We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Compact but with everything you need”
Review of Alisan Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alisan Guest House
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Compact but with everything you need”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This is a great budget option for Hong Kong. The rooms are part of apartments in which there is a small kitchen area with a kettle, microwave and fridge. Although you won’t be cooking meals here it is perfect for breakfast or a snack. Everything was very clean and tidy and we found this to be a great location for exploring Hong Kong. It’s a short walk to MTR station, tram stop, supermarket, shops and restaurants. Best of all the owner of the guest house could not be more helpful and is happy to provide any information you need about the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bozo_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    33
    10
    7
    11
See reviews for
5
21
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I came to Hong Kong on a Visa run for China. Tommy and Wilson were both very helpful in getting me sorted and on my way. They were very knowledgeable about the Visa Process which is so useful.

The rooms were small (this IS Hong Kong people) but clean and well looked after. If you want a big room in Hong Kong, you have to pay big money.

The location was great too.

Even the cleaners were very friendly.

I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnJo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

As we aere traveling on a budget it was not really easy to find accomodation in HK. Alisan is hard to find, as it is on the 5th floor of a residential bulding, but eventually we found the entrance. The owner is very very friendly and helpful, and so is the staff. They attended to all our needs although it was almost midnight.

The room was a bit too basic for the price and the bathroom is tiny - but we stayed only one night and we wanted to stay in that area as we were meeting friends there the next day.

If you stay there on the weekend, be prepared to step out into crazy shopping madness when you leave the hotel in the morning!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadischka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel because it was recommended in the Lonely Planet guide. Hong Kong was our last destination after a month of travelling around the country and staying at many different hostels along China and I must say this was with out a doubt the worse place where I slept. The place was so dirty that they hadn't even changed the bed sheets in our room, the corridor smelled of fish, the pipes in the bathroom stinked and the bed was so short I didn't even fit.
In summery, extremely expensive for what you get.
In my opinion, staying in Kwoolong is worth the while if you avoid this kind of places.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polo2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

This is my 2nd time to stay at Alisan guesthouse and the two main draws are the location (right at causeway bay) and the helpfulness of the staff here. The rooms are tiny and very basic, but everything that you need if you are just sleeping in the rooms and touring during the day. They have free hot and cold water also which was nice for making tea in the morning. There is also a shared refrigerator and free internet use by the front desk. The bathrooms are asian style showers (meaning your whole bathroom is a shower stall!. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were very clean. Overall, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

I have just stayed here for 4 weeks whilst I was on a work placement. The rooms are basic and if you expect any luxury you will be disappointed. However the rate is so cheap for HK Island, the location is unbeatable. Causeway Bay is great & its only 7 mins on the MTR from central. You can probably get cheaper if you go over to Kowloon & Chungking Mansions but I would not advise staying there unless there's a group of you- you will get hassled constantly to buy a 'rolex' or 'designer bag'!

The rooms are cleaned everyday and you get fresh towel- although I would advise bringing your own (they are washed but pretty old!) They clean the room anytime of day, one day I was in my room till 4pm and they still cleaned it after that (I've worked in hotels for a number of years and rarely they will clean your room if you stay in there till late!)

The service was fantastic, I got met at excelsior and shown where to go. Any questions I had were answered efficiently. I felt confident staying there as a solo traveller. Also the building itself is very safe- security guard and cameras, 2 doors to rooms, not that you really need it as HK is so safe but it's nice to know its all there!

They do not have a kitchen but there is a microwave + fridge. I found it difficult as I was there for 1 month, but if your there for a week or so just eat out anyway its soooooo cheap!

I loved HK and I hope to return later in the year, I will stay here again! In summary alisan guest house is excellent for the price, the location and service are unbeatable and the rooms although basic are perfectly adequate. Other points were that for a basic place often internet and hot water are a bit dodgy. I had no problems with either, there was always hot water and the internet worked the whole time I was there.

if anyone has any questions about Alisan or HK in general please message me I'll be happy to help.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sammy_ali_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Extremely friendly and helpful staff! The room was incredible value for money, and the location is central to just about everything. Would recommend it to any travellers who don't want to waste money on hotels!!!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B4m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#4 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Causeway Corner
Causeway Corner
#33 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Lee Garden Guest House
Lee Garden Guest House
#27 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Comfort Hostel HK
Comfort Hostel HK
#77 of 160 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Mong Kok
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong
#12 of 160 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Jetvan Traveller's House
Jetvan Traveller's House
#55 of 247 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alisan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alisan Guest House

Property: Alisan Guest House
Address: Flat A, 5/F Hoito Court, 275 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right when you step into Hong Kong, with the jitters about your itinerary, were else can you find the peace of mind? We have been established for over 20 years. And with our impeccable commitment to detail and service why worry with other guest houses? Free Internet, air-con, refrigerator, microwave etc.. etc all the perks that are included. We are located in the heart of Hong Kong. With three different modes of public transportation right around the corner, see more for less. We can assist in all your travel destinations with our money saver travel advice. And last but not least, our motto: Cleanliness is next to Godliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Alisan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alisan Guest House Hotel Hong Kong
Alisan Guest House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing