We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and breakfast - Jail sized room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei
Ranked #230 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Location:
Within 1 block of Yau Ma Tei MTR station and Nathan Road shopping district. Local streets come alive at night with night markets and street food. One of Hong Kong's best clay pot rice restaurants is just next door - try the deep fried oyster cakes there!

Room:
Tiny - fits a double bed and barely any luggage (approx 8 ft by 8ft). Bathroom is approximately 2.5ft by 6 ft. You have to be a contortionist to fit on the toilet or get into the shower. Room and bathroom looks dirty and in need of some repair. Bring your own sanitary wipes if you are at all concerned about cleanliness. Walls are paper thin and you can hear noise from your neighbours as well as the street all night long. Bed is HARD (not firm but HARD)! One reviewer complained about the light but the windows have roll down blinds as well as shades so its not too bad. Ventilation is poor and hot water in shower runs out quickly.

Ammenities:
2 bottles of water, wifi, local calls, toothbrush/paste, slippers, and free breakfast. Breakfast buffet includes: juice, coffee, tea, bread, jams, soup, congee, boiled egg, cappucino machine, ham, wieners, cooked cabbage, vermicelli, baked beans, chinese pancake.

Management and clientelle:
This hotel seems to cater to Mainland Chinese clients. There are signs everywhere telling you how to behave and warning of things not to do. Damage deposit is $500 here with a list of charges for missing items. Managers are very rude - especially the older male manager. Breakfast staff, on the other hand, were friendly and efficient. Be nice and leave a tip for these hardworking ladies!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a lower floor - only one elevator that is really small. Stairway corridor is steep...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bailey0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTHHK, Customer Service at Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Bridal Tea House Hotel Hong Kong!

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Bridal Tea House Hotel Hong Kong. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Bridal Tea House, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent a future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns as it allows us to see our flaws and we trust that the measures we have taken had resolved the issues. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Cherry Choy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
There are newer reviews for Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

great location, just a step of walking distance to temple street, there is a super nice small barbeque stall infront hotel main enterence. and MRT just beside of hotel .

great location, but super small room. if u looking for some budget room and didnt have much of lugguges , it maybe will be great for u, but if travel with big lugguges, its imposible for big lugguges traveller. and there are super small bath room.

Room Tip: hotel enterence not facing the main street, its the back of the main street. ask some local , there...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jumpafteryou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTHHK, Customer Services at Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Bridal Tea House Hotel Hong Kong!

We are delighted to receive your review, and especially pleased to read your kind words about our hotel location.
We are eager to provide the comfortable stay and pleasant experience to our guests, your valuable words would be the key to drive us sustainable and success. Please notify us when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong and we will try our best to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.


Sincerely,
Cherry Choy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

After reading the reviews in Tripadvisor, I already prepared myself on what to expect and not to expect.

I like the location of the hotel which is really a few steps away from Yau Ma Tei Station Exit C. There are so many choices of food outlets as well.

The room is very small but manageable and acceptable. It's a budget hotel after all. The place is clean and really at bare minimum. But okay for a few days stay in HK since we did not really stay in the hotel long enough during the day anyway.

I am just disappointed with the wifi service as it turned to be unstable and slow which became frustrating sometime.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTHHK, Customer Services at Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Bridal Tea House Hotel Hong Kong!

It was such a pleasure to receive your feedback, thank you. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that your remarks will serve as encouragement to all our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to welcoming you again with your special one :)

Sincerely,
Cherry Choy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Quite small 2-stars hotel. The bed is not fitted for over 170cm person. Cocks can be found. Do not take care of your belongings while cleaning. Room temperature cannot be adjusted probably the control is malfunction. Worth only less than USD80 per night.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alloy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTHHK, Customer Service at Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings From Bridal Tea House Hotel Hong Kong!

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Bridal Tea House Hotel Hong Kong. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Bridal Tea House, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns as it allows us to see our flaws and we trust that the measures we have taken had resolved the issues. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Cherry Choy
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The easy way is by taking a airport bus No. A21(only 33 $ HK) from Hong Kong International Airport to Nathan road then get off at the Public Square Street, near Bangkok Bank building. The room & bathroom is very very small but are very clean but since we were only there for sleep and bath, everything is very clean though, and we still get our room cleaned every day.
Convenient location, close to the Yau Ma Tei MTR train station (exit c), shops and restaurants. Safe neighborhood. Very close to Temple street and Jade street night markets. When we check out on the last day, We couldn't leave our luggage at hotel.
Fair prices that won't bust your budget.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zugus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTHHK, Customer Service at Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest.

Greetings From Bridal Tea House Hotel Hong Kong!

We are delighted to receive your review, and especially pleased to read your kind words about our hotel service and location. We are eager to provide the comfortable stay and pleasant experience to our guests, your valuable words would be the key to drive us sustainable and success. Please notify us when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong and we will try our best to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable.

We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Cherry Choy
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Hotel in Hong Kong is extremely expensive, we found this hotel with good price and average comment, why not have a try ? YES, you paid what you get, but overall is ok for me as I don't spend more time in the room. The room is extremely small, can't even put extra luggage, in between the bed just a small walkway , the bed size is also not up to the single bed size, the toilet and shower area is so small. Our room can smell the restaurant cooking downstair, as the smoke absorber is just close to our room's window. The only good things is the location, next to the MRT, 2 minutes walk to Temple Market where you can find a lot of authentic Hong Kong stuff and living culture, there is a very good "claypot" rice nearby the restaurant, just see which restaurant get the longest line.. here you are :p

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ngsiewcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTHHK, Customer Service at Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your review, and especially pleased to read your kind words about our hotel and the location.

We are eager to provide the comfortable stay and pleasant experience to our guests, your valuable words would be the key to drive us sustainable and success.

Please notify us when you plan your next trip to Hong Kong and we will try our best to make your stay more pleasant and comfortable.
We look forward to having the pleasure of serving you in the near future.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Choy
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

If you are after a handy location and only require a place to rest your head, then this is the perfect place to stay! It is right next to the Yau Ma Tei MTR station and is very busy at night. It is a short walk to the Temple Street Markets and a variety of eateries which are cheap and nice.

The rooms are very basic and the bathroom is really cramped. It appeared to us that there was no continuous hot water so we had to take showers before about 11am in the morning or else it would run out. The bed is also made for smaller people so would advise against staying here if you are taller than 160cm (my boyfriend’s feet hung off the edge which wasn’t ideal). The breakfast is also very basic, consisting of congee and various sides. It is $30HKD/person but the hotel gifts certain rooms free breakfasts each morning (based on a random draw) so it’s worth checking each morning as they don’t tell you.

Overall, we found Bridal Tea House to be satisfactory. Other than being a little cramped, it’s location made it very easy for us to get around and they were even able to look after our luggage free of charge for a few hours after we had checked out.

Room Tip: The staff weren’t able to explain the lack of hot water in the afternoon so I would suggest taking a...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucy_weng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTHHK, Customer Service at Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your recent stay at Bridal Tea House Hotel (Yau Ma Tei). As our staff always strive always strive to provide outstanding services, I was extremely concerned to hear that you were not satisfied with the service you received.

We have noted your constructive feedback on hot water supply and appropriate actions have been taken by our Engineering Department to check water heater in all guest rooms.

We will make every effort to seek continuous improvement in serving our customers satisfactorily.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Choy
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Bridal Tea House Hotel AnChor Street
Hung Hom
Bridal Tea House Hotel Hung Hom - Winslow Street
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#204 of 721 in Hong Kong
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
M1 Hotel
M1 Hotel
#295 of 721 in Hong Kong
166 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#170 of 721 in Hong Kong
904 reviews
Kowloon City
Bridal Tea House Hotel (To Kwa Wan)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei

Address: No.6-8 Arthur Street, Yau Ma Tei, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: £38 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridal Tea House Hotel (Yau Ma Tei) located at the commercial, shopping and leisure spot of Yau Tsim Mong distrist, only 3 minutes walk to the nearest MTR Yau Ma Tei station. The famous Temple Street night market, Tin Hau Temple and shopping malls can be reached in 5 minutes. We proudly offer convenience, relaxed and contented shopping moments for our guests. All 127 elegant rooms are well-equipped with Free Wi-Fi service, independent air conditioning system and LCD TV. Stylish and unique Bridal Tea House Restaurant with healthy western dishes menu provide a relax environment after a long day for business clients and tourists. Multi-functional VIP rooms are also available for business conference and wedding services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Zenrooms, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridal Tea Hotel
Bridal Tea Hong Kong
Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing