We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HONGKONG ALISAN GUESTHOUSE”
Review of Alisan Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alisan Guest House
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Due to the former reviews, there isnt much to correct.
Sure, search the website and you will see it’s a budget place: so what do you expect, golden doorhandles, pages, sedan chairs???
And for that everything is very good.
From the airport better take the free bus H2!! Stops next to the excelsior hotel. Shorter way.
All the important administration offices are close to alisan and a MTR-station.
Tommy provides a selfmade map of the aera.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2010

I now Love Hong Kong. I spent a week there in August 2009, on my way into the PRC, and another week on the way home in November 2009, and both times I stayed at the Alisan Guest House http://www.alisanguesthouse.com. They even gave me the same room both times and let me leave some of my things there to pick up on my return trip.
It was my first time in Hong Kong, and I had a great time. A large part of that was my lucky decision to stay at the Alisan. It was easy to get to from the Airport; I just took a City Bus A11 and it brought me right there. It is located in Causeway Bay with all the shopping, both high end and bargain, that anyone could want. There is an English speaking movie theatre nearby, banks, restaurants, and all the street life I could want. It was near Victoria Park, and the great new public library. There were several churches within walking distance. Like I say, I love Hong Kong.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
1  Thank 9roche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Expect small rooms in Hong Kong, almost laughably so. At this price, it is inevitable.
But this hotel offers a brilliant location, short walk from Times Square, adjacent to Causeway.
This is a safe, safe locality, with bustling streets of small cafes & shops.

Very, very friendly & helpful staff, warm welcome.

We had a room on the harbour side with a view on 3rd floor, some road noise (Gloucester Road) and single glazing. Other rooms on 3rd floor didn't have the view, or as much road noise. If you opt for 4th floor, no harbour view but on a quiet street, or 5th floor has (some rooms) harbour view and double glazing.
I'm not making a big thigg of the road noise, this is a city which hardly sleeps, we were happy enough in our room.

Big bonus, fridge/freezer, kettle & microwave in the corridor outside the room.

Wifi ok but strongest on 4th floor, management gave us a key to access that floor to get better reception.

The Number A11 bus comes straight from the ariport to Causeway, and leaves from just near the hotel doorway to take you back again; that's the cheapest & simplest way to/from the airport. A tad slower than a train, a walk, another bus but cheaper & more interesting in daylight.

The hotel kept our bags while we waited for an evening flight, and did everything to make our stay friendly & comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttonkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We stayed here for three nights at the end of a month backpacking around China. After reading good reviews in guide books and from this site we thought it would be an OK place to stay but it just wasn't. Although the staff were quite friendly and helpful this just wasn't enough to compensate for the room. It was really clean but way too small and because it was tiled it felt like we were sleeping in a bathroom. The bathroom itself was tiny. It was a disappointing way to finish our trip and was really quite uncomfortable. As someone else suggested it is only OK if you want to leave very early and come back very late. The room was cleaned daily and the airconditioner worked which was a plus.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustraliaJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

I am an American living in China and I had to go on my first 'VISA run' to Hong Kong in June, 2009. A friend recommended that I check out the Alisan Guest House. I did and it was a welcome find!

Hong Kong is an expensive place and the Alisan Guest House is certainly 'affordable' at just $300KH per night. It is centrally located in Causeway Bay which is a great starting point for Hong Kong exploration.

But the best part of the Alisan Guest House was the extroadiary service given to me by Tommy Hu and his staff. Tommy can help you get your paperwork done for you and you don't even have to spend anytime time at the Embassy dealing with paperwork. Get the paperwork to him by 3:15 and you'll have your visa next day. I did it this way, and was FREE to spend my short stay in Hong Kong exploring this exciting city.

Although the rooms are small, and mine lacked a window, that's okay, because who wants to stay in their hotel room when you are in fabulous Hong Kong anyway. It was air conditioned and that was the most important thing since I was visiting in June.

It's not a building that makes a hotel - it's the service and I could not say enough about the friendly and efficient service that was given to me by Tommy Hu and his staff, making my chire an easy one and my trip a memorable one.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Hong Kong is quite expensive, especially if you've visited China before! You will have a hard time trying to find anything cheaper and better located (Causeway Bay Area hosts some excellent restaurants and other interesting places), but: rooms are tiny tiny, bathrooms are even tinier, air conditioners are louder that a jumbo jet taking off (so you should definitely not come here if you you have sleeping problems) and they do not change your sheets every day. This is a decent place to sleep if you do not have much money, a place you want to leave early in the morning and go back to late at night!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tezo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

My son had a reservation here but I messed up his flight tickets from Chengdu to Shenzen so had to phone the hotel to advise them of late arrival. I spoke to Wilson, Tommy's son and he was so helpful with directions and advice. He offered to collect my son from the taxi rank at the World Trade Centre and bring him to the hotel - a thoughtful gesture at 1am in a strange city. The rooms seem reasonably priced for HK Island, but my thanks go to Tommy and Wilson.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#2 of 164 in Hong Kong
612 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#4 of 164 in Hong Kong
434 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Check Inn HK
Check Inn HK
#12 of 164 in Hong Kong
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Rainbow Lodge Hong Kong
Rainbow Lodge Hong Kong
#16 of 164 in Hong Kong
115 reviews
Mong Kok
Dragon Hostel
Dragon Hostel
#15 of 164 in Hong Kong
395 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hop Inn
Hop Inn
#6 of 164 in Hong Kong
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alisan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alisan Guest House

Address: Flat A, 5/F Hoito Court, 275 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Hong Kong
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right when you step into Hong Kong, with the jitters about your itinerary, were else can you find the peace of mind? We have been established for over 20 years. And with our impeccable commitment to detail and service why worry with other guest houses? Free Internet, air-con, refrigerator, microwave etc.. etc all the perks that are included. We are located in the heart of Hong Kong. With three different modes of public transportation right around the corner, see more for less. We can assist in all your travel destinations with our money saver travel advice. And last but not least, our motto: Cleanliness is next to Godliness. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alisan Guest House Hotel Hong Kong
Alisan Guest House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing