We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for airport but average quality and not great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Ranked #55 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed for one night on a 24 hour stopover. We were encourage to pay to upgrade to a 'better' premier club room but apart from the 4pm checkout there was limited benefit. Located on the 20th floor, the lift foyer and hallways had a strong damp stench that permeated into our room. The room was small and the furnishings had seen better days. Apart from the airport convenience, there is no reason to stay here, you can find much better in the city. Reasonable quality gym and standard chain hotel buffet breakfast. Was hard to find concierge or porterage staff if you needed them.

Room Tip: Avoid level 20 until they deal with the smell.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenniferck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for your recent stay and for your valuable feedback.

Your comments will be shared with our team as they are important for us to continuously improve our services.

Please accept our sincere apologies if your stay did not live up to your expectations.

We are sorry to hear that you did not find the level of benefits in our Premier Floor Rooms beneficial; we do feel that most guests do enjoy the host of inclusions on offer: Daily Buffet Breakfast in Essence Restaurant; Afternoon tea and evening cocktails in the Executive Premier Lounge; Personalized express check-in & check-out services at Executive Premier Lounge; Late check-out till 4pm (subject to availability); Daily newspaper of choice; Free use of Executive Premier Floor meeting room for two hours daily; Free use of computer and internet service at Executive Premier Lounge; Complimentary unlimited wired and wireless broadband Internet access; Complimentary in-coming fax and local out-going fax services; Complimentary two bottles of water daily; Complimentary pressing service for two pieces per stay & Complimentary local calls.

We are sorry to hear that you found our rooms to be small, they are 28 square meters; which is considered normal within Hong Kong; however we do have Suites available if a larger room is required.

Your comment regarding the damp smell in the corridor that your room was located is most disturbing; we are currently in the process of rectifying this situation immediately. This is a common challenge in Hong Kong during the Summer and humid months, however our constant monitoring and diligence is essential and our apologies for not being more vigilant in this regard.

Once again our sincere thanks for taking the time to let us know of your recent stay with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,046)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,307 - 2,313 of 4,046 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

We arrived after travelling for 12 hours with 2 very young children and selected the Novotel Citygate for its proximity to the airport. Unfortunately our check in didn’t go as smoothly as planned. There was no porter to assist us with our bags so we struggled through the revolving door with our luggage, two children and a pram before a member of reception saw us and came to assist.

I had booked two interconnecting rooms and a cot for our baby. Upon reaching our rooms the interconnecting doors were locked and there was no cot. We also noticed that the rooms were smoking rooms despite me requesting non smoking rooms when I booked about 6 months prior. By this stage it was after midnight and we really just wanted to get the kids to bed. Our luggage still hadn’t arrived so another phone call to reception asking about them and was told that they had forgotten but that they would send them up soon.

The rooms were compact but well appointed and what you would expect from a Novotel room. We had the buffet breakfast and it was nothing to get excited about. Access to the shopping outlet was easy from the hotel. We took the shuttle bus back to the airport and this was very easy and useful.

To be fair to the hotel when I gave some feedback about our check in experience to the Duty Manager he did extend our check out to later in the day to coincide with our next flight time which was much appreciated.

Would begrudgingly head back to this hotel and then only if we had a very short transit as it is handy to the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTWED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the unfortunate start to your stay with us; first impressions are often lasting ones and we do sincerely hope that your initial disappointments do not mar your overall opinion.

The poor service provided by concierge; not immediately assisting with your bags upon arrival and the unfortunate delay in delivering the luggage to your room is not acceptable ; please accept our sincere apologies and rest assured that we will be highlighting this feedback to the team in an effort to improve.

Please also accept our apologies for assigning a smoking interconnecting room, when your preference was clearly for a non-smoking room as well as our inability to provide a Baby Cot in the room prior to your arrival as requested; there is certainly room for improvement.

We are pleased to see that members of our team were able to provide some service recovery when they interacted with you and we hope that this may give you the confidence to give us another opportunity in the future.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This hotel is well placed if you are in transit. A very good complimentary bus connection. Most efficient staff who respond quickly to your need and their English is sound although they can confuse the subtleties of the language. The rooms are spotlessly clean and everything works. Highly reccommended

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Experienceseeker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I got stuck in HK doing a visa run and booked here last minute. It's pretty pricey for not being remotely near the city. But it did come in handy that it was connected to the mall/outlet center so I could buy amenities/clothes I didn't pack. Buffet breakfast was pretty average, but I think I'm spoiled living in Shanghai where hotel buffets are pretty awesome. I gave cleanliness a 3 star cause the tv remote was sticky and dirty and I had to purell it. Also, I am all about greenifying the planet, but for 2000hkd/night (and no brekky), you'd expect more bathroom amenities than 2 bottles. (shampoo and shower gel).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank allabouttravel086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor , it is very much appreciated.

At Novotel Citygate Hong Kong we do offer a daily dynamic pricing system, which is based on basic demand and supply principles and ensures that we remain competitive within the Hong Kong market.

We do apologize for the cleanliness issue noted in the room; a "sticky, dirty" remote control is not acceptable, and we have already raised our concern with the department head for immediate improvement.

We do have a room standard for bathroom amenities; however would be delighted to provide additional replacements as and when demanded by our guests; please let us know on your next visit if this is required.

Thank you once again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Novotel Citygate Hong Kong in the future.

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I arrived after a long flight to be greeted by a helpful bus driver and even more helpful reception staff once I got to the hotel. An excellent room supported by good service during my stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 97rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Novotel Citygate is one of the best hotel to stay if you want to visit Disneyland and Ngong Ping 360 which are two of the most great attraction in Hong Kong. Plus you can have great shopping in Citygate Mall.

Will stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Ok, for a stay over hotel close to the airport. Its part of a residential shopping center so very busy, but very convenient to the airport. The train station is on the rear side which gets you strait into the city.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the airport. Good views over the bay. If your on the other side you end up staring...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flatwhitecoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Airport
Regal Airport Hotel
Regal Airport Hotel
#102 of 721 in Hong Kong
4,700 reviews
Airport
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,965 reviews
Disneyland
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
#93 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Citygate Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Citygate Hong Kong

Address: No.51 Man Tung Road, Tung Chung, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Airport , Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#51 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £101 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Citygate Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only airport hotel in Hong Kong with city convenience, Novotel Hong Kong Citygate is just 5 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport and AsiaWorld-Expo. With direct access to MTR, it takes only 30 minutes to the city centre and Hong Kong Disneyland is 2 stops away. Enjoy spectacular views from the Ngong Ping Cable Car and discover bargain shopping at Citygate Outlets, both are at the doorstep. Features meeting facilities, two restaurants, a bar, a 24-hour gym and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Citygate Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Accor Hong Kong
Novotel Hong Kong Airport
Hong Kong Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing