We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A short and pleasant stay in Novotel Citygate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Ranked #55 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
1 review
“A short and pleasant stay in Novotel Citygate”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The location is perfect, connecting to CityGate Outlet and close to Disneyland. A good choice for a short family stay. The bathroom is tiny without bathtub, so a little inconvenient with baby. But the room itself is very clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,905
    1,507
    353
    63
    37
See reviews for
1,109
1,093
501
817
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here with a friend for one night in Oct 2013. Chose this hotel because of its close proximity to the airport because we arrived from a very late flight.

We arrived at the hotel at about 1am and were greeted by a friendly Bellhop and the Front Desk agents. Check- in was efficient and they helped me sign up for the Accor membership so that we could get free Wi-fi in the room.

Got a nice room on a high floor overlooking the pool and the mountains. Had a nice welcome message on the TV. The free wi-fi worked splendidly. All amenities and facilities in the room was luxurious and very new. Ipod dock, flat screen TV, bathtub etc.

The most exciting part of this stay was being locked out not from the room but the bathroom! The door couldn't be locked from inside. However, we closed it from the outside and it just locked shut! It had a little slip where we could put a large coin in to try to open it however, it wouldn't budge. Had to call an engineer up to the room at 2am. That wasn't fun. He came in all ready with a pair of pliers. Looking at the slip again, it looked like it had marks from being pried opened multiple times. To confirm this, the engineer mentioned that this is not the first case of guests being locked out of the bathroom that he has attended too. The management should really have a look at this issue.

Location wise, it's right next to Tung Chung MTR station and the Citygate Outlets. If your trip involves just attractions around this area, Disneyland, the Big Buddha etc. then this would be the perfect location however, not for anything else close to the main city.

Overall, wished we had more time to use the facilities and enjoy the beautiful room (without the lock issue). Will recommend to others.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yanwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCitygate, General Manager at Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Yanwan,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Novotel Citygate and also for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us.

I am delighted to learn that the Front Office staff gave you a warm welcome at your very late arrival and that you were also able to take advantage of the great benefits now on offer for Le Club members.

Thank you so much for letting us know of the trouble you had with the bathroom door; my sincere apologies and we will certainly follow up to see how we can eliminate this happening in the future.

I hope your next visit will involve a longer stay so you may be able to enjoy all the facilities we have to offer.

I look forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely

Nicholas Cullum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Very nice hotel. Got a great 'Executive' room, with a fantastic view of the mountains, sea and the cable car. Room and hotel is very clean and well-maintained, and all staff is friendly and courteous. Food at the restaurants is quite good too, including the breakfast. Connection to the Citygate shopping mall is an added bonus, especially if you're a couple. Its got shopping, cafes, dining and a huge supermarket with a dizzying variety of wines and beers.

The airport is less than 10 minutes away by the free shuttle that leaves to and back every 15 minutes.

The hotel's also right next to the cable car that takes you to the Big Budha and other sites. But I was disappointed to miss out because of the really long queue when I got there. I had just a few hours on hand and that might not have been enough. Surprising because it was a Monday. There was another fast queue, but that was reserved for people with pre-purchased tickets from travel agencies.

Overall, had a very plesant stay.

Room Tip: Higher floor with the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris_KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Another enjoyable stay at this hotel which is ideal for its location by the airport. The executive floor has excellent customer service, good facilities and is welcoming after a long flight. The rooms are always spotless and well equipped, the staff are attentive without being smothering. Buffet breakfast has plenty of choice and has good quality food.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank r_shar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

The room is nice & clean with good view. The hotel is linked up with Shopping outlet but I still find the walk to Tung Chung station a bit far. The reception is slow and the concierge is not very friendly in my opinion. The good thing is the shuttle bus to the airport. That's all.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunesis_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCitygate, General Manager at Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear sunesis_82,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback of your most recent stay at Novotel Citygate.

I am very happy to learn of your positive review of the hotel's location and the room facilities. Tung Chung MTR station is only a five minute walk through Hong Kong's only outlet Mall, Citygate Outlets, which as you stated is connected directly to the hotel.

I will certainly share your feedback with our Front Office Manager to ensure our Front Office team is always approachable and ready and able to provide the high level of service expected by our customers.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Citygate on your future trips to Hong Kong.

Kind regards,

Nicholas Cullum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Other reviewers have explained about the convenience, the airport shuttle, the location near a decent shopping mall, all of which are excellent reasons to choose this hotel. If visiting a trade show at the nearby Asiaworld Expo, do NOT take the MTR metro. The journey would take 42 minutes, and it would involve going in the wrong direction to Tsing Yi, then connecting to the airport express. Cost is HK$ 60. Instead, take the hotel's airport shuttle bus (free), and then take the 1 minute Airport Express to Asiaworld. Cost is HK$ 50 but it takes half the time.
Staff in this hotel are always really friendly, helpful and courteous. Food in the buffet is good value, but the menu is pretty much the same most nights, so if you are staying for a few nights, try the Italian restaurant option instead. Good value too. The mall also has several dining options, though these are more of the fast food variety (MacDonalds, Spagetti House etc)
Definitely a hotel I would use again. Only slight downside is that the convenience to the airport means it is a little far from Hong Kong (about 40 mins by MTR). But against that, it is close to Disney World and the cable car to the Big Buddah.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nothingbutthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Airport
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Airport
Regal Airport Hotel
Regal Airport Hotel
#106 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,429 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,712 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#78 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Citygate Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Citygate Hong Kong

Property: Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Address: No.51 Man Tung Road, Tung Chung, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Airport , Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#51 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Citygate Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only airport hotel in Hong Kong with city convenience, Novotel Hong Kong Citygate is just 5 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport and AsiaWorld-Expo. With direct access to MTR, it takes only 30 minutes to the city centre and Hong Kong Disneyland is 2 stops away. Enjoy spectacular views from the Ngong Ping Cable Car and discover bargain shopping at Citygate Outlets, both are at the doorstep. Features meeting facilities, two restaurants, a bar, a 24-hour gym and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Novotel Citygate Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Accor Hong Kong
Novotel Hong Kong Airport
Hong Kong Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing