We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and Retreat for family with young kids”
Review of Royal View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal View Hotel
Ranked #111 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relax and Retreat for family with young kids”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our family of 4 stayed in this hotel and love our stay. It is not that closed to "city" but very convenient with shuttle service or taxi from Tsuen Wan subway station (taxi fare was not that costly because it is just a short trip). It has a beach in walking distance and it is very relax, not so crowded. We stayed in seaview one bedroom suite and it was very spacious. You have access to the pool and fitness center with hot tub & sauna.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aggiehelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for staying at Royal View Hotel. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    370
    154
    49
    40
See reviews for
256
211
70
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at Royal View hotel for 5N/6D, the hotel is neat & clean, rooms are good. The best part is that hotel provides kitchenette service chargeable @ HKD 50 per day, wherein they provide induction plate and couple of cookwares and serve wares. Since our son is a picky eater, we booked the service in advance and it really helped us a lot. The hotel has kids' playroom & a gaming zone which are quite nice, can keep your kid engaged for hours. The breakfast spread is good but it hardly changes over days. There are no nearby eateries around the hotel, it is located almost on the highway which leaves you with no choice but to eat at their pricey restaurant with limited options. For Indian vegetarians, they do have Indian meal(thali) in their dinner menu. There's a public beach close to the hotel almost 10minutes by walk. If food is not a priority, this could be the best hotel in terms of services provided to their guests, otherwise you may look for some other option in the heart of city.

Room Tip: We stayed on 16th floor and had a great view of the beach and the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for staying at Royal View Hotel. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The name is appropriate for the hotel. One side is the lido beach and other is the sea link bridge. Spotless Clean and hygienic. Only rooms are a bit small but has kitchenette.
The hotel is located away from city, but provides shuttle bus to nearby Tsuen Wan MTR station every 15 minutes.
Everything is priced high. Even the exchange rate for USD is low, the travel guide wud give much better rate.
Breakfast buffet is good spread.
Overall a good experience. ?.

Helpful?
Thank sunildesai
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sepang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

only able to stay here for a day after a working trip with a couple of friends before taking our flight back home.
the room we got is very clean with a balcony and great view. recommended to stay at higher floor for the great view..
quite far from the hong kong city but the shuttle bus service is available every 30 mins and drops to nearest MTR Station and from there you can take the MTR to the city..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Arrived to very poor service after a long journey. Went to unwind at the cafe first and paid £35 for three rubbish sandwiches and some water which took over 45 minutes to turn up during a quiet period. Staff had a very disinterested attitude. My aunt had broken her arm and they moaned about carrying her bags. Rooms are tiny and room service portions are just as small. Nice decor but sadly wouldn't recommend this hotel. Bar man would rather keep his face in his mobile than serve us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for staying at the Royal View Hotel. We are appreciated for your valuable comment regarding the service at our hotel. We hope that we will continue to have your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed in royal view for 5 nights and had a nice stay with no complaints. Though the hotel is little far from the central areas the location is picturesque and quiet .the hotel offers a free shuttle service to the tseun wan metro station and from there it's a short ride to the main shopping areas.i found the shuttle service useful .our room had a great view of the sea and was especially nice at night.the breakfast buffet was ok and the staff at the reception were helpful and provided an early check in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rvh_Hk, Public Relations Manager at Royal View Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for staying at Royal View Hotel. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

A trip is not complete nor enjoyable without a hotel and mine was complete when I chose to stay the at Royal View Hotel for the length of my stay-2 weeks. The hotel looks beautiful from both the inside and out, complete with a swimming pool, excellent health club and free minibus rides into town.

The hotel is located at Ting Kau Village which is away from the main areas of Hong Kong. However, the frequent minibus rides to Tsuen Wan MTR stations and to Tsim Sha Tsui cover the transport. The out of town location enables the visitors at the hotel a sense of peace without complete isolation with the nearby fishing villages and walk-able distance beaches around it. The hotel is quite close to the international airport. However, there is no transportation from the hotel to the airport and so one must resort to taxis for travelling in between.

The hotel staff were permanently alert to the requirements of the visitor and were quick to point out where all the amenities were located. The amenities were excellently maintained with the swimming pool cleaned twice in a day (from what I observed), and so were the changing rooms, showers and the rest of the health club. The only shock I got during my stay was when i stepped out of the shower in the changing rooms and found a 15cm long red millipede crawling on the floor. Upon notifying the staff, they were prompt to explain that the millipedes came with the season and had it removed.

Now the health club... The swimming pool is outdoors and open until nightfall. There are inflatable toys to mess about with or you can swim laps in the pool. Afterwards, there is a cold and hot water Jacuzzi to relax. The staff will provide you with towels and a locker if required based on your use.

The room is I had was well equipped with a flat screen TV, a sofa bed, a double bed, kitchenette and a wonderful view of the sea and beaches that surround the hotel. The TV had cable channels with access to most English channels and some local channels, however, there were a few key channels like Star that were missing. The A/C units around the hotel are silent and permanently running at a comfortable temperature.

There were a few downers to the hotel like the hotels restaurant which seemed quite overpriced for the food that was provided so I would recommend that you eat outside the hotel. Other downers include the laundry service for which one must consult the manager to explain in depth as the complimentary laundry service means that you must acquire the tokens from the reception and go to certain floors which have the machines. This was NOT explained to us until it was too late.

Overall, it was an excellent experience and I definitely will be returning within the next two years.

Room Tip: Request a room on a non-smoking floor for a complete smoke free experience while staying at the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DJ-Grillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rvh_Hk, Front Office Manager at Royal View Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for staying at Royal View Hotel. We are looking forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsuen Wan
L'hotel Nina et Convention Centre
Tsuen Wan
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
#166 of 718 in Hong Kong
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#60 of 718 in Hong Kong
410 reviews
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
#70 of 718 in Hong Kong
673 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal View Hotel

Property: Royal View Hotel
Address: No.353 Castle Peak Road, Ting Kau, Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsuen Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#93 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 688
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal View Hong Kong
Hotel Royal View
Royal View Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing