We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Ranked #54 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

3,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,912
    1,507
    353
    63
    37
See reviews for
1,111
1,095
502
819
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here for 1 night due to a change to the date of one of our flights. It really is a great stopover hotel. Right next to the Lantau island cable car, a bit shopping mall and an MTR station which can get you into central Hong Kong in 30 minutes. The offer buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as ala carte restaurants. Check in and check out were quick and easy and our room was nice.

A nice touch was sending chocolate covered strawberry up to our room as we were on Honeymoon. We didn't expect this staying just one night at an airport hotel.

The negative for us was the damp smell and feel to our room. It meant we didn't sleep to well. This was probably just a one off a/c problem so I'd still recommend this property to anyone doing a short stop.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stereophanatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCitygate, General Manager at Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Stereophanatis

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent visit to Hong Kong and your stay at Novotel Citygate.

Congratulations on your wedding and I am happy that we were able to delight and surprise you with a small amenity to recognize this.

I am delighted to hear that you found our location, front office staff and our food & beverage offerings to be favourable.

I do apologize if there was an issue with your air conditioning system that was in any way detrimental to your room comfort; we have been experiencing a very humid summer this year, however the air conditioning is designed to combat the effects of the dampness. Please let us know should there be any issues affecting your stay for future visits so we may have the opportunity to rectify the situation and ensure your stay is an enjoyable one.

Yours sincerely

Nicholas Cullum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Sorry about the lengthy time before writing this review as we stayed in Sept 2013, but very nice experience, friendly and helpful staff, good food, would stay again. The area is fine for an airport hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emteecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

During a conference being held at the Asia World Expo the Novotel Citygate was a excellent option for myself. It is about 10-15 min by shuttle from the Airport and/or the Exhibition center yet is conveniently located in the center of a residential area directly above a large outlet mall.

The outlet shopping area is attached and easily accessible with various restaurants available from fastfood (McD's) to sit down restaurants. Just outside there are also several local restaurants in the terrace mall.

The hotel itself is very modern with most amenities you could need, and the room is larger than most options in Hong Kong, possibly cause we are far out of the city. Which is a note, if you plan on going into the city for night life activities i.e. LKF or Wan Chai, and you want to come back after midnight, your only option is Taxi which will be in the upward of HK$300 and gets pricey quickly.

The Gym is very modern and is open 24 hours - an excellent escape if you are jet lagged and need to burn off some energy at 2am in the morning. The equipment was all new - the treadmills had personal TV's and was equipped with a e-couch to help monitor your heart rate.

The breakfast was also very good - large selection of chinese, american and international foods are available, they don't alter the food much so if you are there for over a week like myself i looked for other options in the mall and outside on the streets. But the first 3 days it is excellent than can get a bit old - of course i can't see how a hotel could have a wide selection and vary it daily so not a complaint on my part.

The rooms are very quiet, and as it is located in a residential area - there is no hustle or bustling sounds of the roads or cars like most other hotels in Hong Kong.

The price is a bit high but overall i think it is worth it for the facilities and amenities that is provided. As well as the convenient location. The free shuttle bus to and from the airport is also a bonus running about every 20 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbigote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We decided a weekend away shopping and swimming would be just the ticket, and the Novotel Citygate was our choice. A what a brilliant choice it was!. With with the hotel connected to Citygate Outlets, we spent the morning shopping, the afternoon swimming and the evening eating. Great to get away from the hustle and bustle of downtown HK.

Don't forget to try the Italian restaurant. The food and service is 5 star all the way.

Room Tip: If travelling with kids, try the 50% for second room option. The interconnect rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The reason to select this hotel, of course, is because one is transiting at HKG. It's not cheap and is probably more than what most weary travelers need.

The rooms are huge--by HK standards--and equipped with all kinds of gadgets. But, it's "over-designed": The bathroom has 2 sliding panels, so, should you want to, you roommates can watch while you use the facilities. As a result of all this frou-frou, it's not cheap.

No one working or visiting HK would want to choose this location: It would mean a ride back to the airport to take the Express train, which would get expensive. It is, as advertised, a 15 minute ride away from the airport, it's not truly an "airport hotel".

While the front desk were cheerful and welcoming on a busy night, the shuttle bus left much to be desired--the hotel sent over a standard minibus with no luggage space or racks. OK, let's assume the big bus was in for repairs. But the driver played out "Oh, my! I've never seen passengers with luggage before! How are we going to do this?" Heavy suitcases were piled on seats and in the aisles and then we had to climb over. On the return the next day, the large tour bus was sitting there (presumably for a group) with its trunk open, but once again, we were directed to the minibus. For the price point, quite an annoyance.

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty much identical, though of course higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCitygate, General Manager at Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear David R

It is very much appreciated that you have taken the time to write about your recent stay with us at Novotel Citygate Hong Kong.

It is wonderful to learn that you found the size of our rooms to be “Huge” by Hong Kong standards; they are in fact on average 28 square meters and are ergonomically designed to make use of the available space.

We do have two types of bathrooms in the hotel; the more traditional enclosed bathrooms with a bath and a glass wall with sliding partition as described by yourself; as well as completely open bathrooms with no walls and standing shower and toilet in enclosed glass stalls.

As you have identified we have the convenience of an Airport Hotel with the connectivity of a city location. The hotel is an approximate 5-10 minute bus ride from HK International Airport located in Tung Chung. The hotel is connected to Hong Kong’s only “outlet” shopping mall which is built above the HK underground train system the MTR, connecting Kowloon and HK Central station within 25 & 27 minutes respectively. There is no need whatsoever to go back to the airport to access downtown HK as you have indicated; direct bus service also connects Tung Chung to all parts of the city. The hotel is also only two stops away from Hong Kong Disneyland, via the MTR, which again makes the hotel a very popular location for many guests.

As you have identified, the hotel does offer complimentary airport-hotel transfers every 15 minutes from Terminal 2 to the hotel and back from 6am-11:45pm. We do have 24 seat shuttle buses for this service, that do have an area set aside for luggage; I do apologize that in the last week we have had some mechanical issues with one of these buses and a temporary bus used to continue this service does not have a luggage area. Once again I do apologize if this caused you any inconvenience during your transfer process.

The large tour buses you are referring to are used exclusively for the many airline crews that stay in the hotel; these buses are not used for the daily shuttle services for our guests.

I would like to once again thank you very much for sharing your feedback with the readers of TripAdvisor and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Hong Kong.

Yours sincerely

Nicholas Cullum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Airport
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Airport
Regal Airport Hotel
Regal Airport Hotel
#103 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,444 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,722 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Citygate Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Citygate Hong Kong

Property: Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Address: No.51 Man Tung Road, Tung Chung, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Airport , Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Citygate Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only airport hotel in Hong Kong with city convenience, Novotel Hong Kong Citygate is just 5 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport and AsiaWorld-Expo. With direct access to MTR, it takes only 30 minutes to the city centre and Hong Kong Disneyland is 2 stops away. Enjoy spectacular views from the Ngong Ping Cable Car and discover bargain shopping at Citygate Outlets, both are at the doorstep. Features meeting facilities, two restaurants, a bar, a 24-hour gym and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Novotel Citygate Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Accor Hong Kong
Novotel Hong Kong Airport
Hong Kong Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing