We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, good location, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Ranked #54 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

3,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,912
    1,507
    353
    63
    37
See reviews for
1,111
1,095
502
819
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night to catch the flight next day to London.

The location is ideal if you are stopping by Hong Kong to catch your onward flight - it takes 5 mins (sharp) to get to/from HK international airport and free shuttle buses are handy. Because of the location we were not worried about traffic etc. We had a good night's sleep and no rush at all. We went to the airport the next day fully recharged and refreshed.

Room on 19th floor, view is good. Good sized room and clean. Furnishings are slightly worn but acceptable. It is good standard throughout for a 4-star hotel.

Hotel is attached to Citygate Outlet Shopping Complex, so there is somewhere you can wonder around for a meal, a coffee, some shopping or even a movie. It is quite casual so if you are in for serious shopping you still need to go to HK's main shopping places, not here.

Buffet etc is slightly overpriced I think, but is convenient.

Overall it is on the good side for 4-star hotels and definitely ideal for flight transfers.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JK0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I arrived at Novotel Cittygate to be pleasantly surprised by early checkin. After a sleepless night on a plane it was most welcome. The room was as I requested, quiet and non-smoking and very comfortable. The staff are the epitome of efficiency, pre-empting my checkout as I needed to catch the early shuttle from the hotel to the airport - another fantastic service. I stayed here twice in two weeks and both times I was not disappointed. I loved the food offerings in the hotel as well and would go back. Highly recommended. The fact that the hotel sits within the Citygate shopping complex is another plus. I could buy anything I needed within a short walk. I also did the Ngong Ping 360 tour on the cable car up to Giant Buddha - another review. A big shoutout to all the management staff for following up on feedback given as well. I am very impressed and would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly for its proximity to the airport, its facilities, its ease of access to the city of Hong Kong and Kowloon by public transport and taxi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view - most relaxing and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShazzaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I really can feel they are happy to serve you. I booked the hotel for my wedding banquet. The hotel help me prepared everything well, and allow my hotel room have late check out till 4 pm, let me have enough time to pack after my lunch wedding banquet. I love this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank raymondyu_db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I made a business trip to the bustling city of Hong Kong and stayed at this hotel. This place did not disappoint. The rooms are clean (albeit, a tiny bit bland), the hotel crew are efficient and helpful, the location is fantastic, as I needed to be near the airport. This is by far one of the best Novotels I have stayed in.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
386 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were not impressed with this hotel. Service, food and rooms were all average, at best. The hallways smelled of mold, which always worries me. The staff had no idea about what specials were on offer for F&B at the hotel so we skipped the restaurants and ate in the adjacent mall instead,

The only positive thing we can say about this hotel is that it is located adjacent to a decent mall with many shopping and restaurant choices including a grocery store. Good transportation to and from the Airport.

We've stayed at the Sky City Marriott on several occasions and like it way better.

WiFi was free in the lobby but you have to pay for it in the rooms. It was expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hkloban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelCitygate, General Manager at Novotel Citygate Hong Kong, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear HKloban

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Novotel Citygate and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I thank you for sharing our wonderful location with readers. Novotel Citygate is the only Airport Hotel with city convenience located 5 minutes’ drive from Hong Kong International Airport, yet connected to down town Hong Kong via the MTR in Tung Chung and Citygate Outlet Mall.

It is disappointing to hear that you were not very impressed with the service or facilities and that you found them to be average at best. Thank you for providing your feedback in regards to odor issues you found on your guest floor corridor, we will certainly pay greater attention to better control the effects of a very hot and humid summer in Hong Kong.

In regards to internet, as you mentioned free Wi-Fi is available in the Lobby and Restaurants, as well as to guests staying in our Premier Floor rooms; it is also free to all guests who join Accor’s loyalty program Le Club and book through Accor or Novotel’s website direct with the hotel.

I do hope you consider to stay with us when you are next in Hong Kong.

Yours sincerely

Nicholas Cullum
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Airport
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Airport
Regal Airport Hotel
Regal Airport Hotel
#103 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,447 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Novotel Hong Kong Nathan Road Kowloon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,722 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Citygate Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Citygate Hong Kong

Property: Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Address: No.51 Man Tung Road, Tung Chung, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Airport , Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Citygate Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only airport hotel in Hong Kong with city convenience, Novotel Hong Kong Citygate is just 5 minutes from Hong Kong International Airport and AsiaWorld-Expo. With direct access to MTR, it takes only 30 minutes to the city centre and Hong Kong Disneyland is 2 stops away. Enjoy spectacular views from the Ngong Ping Cable Car and discover bargain shopping at Citygate Outlets, both are at the doorstep. Features meeting facilities, two restaurants, a bar, a 24-hour gym and swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Novotel Citygate Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Accor Hong Kong
Novotel Hong Kong Airport
Hong Kong Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing