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#22 of 718 in Hong Kong
312 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#20 of 718 in Hong Kong
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
One96 - Elegant Full Floor Suite Hotel
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#95 of 718 in Hong Kong
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lan Kwai Fong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lan Kwai Fong Hotel

Property: Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
Address: No.3 Kau U Fong, Central, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#79 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#98 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lan Kwai Fong Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awards winning boutique hotel in Central near the trendy dining and nightlife area of SoHo and Lan Kwai Fong, close to MTR & Macau Ferry Terminal, within walking distance to premier offices and designers shopping. Rooms with oriental décor, free WIFI and mobile for free IDD calls to 7 countries. BreeZe Lounge provides complimentary coffee and tea with snacks throughout the day and happy hour with free house wine at 5-8pm daily. Guests can enjoy privilege in neighbourhood shops and restaurants e.g. D-mop, Y-3, Vivienne Tam, Momotaro, Sohofama, b yourself cafe etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Lan Kwai Fong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lan Kwai Fong
Lan Kwai Fong Hong Kong
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing