We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient place of stay for family”
Review of Royal View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal View Hotel
Ranked #111 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Chennai
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Convenient place of stay for family”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Meeting a friend from Hong Kong today reminded me that I had not written a review for this Hotel, even though it has been many months since we traveled.
This is a huge property, and looks magnificent as we approach it from the highway. Nestled between two beaches [Ting Kau and Lido], it is more like a Getaway from the concrete jungle of the Main Island. And it is just 20 minutes drive away from Disney Land :)
The most convenient service here is the free shuttle. We just take this whenever we want to have a break or a meal in the world class Citiwalk Mall of Tsuen Wan. The shuttle is precise in its timings, we stayed there a week and had zero complaints.
The food served as room service is also quite good. Not great but good.
The View of the barges, beach and bridges from the window is just breath taking.
The staff is very friendly and they do go out of their way to help. I had booking for just four days, they could have fleeced me for three more days as it was peak season but they did not.
I really appreciate this hotel, and most likely will stay there again if I visit Hong Kong again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMSChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    370
    154
    49
    40
See reviews for
256
211
70
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I have stayed in this hotel on and off for 3 weeks and I can't say i am happy with my stay.

To be fair there are a few good things about this hotel. The room is spacious for hotel in HK. The place is reasonably clean (not quite the cleanliness of a 4 star hotel but its too bad). It is super quiet as it is in the middle of nowhere so you can have a quiet rest. They do offer shuttle bus to the nearest MTR and central HK. It is priced reasonably.

I have booked my stay from Agoda, which clearly stated in-room wifi is available. Upon check in and settled my luggage in the room, i quickly find that no wifi signal is found in room. I quickly went to talk to the concierge and was told no in-room wifi available. Being skeptical about this I talked to several other staff and manager who confirmed the same. For a few days we have to buy calling card and use 3g for internet service on our phone, but i get increasingly annoyed with the fact that they misrepresented themselves on Agoda so i decided to call Agoda to complain. After two days of "looking into this matter by the hotel management", they admitted that not all room comes with in-room wifi. They decided to install a router in our room so that we can use wifi. I am less than satisfactory with their response given that they are aware of fact that they don't have wifi in all rooms but advertised so (fraudulent), they are not apologetic about their misrepresentation and attempt to hide this fact by saying we don't offer in-room wifi in the beginning. Disgusting practice!

Other than that i don't have huge complaints. Shuttle bus is on time but always full, got a non-smoking room with smell cigarette everywhere. Not exactly convenient as you can't even find a convenience store without taking transit or walking half an hour. Well, its not that bad.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S_Tomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We are appreciated for your valuable comment regarding the service at our hotel. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed 2 nights and this hotel is recommended if you want to be away from the hustle of the city. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Staff are friendly and always smiling. There's a shuttle to the Tsuen Wan MTR station every 30 mis but you would have to queue for it. On weekends the hotel will add additional shuttle trips which is a nice touch. Taxis are constantly available for those who don't want to join the queue.

Do note that Royal View is pretty much on it's own so might be a good idea to pack some food back if you are those who have snack cravings. The location might turn many off but I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samuel_leecf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I'm happy to have chosen this hotel when my family and I visited Hongkong last October. The room was very nice and clean. Even the view of the suspension bridges seen outside the window was magnificent! The staff was very courteous and helpful. The free shuttle bus to Tsuen Wan Station and back was very convenient. After a long day of sightseeing, it was always a pleasure and relief to ride on the shuttle bus back to the hotel; have a nice hot shower; order dinner by room service and finally have a goodnight sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vans E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Good, nice and clean hotel.

Location not a problem since there is free hotel shuttle bus to a nearby MTR station.

Also close to the airport and Disneyland.

This is quite a new hotel.

One drawback is that the hotel is not near any shop, so one is forced to pay for the expensive hotel meals if one is hungry at a late hour.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnieli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I'll start with the good: The rooms are stylishly decorated. The view is gorgeous. The service manager was helpful. It has the potential to be a very good hotel...

However (and yes, this is the bad): Our room was dirty. It had a rank odour. The sheets and pillow cases were clearly stained and there were long black hairs on the pillow, clearly visible through the pillow case - I don't even want to think of how that could have happened.

I requested a new room and was given a bit of an upgrade... BUT! The bathroom in the new room had mould growing inside the shower.

Apart from the rooms... The hotel is clearly a popular destination for package tours from mainland China. That wouldn't bother me in the slightest if it weren't for the following

- They were incredibly loud, thinking nothing of yelling at each other across the stylishly decorated foyer.

- They didn't understand the concept of queuing for the shuttle into the city, despite the signs and would just shove in whenever they pleased

- They also didn't quite understand the concept of personal space and habitually shoved me around as they tried to squash more people into the lift than recommended. What really annoyed me was when they would yell from the check in counter and the lift would be held open for them by their friends in the lift, often for minutes at a time. Why not just take the next lift? This happened not once or twice but several times.

I realise that this might be a cultural thing, so if it doesn't bother you, go right ahead and book.

For the more discerning tourist, I would recommend that you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekkie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We are appreciated for your valuable comment regarding the service at our hotel. We hope that we will continue to have your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and luckily we got the best view room. You can say its a hidden gem of Hong Kong as its not in the city and the lido beach is next to it . Disneyland is also not far off.The Shuttle bus service is very good it is available after every 30 mins and drops to nearest MTR Station.

In Hotel Royal View you will not find many English speaking staff. In fact some of them don't even understand it . This is where hotel should work on as many international guest stay with them .

Food is good, though they don't have many in house restaurants , just the cafe, their website shows many restaurants but they don't actually exist .

Room Tip: Ask them to give you the sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harshpal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We are appreciated for your valuable comment regarding the service at our hotel. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsuen Wan
L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre
Tsuen Wan
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
#168 of 718 in Hong Kong
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#59 of 718 in Hong Kong
411 reviews
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
#70 of 718 in Hong Kong
673 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal View Hotel

Property: Royal View Hotel
Address: No.353 Castle Peak Road, Ting Kau, Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsuen Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#93 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 688
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal View Hong Kong
Hotel Royal View
Royal View Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing