We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish. Conveniently located and great service ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
Ranked #104 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
249 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Stylish. Conveniently located and great service ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel. Why? For starters they give you a phone with 3G service whilst you are in HK. Not only that you can use this phone to make FREE phone calls to over 7 countries which included Singapore where we are from. They have docking stations for your iPhone and have free bottles water unlike other hotels that charge you an arm and a leg. Free Wi-fi which I loved... Have to stay here if in HK

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    504
    176
    54
    29
See reviews for
86
322
121
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Margaret River, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The room was only large enough for the bed plus a little extra each side. I had problems with wifi and even had to sign a form to allow me to open the windows. Very hefty price tag for such a small room. If the price was good I would stay again though, good location and my room actually captured sunlight which was nice to wake up to. And even with the window waiver it's one of the few Hong Kong hotels that has opening windows.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We (husband and 20 yr old daughter) found the location perfect. There were so many trendy shops and restaurants within walking distance, we didn't eat at the hotel. The rooms were not large, but well appointed. We didn't expect a large room in the center of Hong Kong anyway. The amenities in the bathroom were good. We were especially happy with the free WiFi in the room and the very handy complimentary phone. There's a 24 hour gym, but we all felt like we had a full workout walking up and down the hills! We will stay again on our next trip

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJS1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

An average hotel (I would give 3 star) but highly inflated (applicable to all Hong Kong hotels i guess), but, I ended feeling that it was pretty expensive.
Location, Services and room are average.
The most positive thing (pretty good in fact) is the fact that every room are provided with a mobile phone with Internet acess that you can take outside (good for reservations, access to maps, among other stuff).
We have experienced some noise of other guests arriving at 5am and 6am for half-hour or more for 3 nights in a row.
Worst of all, I, mistankely, have made two consequently resevations for the same dates trought booking.com, and the Hotel denied to cancel one of them without any penalization cost. I was shocked with this policy, as it is a clearly bad faith of the hotel. Unfotunately, as I cannot cancelled the two resevation and had to proceed with onte of them.
An hotel that use this type of politics does not respect their clients, as so, I recommend to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francisco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanKwaiFongHotel, Manager at Lan Kwai Fong Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Francisco S,

Thank you for your valuable comment. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the handy mobile service which provides free IDD calls to 5 countries and also 3G mobile internet access.

Regarding the duplicate booking, as it was found upon your check in, while our cancellation policy is 3 days prior to arrival, therefore we had been holding the room for you since your reservation and we are not able to sell to other guests on the same day.

Thank you for your understanding on this matter and please contact us directly for your future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed her for three nights in a costly high level harbour view room.The rooms are extremely small with minute bathrooms. The view was towards the harbour into buildings.The hotel is badly marked and difficult to locate.I had dinner in the sub let Chinese restaurant which served no alcohol and despite its claimed Michelain star rating offered only passable food.The same location is where breakfast is served.It was poor with a clumsy buffet.Fried eggs on demand but the bacon from the buffet looked awful and I did not go back for the next two breakfasts.This is an example of what can be very ordinary in Hong Kong where generally hotels are outstanding and well priced. I would NEVER go back here even if it was free!

Room Tip: Do not go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanKwaiFongHotel, Manager at Lan Kwai Fong Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Christopher,

Thank you for your valuable comment. We are sorry to know that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. Our standard room starts from 19sqm, please consider our Deluxe Room and Suites for future visits. Our suites are equipped with private balcony which overlook the spectacular view of the city and illuminated at night.

Our buffet breakfast served with Chinese and Western choices and both hot and cold items. Thank you for your comment about our breakfast, we will definitely look into that.

Our hotel is not located on the main street but at a very convenient location between Central and Sheung Wan. Guests may reach premier offices, international banks, Lan Kwai Fong, SoHo, designer shops, IFC and Landmark within 10 minutes, perfect for business and leisure stays.

Thank you for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Chose this hotel for its location close to the Macau Ferry terminal...only a 10min. walk...and readily available airport transport. Unfortunately we arrived around noon in a very restricted reception area. Staff tried their very best to cope on a busy Saturday.
Found the Saturday day rate very expensive at nearly HKD2000 with no breakfast included but the Sunday rate was more reasonable averaging out the expense.
Room(1306) was clean and spacious with a distinct Chinese decor. The air-conditioning was very efficient but rather noisy. My partner was disappointed with the local shopping after comparison with the Causeway Bay area.

Room Tip: Try to avoid 12noon check in/out chaos in reception area....especially on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanKwaiFongHotel, Manager at Lan Kwai Fong Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Max J,

Thank you for your valuable comment. Saturday noon time is usually quite busy with both check in and check out. Please accept our apology for that.

Around our hotel, there are more than 100 local designers in the trendiest PMQ and also some well-known local fashion designer boutique e.g. Vera Wang, Walter Ma, Cecilia Yau, William Tang, Paul Lau etc. (just 2 minutes away)

If you prefer international brands, you may try IFC and Landmark, or along Queen's Road Central.

Hope you have time to discover more interesting shopping around our hotel on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

It is hard to find such a quiet hotel in Central, it's near the CBD and I can get to office by 5-10 min walking. Visitors have many dining choices around. The trasport to the airport is not far away. BTW, it is easy to grab a cab here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanKwaiFongHotel, Manager at Lan Kwai Fong Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Clark,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hotel is at a very convenient location, close to MTR, Airport Express Hong Kong Station and also Macau Ferry Terminal. It is an easy walking distance to the premier offices and international banks in Central and Sheung Wan.

Hotel is close to SoHo and Lan Kwai Fong and with many dining options around. We also provide free WIFI and handy smart phone with free IDD calls to UK, US, Australia, China and Singapore, also unlimited 3G mobile internet access which the guests can enjoy the convenience to travel around Hong Kong.

Hope to have you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#30 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Central
Hotel LKF By Rhombus
Hotel LKF By Rhombus
#165 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#18 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#96 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lan Kwai Fong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lan Kwai Fong Hotel

Property: Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
Address: No.3 Kau U Fong, Central, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#79 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#98 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lan Kwai Fong Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awards winning boutique hotel in Central near the trendy dining and nightlife area of SoHo and Lan Kwai Fong, close to MTR & Macau Ferry Terminal, within walking distance to premier offices and designers shopping. Rooms with oriental décor, free WIFI and mobile for free IDD calls to 7 countries. BreeZe Lounge provides complimentary coffee and tea with snacks throughout the day and happy hour with free house wine at 5-8pm daily. Guests can enjoy privilege in neighbourhood shops and restaurants e.g. D-mop, Y-3, Vivienne Tam, Momotaro, Sohofama, b yourself cafe etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotelopia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lan Kwai Fong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lan Kwai Fong
Lan Kwai Fong Hong Kong
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing