We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel, clean room, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei
Ranked #252 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Budget hotel, clean room, friendly staff”
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Stayed here for five days. Very good location but the room was small. The staff of the hotel were very friendly and helpful, worked attentively. My room was alway clean that was a plus. The hotel was a good value to stay in Hongkong.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GimpU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    179
    152
    33
    20
See reviews for
25
46
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Just came back from Hong Kong yesterday. I chose Bridal Tea House in Yau Ma Tei is because my friend suggested it to me and I've checked the reviews here in Trip Advisor, there were mixed reviews but I decided to go ahead since it is pretty cheap compared with other hotels in HK. I booked a double-bed room through hotelclub.com, got it at RM203/night (approximately HKD500) averagely.

The hotel is located behind the Yau Ma Tei (Exit C) MTR station, after exit the station, turn right and walk toward the back of the exit, then turn left. We had a hard time finding the hotel as the directions given by the bloggers was not clear enough.

We did our check-in counter at the ground floor, but the lift lobby to the hotel is in the other shop. We got our room at 1st floor. The lift is tiny, the corridor is narrow...... When we open the door to our room, I gasped. It is so small! I have already prepared myself for the limited space since this isn't my first time in HK, but I couldn't help but gasped at the room. The double-bed, is only slightly bigger than a single bed! The walk way in between the bed and toilet, is only like 1 feet away! There is a small corner for us to put our luggage bags, in standing position. To open the luggage bag, we have to put the bag on the bed! The toilet, my goodness, even myself have difficulties to undress in the toilet. I am not a fat person mind you, so is my husband. I can't imagine if we were of slightly bigger size, this could be a disaster stay for us.

Other than the space, the room is tidy and clean. The location of the hotel, I must say it is in a very convenient location. The Yau Ma Tei MTR station is only 3 minutes away. There are a lot of nice cafe/restaurants around too. The Ladies Street or Sai Yeung Choi Street, are only 10 minutes walk.

If you are of M or L size, travelling with spouse of the same size too, I do not encourage you to stay in this hotel. After a long and tiring day touring around HK, mind you the walking you have to do in HK is no joke, the last thing you'll want is to squeeze your spouse off the bed at night. Although you may say you're not going to stay in the hotel all day long, you can't deny that the space/size does matter to some people.

If you are really having a tight budget, go ahead and book early, you'll get the best deal.

Will I stay in this hotel again? Definitely, NO. :)

Sorry that I forgot to take photos of the room, can't share the room photos with you all. So sorry about that.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johor bahru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in Sept 2010, my husband, my 6-mth-old little girl and myself. We booked a double room. The room was extremely small and we barely had any space to move around. We had 3 medium-size luggage bags, luckily we managed to get everything organised. The mattress was not comfy due to its age. There is a working kettle, 2 bottle of drinking water were replenished everyday. The cooling box was not very cold though.

We stayed at room 20A. Unfortunately, the aircond was centrally controlled. We have to call the recep to get it warmer.

The bathroom is super small but clean, but we somehow expected it given the size of the room (i think the room is around 10 x 10 sqft). It was OK for us - medium-sized Asians. I reckon it would be super squeezy for normal-sized Caucasians. Basic toileteries were replenished everyday. Hot shower was working perfectly.

Location-wise, very strategically located within the heart of mongkok area. Temple street night market (north - a mini one) is just 1 street away, we did our last minute shopping there. YMT MTR station C exit was like 3-min walk.

If you are a budget traveller and spend most of your time outside, it would be a good choice where you can spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sapura79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

10 mins walk from ymt mtr . Location on a quite street . Looks more like motel ... Rooms really small and cramped ... Really have to squeeze inside . There is a cafe upstairs but did not try . With the price u will be paying can get something better . Does not make u feel like staying in room ... Luckily there are lots to do in hkg ... Do walk around vicinity of hotel as temple street is nearby . There is also a claypot eatary beside hotel which is always long qeuee ... Very nice omelet !

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poohvinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

this is my worst experience to stay at a hotel, the room is too small, the receptionists are unfriendly, hotel appliances are malfunction.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasonyso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights in mid July. The location was excellent considering, it is near the MRT station, shopping street and many restaurants. The room is tiny and the bed is small but it's always clean and no smell. You can leave your bag after you check-out.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pairpach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Service is not warm but considerably ok, compared to other rude HK people that we frequently encounter. Room is really small that you need to plan how to move about or put your things away once you are not using them. No toiletries provided. My room was not very clean, there were hair on the toilet floor and the corners of the room. But it's still ok coz the bed sheets are clean. Location is good but if you are a first timer, better know your location coz you can get lost as it is at the back alley.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Bridal Tea House Hotel AnChor Street
Hung Hom
Bridal Tea House Hotel Hung Hom - Winslow Street
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
M1 Hotel
M1 Hotel
#280 of 718 in Hong Kong
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#172 of 718 in Hong Kong
892 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#168 of 718 in Hong Kong
650 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
Casa Hotel Hong Kong
#203 of 718 in Hong Kong
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei

Property: Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei
Address: No.6-8 Arthur Street, Yau Ma Tei, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridal Tea House Hotel (Yau Ma Tei) located at the commercial, shopping and leisure spot of Yau Tsim Mong distrist, only 3 minutes walk to the nearest MTR Yau Ma Tei station. The famous Temple Street night market, Tin Hau Temple and shopping malls can be reached in 5 minutes. We proudly offer convenience, relaxed and contented shopping moments for our guests. All 127 elegant rooms are well-equipped with Free Wi-Fi service, independent air conditioning system and LCD TV. Stylish and unique Bridal Tea House Restaurant with healthy western dishes menu provide a relax environment after a long day for business clients and tourists. Multi-functional VIP rooms are also available for business conference and wedding services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Zenrooms, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridal Tea Hotel
Bridal Tea Hong Kong
Bridal Tea House Hotel Yau Ma Tei Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing