We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient for the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Ranked #57 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I am just completing a week-long stay here and for the most part things have been ok. My room on the 11th. Floor is clean and comfortable but looking a little old.
When it comes to food and drink things are not quite so good.
Breakfasts are fine, excellent in fact. The food I had delivered as room service was not.
The Italian Panini is one of the meanest, most miserable sandwiches I have ever had anywhere.
The Breakfast Burger was generous but what a peculiar taste. Not nice at all.
Same with the Texas BBQ pizza which arrived looking like an over-sized burnt crisp piece of cardboard covered in totally unidentifiable incinerated pieces of junk. It's "flavour" once you had gotten past the carbon was just awful. It was a larger version of the "nan bread" which came, at ridiculous (HK$40) cost to accompany the Madras Fat and Gristle Curry.
Eventually I just gave up and are elsewhere.
The Lobby Bar is one of the most unwelcoming I have ever been in. The two staff in black uniforms were fine, the other girl was a total misery and the hotels idea of "Happy Hour" is equally miserable. Stay here and relax but eat and drink anywhere else once breakfast is over.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xmroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCitygate, Manager at Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Xmroots,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. I am pleased to learn that your stay was comfortable and that you enjoyed your room and the convenient location being so close to the airport. I am also pleased to learn that you found the breakfast to be excellent during your week in the hotel. I am however, disappointed to learn that the room service you ordered did not meet your expectations. I thank you for your feedback which I have shared with both the Food & Beverage Manager and the Executive Chef to enable them to make improvements from your comments.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Hong Kong.

Kind regards,

Luke Harris
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,045)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,573 - 1,579 of 4,045 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank jume07
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 May 2014

here's the letter I sent to hotel just now... nothing else to add...

Dear Sirs, I decided for the first time to stay at Novotel hotel chain on the layover in Hong Kong. I was extremly dissapointed. Arrived at 21 pm, reception took about 20 minutes to find my reservation and check me in, even I have a platinum status there was no recognition. They couldn't find my accor number number attached to reservation. No upgrade, no lounge access, no breakfast. Room I was aloctaed to was WET literraly - wet bathrobe, wet towels, even wet bed. Room service food I ordered was very bad quality too + absolutely tasteless. Looks like I will be also charged for internet use which should be free for platinum guest. Next time I stay at Marriott - I saw it from the shuttle bus window and it was closer to airport then this hotel. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FedyaInMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCitygate, General Manager at Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear FedyaInMoscow

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Novotel Citygate, Hong Kong.

I am extremely disturbed and disappointed to learn of your experience and your overall impression of the hotel and I sincerely apologize if we failed to meet your expectations in several areas.

Accor’s loyalty program Le Club, is a very important program for us and we value and respect all Le Club guests who choose to stay with Accor and its hotels.

A Le Club member who books on Accor’s website or Novotel or associated Accor brand website directly is eligible to enjoy the benefits associated with their member status.

A Platinum member is able to enjoy Lounge access to the Premier Floor Lounge, regardless of the room type booked; as well as a room upgrade subject to availability at the time of check in; all Le Club members are also entitled to complimentary internet access.

Once again these benefits are only available if you book directly with the hotel or on Accor’s websites. Le Club members booking through other booking channels or online travel agencies, regardless of their status are not entitled to the associated benefits at hotels.

Unfortunately we are unable to locate any record of your complaint in regards to your check in issues, room service feedback or room problems. If you would be so kind as to contact the hotel directly though our website we would be delighted to check on your eligibility and process any rebate of charges if they have been incorrectly processed.

Once again, my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations and thank you for bringing this very important feedback to me, and I do hope that you give us the opportunity to accommodate you when you are next in Hong Kong.

Yours sincerely

Nicholas Cullum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Spacious and clean room. Free wifi on premier floor room is so great. The shuttle to and from hotel to the airport is so convenient. Food in the coffee shop is so good with all varieties, servic was great and attentive.

Best choice for short stay in HongKong.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1955Joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

A very pleasant and hospitable staff to brighten up your stay. Transportation to the city and touring is just around the corner. They also have an excellent menu for dining and connected to the shopping mall for your convenience. Novotel Citygate is eveything you would expect from a five star hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burt24_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Stated here 24hours in transit and highly recommend. Nice clean, modern and comfortable room, great view if ocean and lovely and helpful staff ... Also Connected to a large shopping mall with good food options & perfect spot to do the Big Buddha.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank ammaus n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Airport
Regal Airport Hotel
Regal Airport Hotel
#102 of 721 in Hong Kong
4,698 reviews
Airport
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,961 reviews
Disneyland
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
#91 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Citygate Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Citygate Hong Kong

Address: No.51 Man Tung Road, Tung Chung, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Airport , Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £100 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Citygate Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only airport hotel in Hong Kong with city convenience, Novotel Hong Kong Citygate is just 5 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport and AsiaWorld-Expo. With direct access to MTR, it takes only 30 minutes to the city centre and Hong Kong Disneyland is 2 stops away. Enjoy spectacular views from the Ngong Ping Cable Car and discover bargain shopping at Citygate Outlets, both are at the doorstep. Features meeting facilities, two restaurants, a bar, a 24-hour gym and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Citygate Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Accor Hong Kong
Novotel Hong Kong Airport
Hong Kong Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing