We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ngong Ping Village (Ngong Ping 360)

Ngong Ping Village (Ngong Ping 360)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$118.64*
and up
Hong Kong and Macau Attractions Pass
Ranked #23 of 807 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Rope Replacement Project Cable Car service is suspended for approximately 5 months from 9 January 2017 for the Rope Replacement Project. Ngong Ping Village remains open during this period.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Albury
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We travelled on the 360 cable car to the Big Buddah and Ngong Ping village. The cable car ride is worth the trip alone. Your get excellent views of the airport, and at times it looks like the big jets are climbing out right underneath you. The Big Buddah is very impressive, and offers very nice views of the countryside as well as some outlying islands. The stairs to the top are steep, and I lost count after 250! The village is reasonably quiet and peaceful, with a glimpse of what it was like before the British settled in this part of the world.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlburyAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,989
    1,675
    645
    153
    102
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“peaceful village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

we love our visit to Ngong Ping which is the starting point to big Budha.... from here you have two choice using cable car or by bus (like we did because cable car is not open yet)...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JKSetyono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesselton, Sabah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love this little village!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Visit this village in winter for the cool atmosphere otherwise it will be hot and sunny. The Ngong Ping 360 Cable Car offer great view of Tung Chung and Airport area! Overall great experience!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Evo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth visiting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We enjoyed our visit to Ngong Ping 360 and took MTR to Tung Chung to get to the attraction's entrance. The wait line to buy a ticket and board the cable car was long so we opted to spend a few more dollars and purchased entrance plus a tour and that was a good decision. We were on the cable car and heading up the mountain in a matter of minutes.
I expected something of a religious experience as I have when visiting Buddhist monasteries and shrines. Not here. Much about Ngong Ping is crass commercialism but, once you accept that it is Buddhism with Communist Characteristics, it becomes an interesting experience.
The guided tour included a ride down the mountain to Tai O fishing village and that included a boat ride through the village and a short distance into the bay.
Of course the objective of our visit was to see the Big Buddha and we found it quite interesting. The climb up to the statue was challenging but the view and the experience made the whole day well worthwhile.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“the only way to get down from the buddha”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We took the cable car down as part of the new lantou island tour, which was a great way to get down from the Buddha and end the tour. Pure tourist attraction but very pleasant.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ngong Ping Village (Ngong Ping 360) also viewed

 

Been to Ngong Ping Village (Ngong Ping 360)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing