We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rambler Garden Hotel
Ranked #458 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Me and my mom stayed here for 4days and 3night last november 2012. The location was terrible. It was very far from the city center. The rooms were very small you cant barely move. Their lift was very small only few people can go in. And worst it always has looooonnnnggg liiiineesss as if it will never end. Me and my mom we never wanted to go outside because we dont want to wait and fall in line together with those chinese people who keeps on yelling at each other.(our tour guide told us that those were from the provinces of china) no offense to the chinese people. When you look outside of your windows All you can see are container vans. The people staying here are mostly from mainland china, who were very very rude people, there was a time when we were at the elevator and the rest were chinese and they were talking so loud, they were shouting and fighting at each other omg!!!! Even in the middle if the night you could here those people yelling outside of your room we couldnt sleep because of their noise. The food was ok, but the server at the cafe was rude also. But we met a family also from chinese origin they were different from those who came from mainland china.those chinese we met were very friendly and even sat with us to chat. Anyways if ever i would go back to hongkong for a vacation i will never ever go back at this hotel which is rambler garden. So those who will be having their vacation in hongkong dont ever book this hotel. Look for a better budget hotel and is in the city center.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Starstudded27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is located 2-3 kms from the metro but is a good value for money for the amenities provided at the property. Free shuttle between metro and the hotel (with prior appointment) is an advantage. There is a bus available in front of the hotel property which shuttles guests from the hotel to the metro at a nominal fee (1 HK dollar). Swimming pool is the USP of the property and spans across 5 blocks of the hotel. Free internet is available in the lobby area. We had linguistic problems with the front desk as they were not able to understand English. Otherwise a nice hotel for budget travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
2  Thank Ramna50690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Staffs are really friendly, the room is quite small for three pax. food is good. service is good, easy to check in and check out as well, the only problem i got with this hotel is the location,really far from hongkong central.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cherry052101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel room is not so big but enough for a family with 2 kids. Rooms are clean. Grocery, 7-11, restaurant and souvenir shop are located at the hotel's basement. It's a 10 min ride to Tsing Yi station, 1 station away from Sunny Bay --- Disneyland. This place is not for shoppers and for those who would like to see the city from their window as they will only see container vans.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sabjac37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

nothing fancy. basic room, kinda small. no free wifi. served its purpose as stop/sleep-over for a tiring day in hong kong. everything provided is working. clean sheets.. comfortable bed.. overall, great place for the price.

2  Thank Yasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Last April 12-15, 2013, we had a trip to Hongkong with my family. We’re a family of 8 adults and one infant. Stayed at The Rambler Garden Hotel at Tsing Yi Road. This is the container terminal part of Hongkong. There are 3 hotels in the area namely Garden Oasis, Mexan Harbour Hotel and the one where we stayed at—the Rambler Garden.

Though far from the city, Rambler Garden Hotel is near the airport, Disneyland , Citygate Outlet, Ngong Ping Village, Big Buddha and Po Lin Monastery.

We booked thru a travel agency. We were given choices for the hotels. But since most of where we wanted to go is near the airport, we decided to choose this hotel.

Checking in was fast and easy. They just asked our passports and asked us to deposit HK1000 dollars for the 4 rooms/3 nights which is refundable once you check out. Minutes after, we were given our key cards for our rooms at the 27th floor.

The receptionist is ok. Just be polite I guess and they will treat you right. I had no problems with any of the staff I have talked to. They don’t smile that much but they are pleasant and courteous as well. They don’t speak English that much but they understand simple questions in English.

Checking out is also a breeze. Since we were leaving later on that day, we left our luggage at the concierge. You pay HK10 dollars per luggage when you leave it while waiting for your airport pick up.

The room is ok for the price you pay. I mean you get what you pay for. And I have been to HK a couple of times and all hotels I have stayed in (except Hotel Nina in Tsuen Wan West which has huge rooms) were really small.

Rambler Garden though small is decent and has high ceiling and has basic amenities like ref, water kettle, cabinet. They provide soap, toothbrush, slippers, towels, shampoo and conditioner (dispenser). The aircon works well. The view is really not to die for (containers and sea view) but ok. I mean I’d rather have this view than the view of another building or back of the building or no view at all. And we went to HK to experience the sights and sound not to stay at the hotel so it’s just ok.

Though we were there during the peak season and there was also a convention at that time, we didn’t experience the lines in the elevator t and we had no problems with the volume of people in the elevator. Perhaps our timing of going out/in is just perfect that’s why we didn’t experience any lines in the elevator.

If you want to go out, you just ride the shuttle bus to either Tsing Yi MTR or Kwai Fong MTR (fare is HK3.60 dollars) but you can use your Octopus card for the ride. From there, you can go anywhere. Nearest malls are the Grand Seasons at Kwai Fong and Maritime Square at Tsing Yi.

There are 2 restaurants at the lower ground floor (L1) Café de Coral and another restaurant. There are stores like Park & Shop, 7-11, some souvenir shops but they open late and close early.

Channels are limited but we were almost out the whole day so it doesn’t really matter.

There was a concierge who helped us put the luggage for safekeeping and another concierge who helped us when we were checking out.

They provided an adaptor/adapter for us at no cost.

The lobby is spacious.

The pool is not accessible at that time so we cannot say if it’s ok or not.

Yes it is really far from where the action is like downtown Hongkong or the shopping areas of Mongkok, Central, Tsim Tsa Tsui but they have efficient train system so you just have to go to the nearest MTR to be where the action is.

Yes the location is outside the city but since the places we were visiting are outside the city, the location is just right for us.

The place is not Shangri-la or Hilton but given the price we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors for the view. The rooms far from the elevators are quieter. Specify a non-smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jomosanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Me and my family have just been there this April 2013. This is the hotel accommodation included in our tour and we stayed there for almost 3 days & 2 nights. Actually, there are pros and cons about this hotel.
Pros:
- We've checked-in into 2-rooms which had both good air-conditioning & clean bathroom (25th Floor).
- There's 2-restaurants, a 7-11, supermarket, Japan Home Surplus i think (where you can buy water & outlet adapter for your phone charger or laptop, shops where you can buy souvenirs or cheap bags if you wish to at Level 1.
- The Hotel is 15 mins. away from Disneyland and about 45 mins. away from Hong Kong Int'l. Airport.
That's about it for the positive review.

Cons:
- Even the receptionists at the lobby (Level 5) is having a hard time speaking in English.
- You have to pay $50 HK to access the wi-fi, and you can only use it at the lobby.
- The Hotel is far from the city so if you have plans of shopping, you have to take a 45mins taxi ride to the city.
- There's a piece of note you'll find in the room which says something about detergents and the environment, at the end it says something LIKE "if you wish to have you're bed sheets washed, leave this note on the pillow", which means they don't automatically wash or change sheets after somebody checks-out. It depends if the last person who checked-in left the note.
- Yup, the skirting of the beds really needs washing, and maybe sweeping under the beds.
- If you leave your trash outside your room, for sure you'll still see it the next morning.
- The TVs doesn't have cable, all you can watch are Chinese Channels & 1 Australian Channel.
- The waitresses at the resto are rude, even if you're a tourist. And man, ordering food is like point & sign how many with your fingers. It wouldn't hurt if they'd try learning just basic English right?
- You'll even have a hard time hearing yourself think once the Chinese from mainland China checks-in. These people are rude, in-considerate, unfriendly and really loud. Some of them even spits inside the elevator.
- Janitors doesn't check or clean the toilet at the lobby regularly. My lady friend went to one and saw feces at the toilet seat.
- And also, DO NOT AVAIL ANY PACKAGE TOUR FROM SHADOW TOURS & TRAVEL. You might think is cheap, but it's a total rip-off especially the City Tour.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good air-conditioning, but expect cigar smoke odor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank ferdinandr795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsing Yi
Rambler Oasis Hotel
Rambler Oasis Hotel
#494 of 723 in Hong Kong
387 reviews
Tsing Yi
Mexan Harbour Hotel
Mexan Harbour Hotel
#522 of 723 in Hong Kong
128 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#108 of 723 in Hong Kong
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuen Wan
Silka Far East Hotel
Silka Far East Hotel
#218 of 723 in Hong Kong
520 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Panda Hotel
Panda Hotel
#126 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambler Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambler Garden Hotel

Address: No.1 Tsing Yi Road, Tsing Yi, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsing Yi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #458 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: £35 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambler Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 800
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambler Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rambler Garden Hong Kong
Rambler Garden Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing