We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel except the room is very small” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silka Far East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silka Far East Hotel
Ranked #198 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel except the room is very small”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed in this hotel last Dec 2013 for 3 nights, with my 13-year old daughter. The hotel is very accessible to the MTR and restaurants/eating places are nearby. It is also clean and well-managed. However, the standard room we stayed in is very small/tiny. It has two single beds on either side of the wall and an area in between that we have to take turns walking in - otherwise we can't fit. The bathroom is also very small.

At any rate, the price is not bad so I would still stay here the next time I am in HK.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    207
    171
    45
    22
See reviews for
124
91
58
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in silka for 4 days 3 nights last july its actually not bad for the price the hotel is busy lots of in and out guests but location wise its good very accessible for the metro breakfast is good considering its cheaper i would definitely recommend

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LeeGraceee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Overall, the place is nice and clean but most of the rooms are quite small. The place has a good access to mtr and nearby malls, market and restaurant. Unfortunately, they offer the best rooms (location) to chinese people. Still the hotel is recommendable.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

It's a bit far from the airport, but it has a nearby MTR station. Still the location was great. The room was small but comfortable and clean. The staff were polite and professional. I liked the breakfast a lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The final port of call on my Far East tour was Hong Kong. I chose the Silka Far East as I had stayed there before. The hotel is a 25 minute bus journey from the airport, but the bus stops right outside the hotel. My room was high and I got a good view of the surrounding area. It was a single room, so a little small, but cosy, clean and comfortable. There were plenty of places to get food and drink just outside the hotel. The whole area was vibrant. The hotel was very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

A small but comfortable room. Near MTR station, bus stops, convenient stores, malls & restaurants.

Booked standard room (from booking.com) - during my booking it was a free cancellation condition until 10 days before my arrival, after that date, i was surprise to see that it was upgraded to superior without cost change, it was great!

Got a corner room at the 10th floor. The room is only good for 2 person, As i requested, it's has 2 single bed that literally would only fit a single person. If your a family of 3, I seriously doubt if a child would fit with one (1) adult on it (single bed). . .. double bed is an option, but . . . . just make sure you inquire about the bed size, other wise someone will sleep on the floor! Bathroom ... ofcourse its tiny! Free Wi-Fi is excellent!

Fast check-in and out.

Room Tip: Corner room i believe is larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irehc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

While the rooms are tiny, the staff is friendly and professional, and very accommodating. The hotel is immaculately clean and well - maintained, and located near to everything a traveler could want- shopping, restaurants, and transit. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsuen Wan
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
#169 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
#186 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#179 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuen Wan
Panda Hotel
Panda Hotel
#136 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#116 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Pandora
Hotel Pandora
#454 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka Far East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka Far East Hotel

Property: Silka Far East Hotel
Address: No.135-143 Castle Peak Road, Tsuen Wan, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsuen Wan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka Far East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka Far East, Hong Kong is a value hotel located in Tsuen Wan, a bustling bay in Hong Kong. The hotel has 240 rooms offering a fuss-free, comfortable and safe stay at affordable prices. The hotel is within walking distance from the Tsuen Wan MTR, City Landmark and other shopping malls, commercial and recreation areas in the district. Complimentary in-town shuttle bus service is available for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia and Agoda so you can book your Silka Far East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Far East Hong Kong
Hotel Dorsett Far East
Silka Far East Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing