We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Place”
Review of Alisan Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alisan Guest House
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed for 8 nights. My room was cleaned everyday. Service was good and the counter guys always smile. Stayed at the triple room. Kinda small but cosy. Enough for 3 of us to chill and eat instant noodles every night as Hot water is only like 3 meters away from my room. Wifi connection is awesome too. Unbeatable price, easy booking. Easy access to the train, Causeway bay which is 3 minutes away. Recommended place!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Khidir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

Reading previous reviews (including one mentioned in an older edition of Lonely Planet), it seems that things have gone downhill in terms of amenities. Stayed in a double twin bed room on the 4th floor, had ants that attacked my backpack. Wireless worked only briefly, then stopped working all night. Stayed in a single room the following night (which they took longer than expected to clean), which had an airconditioning that would not cool; I suspect the AC was out of coolant. Tried to have the desk help me out with the AC, but he was unable to come up with a working remedy. Internet did work this time (hence I was able to post the review). Thankfully staff are still friendly. In a great location (causeway bay) and with reasonable rates, but they need to step up their maintenance to live up to other reviews.

Room Tip: single rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

They clean the room everyday, the internet connection is good, located in causeway bay just five minute from causeway bay MTR station. surrounding by a lot of shopping center.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiaaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I've stayed here earlier this week as a solo backpacker checked in one of their single rooms.

Pros: Causeway Bay is pretty nice especially at night when all the neon lights come out. It is close to exit D1 of the MTR. Winda and the owners have been very helpful starting from the reservation up to checking out. If taking the airport express, you can opt to be dropped off and picked up from the nearby Excelsior. Price is totally unbeatable especially when I've seen similar accomodation at Chungking Mansions which cost more and are a bit dready.

Cons: Shower was hard to mix with the hot and cold controls. There was some kind of newspaper snuck in some kind of a hole where a lamp used to be which kinda ruined my reflective mood while staying at the ceiling. Tv wasnt working but they replaced it after being reported. Wifi wasnt working on my last night of stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verargulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I happened to arrive in HK airport without reservation for hotel/hostel. During the morning i came across several hotels and they scared me off eith the so called "walk in prices".
Suddenly i came across Alisan Guest House in Causeway Bay, on my small nokia phone screen with internet for this emergency.
I gave it a show and called the number. This very friendly lady picked up the phone (windr) and guided this lost tourist to ALISAN.
The Manager welcomed me very friendly, asked about my stay and offered a few rooms to serve my needs. He also managed to get me very good roomprices i didnt felt ripped off. As helpful as he was he introduced the local scene to me for easy getting around. 5 minutes of effective communication got me started my holiday with no stress.

Ok the room is small for european standards. But this is HongKong. I can say Alisan is very good located (safe, center of shopping location, 24h shops, 2 minutes walking distance MTR station) for what Alisan has to offer, the price is cheap. Friendly staff have been so helpful, that i was about to tip them.

Thanks Wilson and Winder! You know you did a good job. I enjoyed my stay. Hope to see you in my next trip to HongKong.

Room Tip: Double room will get close to paris ibis hotel quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HollandboyAmterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I will score as excellent, if the bathroom is managed well. Bathroom is too small and not separated between toilet and shower. But room is very clean, good service, safety is very good, location in causeway bay area is excellent. We stayed in a guesthouse in Mirador mansion, tsim sha shui area, it was very scarry, unsafe, and dirty. But this Alisan guest house is very much better. But to be honest, the price is a bit expensive and must pay 100% is really pain in the a... If you're with family, better to take the family room which can be occupied by 4-5 people with extra charge.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffsboxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Disgusting Rooms and Service do NOT stay there!
Hong Kong is an amazing place to travel.But having a bad experience from the start will ruin everything.
Don't be cheap..hotels are expensive in Hong Kong ,but the city worth all the money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank livefreeasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#2 of 164 in Hong Kong
609 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Rainbow Lodge Hong Kong
Rainbow Lodge Hong Kong
#13 of 164 in Hong Kong
115 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Check Inn HK
Check Inn HK
#11 of 164 in Hong Kong
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#5 of 164 in Hong Kong
421 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Apple Hostel
Apple Hostel
#18 of 164 in Hong Kong
169 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hop Inn
Hop Inn
#6 of 164 in Hong Kong
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alisan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alisan Guest House

Address: Flat A, 5/F Hoito Court, 275 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right when you step into Hong Kong, with the jitters about your itinerary, were else can you find the peace of mind? We have been established for over 20 years. And with our impeccable commitment to detail and service why worry with other guest houses? Free Internet, air-con, refrigerator, microwave etc.. etc all the perks that are included. We are located in the heart of Hong Kong. With three different modes of public transportation right around the corner, see more for less. We can assist in all your travel destinations with our money saver travel advice. And last but not least, our motto: Cleanliness is next to Godliness. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alisan Guest House Hotel Hong Kong
Alisan Guest House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing