We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good for a Novotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Citygate Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Ranked #54 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
112 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very good for a Novotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

Stayed in this hotel for one night as was only transitting through Hong Kong. It really didn't feel like a Novotel. Free airport shuttle bus runs every 15 minutes. Stayed on executive floors and had an enormous suite with jacuzzi bath and view of the airport. Price is very reasonable. Only let down is that it is a busy hotel and there aren't enough staff to look after all the guests.

Local area is quite interesting as the cable car to the Golden Buddha is just around the corner. The hotel has direct access to the Citygate Outlet Shopping Mall. Access to the centre of Hong Kong is quite easy by MTR or by Airport Express train.

All in all quite a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babylon1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,857
    1,469
    341
    61
    36
See reviews for
1,082
1,058
489
799
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Check in was surprisingly fast and we were allowed early check in. Location was perfect as we intended to visit Disneyland the next day, it was only one stop away via MTR. It also helped that the hotel is right beside the Citygate Mall and MTR station so it was always just an easy walk for any shopping and dining needs.

The hotel was clean and seemed new - from the carpet to the linens and the bathroom fixtures. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in April. We had previously stayed in 2009 on an overnight stopover between Cathay Pacific flights and were impressed. The Novotel Citygate makes a very good base to see Hong Kong as it is only about 30 minutes by train from Kowloon and Central. We had a room on the 15th floor overlooking the hills of Lantau Island which was peaceful and quiet. By being near the airport and using the hotel's shuttle bus, we avoided a long journey with luggage to a city hotel. Being able to check in online for our onward flight and print our boarding passes was useful. The buffet breakfast was good. The shower, toilet and vanity unit arrangements are a bit different to having them together in a separate bathroom but we didn't mind except to be careful as the floor tiles outside the shower door are very slippery if they get wet.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citizentraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

We stayed here on a stopover on the way to Beijing.
Good hotel - handy to airport and big bonus of being connected to the outlet mall.......
Also 2 mins walk to the cable car up to the big buddha, and well worth every penny. Fantastic views and 25 min ride in cable car right to the main area of big buddha.
Room was nice - but very weird bathroom set up. Most asian hotels I have been to have glass widow between bedroom and bathroom with blind - curtain - frosting etc.
Although the shower and toilet door were frosted once you step out of the shower you are basically in the bedroom with the hand basin open to the rest of the room........bit weird.
Overall good stop over hotel for a day or two and handy to airport with free shuttle.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hangar2jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

This stay was ruined in the end by a fiasco involving the hotel shuttle bus. Before that, the stay was generally OK, nothing special. Staff never smiled. When you think there are still so many people out of work, and here you have staff who don't smile, you wonder if they should be replaced by someone who would love to have their jobs?
The hotel brags about having a shuttle every 15 mins. When I tried to board a shuttle with an air crew, I was denied boarding. There was no sign on the shuttle that said it was only for air crew. I ended having to wait 30 mins. Suppose I was in a rush to catch a flight? What were they afraid of? I wouldn't be talking to the air crew. Another thing, I would like to suggest that whenever they run a shuttle, the driver or another staffer should announce "airport shuttle" because it was like everyone was sitting, waiting for a shuttle and no one knew if it was the one. In my experience with hotel shuttles in other countries, it is common for the driver to holler "airport shuttle" or "going to airport" loudly. It's almost like the hotel does not want anyone to know they have an airport shuttle.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hydepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCitygate, General Manager at Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Dear valued guest

We appreciate your feedback and suggestions relating to our airport shuttle service.

The hotel does indeed provide a shuttle service at 15-minute intervals from 6:00am to 11:45pm. In addition to this service we do have an exclusive service for transferring airline crew, and they are exclusive to these crew members for security purposes. We apologise for the confusion caused here and we will re-look at the size of existing signage to avoid any reoccurrence.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Citygate.

Yours sincerely
Rod Munro
Novotel Citygate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed here after arriving from Australia to go on cruise. We had a room on very low floor but it was extremely quiet and comfortable. The breakfast buffet which was included in our rate was great value and of a high standard.The hotel pool and gardens looked lovely, although the weather was quite wet and cool while we were there.
The hotel is in Tung Chung, only a few kilometres from the airport, but it is a only a short and vey inexpensive train ride away from Kowloon and Hong Kong Island. The MTR train station is nearby and the trains are very easy to use (there ar instructions and announcements both in Cantonese and English). There is also a mall near the hotel with a great food court which we used during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrietah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Airport
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Airport
Regal Airport Hotel
Regal Airport Hotel
#101 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,272 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#29 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,520 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Citygate Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Citygate Hong Kong

Property: Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Address: No.51 Man Tung Road, Tung Chung, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Airport , Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Citygate Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only airport hotel in Hong Kong with city convenience, Novotel Hong Kong Citygate is just 5 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport and AsiaWorld-Expo. With direct access to MTR, it takes only 30 minutes to the city centre and Hong Kong Disneyland is 2 stops away. Enjoy spectacular views from the Ngong Ping Cable Car and discover bargain shopping at Citygate Outlets, both are at the doorstep. Features meeting facilities, two restaurants, a bar, a 24-hour gym and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Novotel Citygate Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Accor Hong Kong
Novotel Hong Kong Airport
Hong Kong Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing