We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for cheap, short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cosmic Guest House Hong Kong
Ranked #111 of 271 Hong Kong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 February 2014

As a 6-4 (193 cm) American, it was difficult to even fit into the room here. That said, I think it was US$35 a night and we were right in the heart of Kowloon Bay. Literally no creature comforts or frills of any sort, but the room was clean, bed was not bad and the AC was strong enough. The train station and a zillion restaurants are close by, as is a Starbucks and other cafes. If you are my size or bigger, be warned. But if you just need the cheapest option possible in one of the world's densest, most expensive cities, this is worth it for a short stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jrok78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

True enough that the rooms are too small but if you just need place to stay for the night, this place is not bad. It's very accessible to train station and there are good restaurants around. But if you want your stay to be really comfortable and cozy. This is not the place to be. Don't expect a nice hotel entrance and good facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Well, we decided to check out some options in Tsim Sha Tsui. We looked at Mirador mansions as well as Chungking Mansions. Both are very seedy places.

So there are two parts to this review.
If you are JUST looking for a place to put your head and you know what to expect (akin to a really cheap room in Thailand for example) then pay 100 HKD and get in and out of this place quickly.

Our experience: Front desk is really unfriendly. Call it curt or blunt or just rude. The place is tiny, cramped. We put our bags behind the door, so basically no space to unpack your bag. The bed sheets and the floor are very dirty. There were stains on the sheets. Inside is tiled wall to floor and you can hear everything around you( much like a speaker box.) If you want a towel, you need to hand in a deposit of 50 HKD per towel. The towels smell like bleach and are small.
There is a TV but you can't really watch it as there is not enough space to sit in front of it. The shower pressure is not good and you need to wait for the water to heat up. The shower and toilet are dirty and are of course tiny.

The whole place gives off a horror movie vibe. If you are tired and looking to rest, don't stay here. If you are looking for a reasonably clean place, don't stay here. If you are a hardcore traveler who likes to rough it, this is for you. Just know what you are getting into. Don't pay more than 150 HKD in either of those 'mansions'...

Room Tip: Don't book any rooms without seeing them first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jurgi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

dont be deceived by the rooms u see in the internet they are just too small, i never imagined that it was so small that u can hardly pass thru between the 2 beds.u could hardly move taking a bath unless u want to touch the sink and the toilet bowl.our room had leaking faucet and a clogged sink. they provide towel if u ask for it but no change of towels and beddings for the rest of ur stay. They also did not clean the rooms.The advantages: great location,walking distance to the MTR station, ferry terminal, victoria harbour etc., safe, with receptionist almost 24hrs (unlike other guesthouses in mirador), with wifi connection and affordable. I dont recommend this place if u go to hk even on a budget. U deserve a comfortable place after a really tiring day exploring the great sights of hk so book a hotel instead.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank netimajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The positive point is that the guest house is affordable (for HK) and nicely situated.

The room is the smallest room I ever stayed in. It is a mystery how they managed to fit two beds in the room plus a bathroom. The entrance of the building is a little bit scary, and managing the elevators can be a little bit tricky. The room looked clean at first glance, but we doubt they ever came to clean it during our stay (5days). It seems that the bathroom was cleaned once, but with the towels we left in the room. The staff is not friendly at all, they don't care of anything.

But I still doubt we could have find anything cheaper and as ideally located in HK.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyzette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

no kidding the room is not clean. i am that kind of person who can camp in jungle or sleep on the street but the room just gave me goosebump of its disgusting bedsheets and pillow cases. there are stains on the bedsheet and it was not changed for even once during my 6 nights stay. we noticed someone did come in our room to do cleaning as the blanket was fold nicely everyday we back from trip and dustbin is cleared, but they did not change the bedsheet. we doubt if they changed it after the previous occupant checked out. toilet is not clean too, the toilet bowl has turned black from white and there are brown water marks on the floor. location is good though as train station is right downstairs and there are plenty of places to shop and eat around. if u really wish to save money and stay in this budget guest house, i would suggest you bringing along your sleeping bag or bedlinen.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHJiaHui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Cosmic guest house would be a very ideal place to stay in Hongkong because it is located at the heart of the busy city, walking distance to malls, shopping areas both bazaar and branded retail, best restaurants and train station.
The rooms are small but if you are out most of the time, who needs a bath tub anyway? It was clean and the airconditioning was just perfect. The staff were nice and accommodating, they speak English too. They offer 30-40$ off the Disneyland and ocean park tickets so it was totally worth it. I slept well in all of the 4 nights of our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsayym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Campus Hong Kong
#18 of 271 in Hong Kong
40 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Ashoka Guest House
Ashoka Guest House
#112 of 271 in Hong Kong
124 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Asia Inn
Asia Inn
#20 of 271 in Hong Kong
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Merryland Guest House
Merryland Guest House
#114 of 271 in Hong Kong
56 reviews
Pandora After 80s
#32 of 164 in Hong Kong
141 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Lee Garden Guest House
Lee Garden Guest House
#33 of 164 in Hong Kong
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmic Guest House Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmic Guest House Hong Kong

Address: 12F No.54-64 Nathan Road, Mirador Mansion | Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 271 B&Bs / Inns in Hong Kong
Price Range: £23 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are FULLY LICENSED guest house that meet every strict safety standards demanded by the government. We do not operate any illegal "shadow" guest houses rooms under a licensed guest house like many others do. Every room in Cosmic is licensed with government issuing sticker labeled on the door. Stay safe, stay with a licensed guest house. And in case you don't already know, we are the single entity owning the most licensed rooms in Mirador Mansion building. Convenient, convenient, convenient. No guest house has better location than we do. We are on top of the Tsim Sha Tsui MTR Subway Station. Our building is surrounded with 3 subway exits. We are named as the Best Hong Kong Hostel by Rory Boland on About_com. "Every bit as stellar as the name suggests, including rooms which feature direct phones, color TV and fantastically, free Wifi. Rooms, while small, are a cut above the white walled Hong Kong average, with some small splashes of Ikea design thrown in." Cleanliness, Safety are our first priority at Cosmic Guest House. The rooms are professionally maintained to guarantee utmost customer satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cosmic Guest House Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmic Guest House Hotel Hong Kong
Cosmic Guest House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing