We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$268
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$353
US$290
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Conrad Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$404
US$353
Conrad
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$240
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$235
US$189
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Royal Garden(Hong Kong)
US$221
US$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Langham, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$319
US$266
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Panda Hotel(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal View Hotel(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,333)
Filter reviews
4,333 results
Traveller rating
2,161
1,673
381
71
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,161
1,673
381
71
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscable carclose to the airportoutlet mallbig buddhafree shuttlelantau islandngong pingtung chungcity gateairport hotelpremier loungeminutes from the airportshopping centrebetween flightsan early flightmtr stationexecutive floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,728 - 1,733 of 4,333 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel for an overnight stay after a long haul flight. The rooms were excellent and the view of Lantau was lovely from the window. We ate in the restaurant on our first night because we were tired and hungry from our flight and it was reasonably priced considering the high standard of the food. It was handy to be right next to the Citygate mall outlet and we picked up some bargains in time for our flight the next day. The location is also very close to the cable car for the Big Buddha, but unfortunately the cable car was not working due to maintenance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank FranBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We paid extra to stay on the Executive levels and I think it was well worth the extra price. The room was lovely with very nice views, comfortable bed and good bathroom facilities. It was spotlessly clean and I was grateful for the Nespresso machine in the room. We very much enjoyed the buffet breakfast, afternoon tea and evening drinks included in the price. The pool area was pleasant and for those not wanting to head into the city to shop, Citygate is attached to the hotel (however, we didn't find any bargains!!). If you want to explore further, there are other options close by as well as the train to take you into the city but we were content to stay at the hotel to rest before heading home.

Check in staff were fabulous as well as those serving in the dining room and on the Executive level. However, I wasn't impressed with the 2 gentlemen checking us out at 6am. They were quite rude and dismissive.

The shuttle service between the airport and hotel was efficient and pretty easy to find although I would suggest guests 'google' where to find the shuttle buses as it's not overly clear in the airport and the airport ground staff aren't that helpful.

We'll definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel for those wanting to break a long journey.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 2Babyboomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This is my third time in novotel citygate. we chose this hotel because of its location. first and second stayed was delighted but our third stayed will be our last time with novotel citygate.

hotel location is good for catch the flight or go to hk disneyland. the outlet is just outside the hotel, also lots of resturants. But our last stayed was unpleasant. The room looks old than it should be, fail to maintain, boiling water pot was dirty and a bit rusty. The room is too small for its price, we went there on normal weekend and the price up to $2800hk per night for a standard room without breakfast, we booked the room online but pay direct at the hotel, the price that we booked and the price that we paid is totally different, the front-desk answered us(with bad attitude) that because of weekend so they increased the price.

anyway, check twice about additional that you may have to pay when you arrived. Good luck.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PM_Liu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCitygate, General Manager at Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear PM_Liu

Thank you for your continued patronage of Novotel Citygate on your vacations to Hong Kong.

It is wonderful to learn that you have chosen Novotel Citygate based on its great location and easy connectivity to several destinations of interest for you and your family.

I do apologize if some of the equipment in your room showed areas of wear and tear; that is most unfortunate. I can let you know that preventative maintenance, replacement of equipment and continued upgrade of our furniture and fixtures is a constant activity we undertake, but perhaps we need to take more care in this regard.

I am sorry but I cannot comment on your feedback in regards to booking and paying charges as this is not clear in your review; what I can say is that some on line travel agents advertise rates without the service charge component and this may have given you a misleading feeling.

At Novotel Citygate and Accor we practice dynamic pricing, which simply equates to our prices changing based on demand and supply principles; if there is a strong demand for rooms in Hong Kong on a specific day, the price will be higher than when demand is low. I would strongly recommend you to join Accor’s loyalty program Le Club, which offers great promotions and discounts throughout the year to all Accor’s thousands of hotels as well as a host of benefits like free Wi-Fi when booking on Accor’s or hotel’s websites.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I do hope that you consider to stay with us again when you are next visiting Hong Kong.

Yours sincerely

Nicholas Cullum
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is just 5 min from the airport. We used their free shuttle, just ask information for the location. It's actually very easy to find. We arrived early so we asked if it is possible to use the shower while we waited for our room. And they agree right away, they gave us a voucher to use their shower at the gym. It was just 10 o'clock but after our shower, our room was ready. The room was nice and cozy. Beds comfortable enough. The room and the bathroom had no walls in between though. So it was quite awkward when we have visitors. The hotel is linked to the City-gate outlet, great bargain there for shopaholics. For transportation, the Tung Chung MTR station is just a walk away. All in all we had a great stay. Definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank FebrynaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews