We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunny Day Hotel (Tsim Sha Tsui)
Ranked #204 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Pretoria
Level Contributor
357 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Good location, value for money”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Although the prices might seem expensive, the rooms offer great value for money. Staff are friendly and very helpful. We were able to book and pay for a room for half a day as we has a very late flight. Rooms are big for Asian standards. The hotel is less than 100m away from the subway and there is a Mcdonald's on the ground floor. The airport busstop is right in front of the hotel. The main attractions are within walking distance or a short subway trip away.
Note: Non-smoking rooms smell of cigarrette smoke. This is a common problem in Hong Kong. Bring air-freshner or linen spray from home to get rid of the odour. Air freshner/linen spray is very expensive in HK. Rooms are relatively sound proof.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario1547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    54
    26
    4
    9
See reviews for
29
9
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed in DBB room 3 nights there.
The things i liked.
- Room Floor, Bedding and Wash room is very clean.
- Toilet and Shower was seperated nicely with glass panel.
- A/C, Minibar fridge, hair drier, water boiler pot, safe box are included.
- Towel, hand towel ,tooth brush & paste, soap, shampoo shaving cream and blade and hot shower are provided.
- Room, bedding and washroom was clean and replace every day.
- In room wifi work properly as claimed.
- For me, i received a good service, i always ask some advice about direction at the reception. another case is i ask for adapter for electricity plug and the staff she bring me a few second i hung up the phone.
- the hotel entrance is separated (not share with another shop or communal resident) on the Nathan main street. and a few step away from MTR Jordan station exit D, both convenient and safe.

The things i don't like :
- no window.
- the elevator shaking scary before the door open.
- only one room's key card for 2 guests that stay in the same room.
- my room smell slightly of cigarette, that's no problem to me because i'm a smoker but will be the big problem for non-smoking peoples.

For me, every things good and recommended.
worth to every dollars I paid.

Room Tip: - 500 HDK deposit required for check in for each room - After booked, call them to make sure they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CartoonCNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed in Sunny Day's family room for a couple nights in May 2014. I knew that the rooms are extremely small in HK so the main reason I chose this one is a discounted rate on the family room. The family room was quite spacious considering HK standard, and 11th floor was high enough to be free from the street noise, I guess.

It is located on the Nathan road which is the main street in Kowloon side, walking distance from TST or Jordan MTR station, and there're tons of shops and restaurants around. Service was average. You'll get what's needed but don't expect for an extra help or smiles. I might choose this hotel again if I can get the same rate on the same room, but probably not with the standard rates.

Room Tip: Get a high floor room to be away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eqdtrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel. Location was excellent which connect you to everything you need from restaurant outlets to the conveniences of public transport like taxis and MRT stations. Room were small but very clean. The bathroom and shower (water pressure) is marvelous.

The only downfall were the noises coming from another side of the building. Sound of loud music throughout till wee morning!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkeybone11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

There are a lot of displeased customers on Sunny Day Hotel Tsim Sha Tsui TST, but this helped me manage my expectations.

On the staff
The staff was accomodating and helpful, especially Gladys. They are direct - no frills, no fuss with the transaction. Overall, the staff was efficient and friendly (which is in total disagreement to what other visitors have experienced when they say that the crew was rude).

On the Stairs to the Lobby
It was a bit steep, but you're at this hotel in Hong Kong; live with it. If you managed to survive the subways stairs, then you'll manage the hotel stairs too.

A budget hotel, with good amenities
For me, this is a semi-Backpackers hotel simply because they do not have Bellboys to attend to your bags. A lot of guests complained that no one was there to assist them with their luggages going-up to the lobby. How different is this when you're at the airport when you handle your own luggages, right? Still, the hotel provides toiletries, towels, and terry cloth robes which is not normal for just other budget hotels.

A 1m x 1m shower space
The shower area was only 1 square meter or 9 square foot. Hong Kong's floor areas are a luxury. My opinion, the floor plan was done in such a way to maximize living spaces: Bedroom & bathroom total area. Besides, you only take 15-30 minutes taking a shower, right? Hot water was a satisfactory with enough mix of hot/cold to heat-up the spray.

A thrilling ride in their elevator
Feedback on the lift was a frightening experience for some. It jolts the carriage twice especially when it's about to stop on a floor. My opinoin, for as long as the cables are safe, it was, but fun to ride the elevator.

And yes, I'm coming back here. For its location, value for money, and amazingly, for the staff.

Room Tip: Have a room with windows to give you a city view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itgbkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

No one told us about the construction. Drilling commences at 7am so loud that it rattled some items of the bed stand. The hotel allows smoking everywhere and I smells terrible. Also, you must leave a deposit. No one tells you that you have to bring a receipt for the deposit back in order to get your deposit when you check out. This happened to us, and then they argued with us about how they told us. Seriously, stay away from here. Smelly, loud, and scammy. The location is good but that's about it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Zhongshan, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel completely misrepresents itself. The hardwood floors are not hardwood, but ceramic tiles, which give the room the acoustics of a high school shower room. My non smoking room smelled like a bar. There was an ashtray in front of the non smoking sign on the night stand. The air conditioner was really only a fan. The room was next to what sounded like a beached whale, but turned out to be the noisy elevator motors, which rumbled every time someone took the elevator. The pillows where no thicker than a seat cushion on a cheap restaurant chair. There is no lift from the street, and no porter, so I had to carry 5 large suit cases up 2 flights of stairs. No one made any attempt to help. The "Family Room" is not large enough for 3 people. When I did complain, the staff at the front desk disappeared. I would not even recommend this hotel to a backpacker. "Hostels are less hostel." I have traveled the world for over 30 years now, and this is the only time I have been moved to write a review about a hotel good or bad. This hotel is only for people without any expectations whatsoever. I moved to another hotel the next day.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank NotSoCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Sunny Day Hotel (Mongkok)
Sunny Day Hotel (Mongkok)
#265 of 716 in Hong Kong
112 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Shamrock Hotel
Shamrock Hotel
#92 of 716 in Hong Kong
624 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Benito
Hotel Benito
#154 of 716 in Hong Kong
427 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#267 of 716 in Hong Kong
723 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Stanford Hillview Hotel
#86 of 716 in Hong Kong
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Day Hotel (Tsim Sha Tsui)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Day Hotel (Tsim Sha Tsui)

Property: Sunny Day Hotel (Tsim Sha Tsui)
Address: No.182 Nathan Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunny Day Hotel (Tsim Sha Tsui) 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sunny Day Hotel (Tsim Sha Tsui) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Day Hotel (Tsim Sha Tsui) Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing