We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dumb desk agents”
Review of Royal View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal View Hotel
Ranked #109 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 30 December 2010

i was accommodated in this hotel as complimentary stay by Cathay
pacific airlines. First of all when we reached the hotel at about 10:00 A.M, on 23/12/2010, the clerk at desk told us room is not ready and we should wait till 11:30 A.M. When I protested strongly they alloted a room after nearly half an hour. Then the clerk asked me to give credit card for reference. I had only debit card and I gave it. Shockingly he charged HK $500. I told him he cannot make any charges as my stay was complimentary. Also my card was a debit card and the amount will be transfered immediately. The blank look on his face showed his dumbness on the subject. He assured me that when we vacate he will reverse the charges. But so far it has not happened. I have taken up with Cathay Pacific Airlines. So beware dont give any credit card or debit card to them.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnrajagopal224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 580 of 995 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2010

Far away from establishments, shopping malls and MTRs.
You need to return back early at the pick-up point for you to catch the last trip of shuttle, unless you are willing to pay 900HKD for a cab. Having a second thought whether you go to the night market or enjoy the Victoria Peak at night?
Better think of the time you spend travelling from hotel going to the malls and other attractions in HK, then you will find out it will cost you an hour for a one way trip to the nearest decent shopping mall.
Poor Hotel Staff services

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

GOOD
Hotel rooms are clean and new. Hotel cafe buffet breakfast is cheap, tasty. There are even healthy options if you prefer. Close to Sham Tseng if you want to try the BBQ goose. Close to the Airport. Very good value hotel if you compare it with the astronomical prices of hotels in Central and TST. It is closer to everything than the Gold Coast Hotel which is another 20 mins West of here.

BAD
Bit far from central and TST, though the shuttle bus to Mong Kok and TST is good. There are plenty of mini buses or KMB buses to get you to and from Tsuen Wan for the shopping. 96M or the 234A buses served us well.

No need to go for the expensive seaview rooms. The view from the hotel rooms at the top level are no better than those below.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EasyGoingTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

the hotel is neat clean with the usual amenities ,rooms tend to be little compact so if you have many pieces of luggage its hop skip and jump.they run a shuttle to Tsimsha sui & Tseun wan stn as this become the most important travel exit to rest of Hongkong make sure of your drop points .you have to go to Tseun Wan stn to pick up tour daily food water in case you are not using the hotel restaurants as no shops are available close by so before retiring for the day pick up your things .for a tourist it is very near the airport ,Disneyland ,the great Budha ,Nong Ping 360.there is a great beach across the hotel .dont forget to go to hotel rooftop.so basically a resonablew hotel if you have worked your travel plans .vegetarian food not available esp for travellers from India

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Although the hotel has nothing nearby (other than the Tsing Ma bridge), it has a very convenient and free shuttle bus that will take you to the MTR station (Tseun Wan line). The shuttle comes every 30 min and at least during our stay in Sept, we never really had to get in line until about 5 min before the shuttle was going to come. The shuttle ran on time, the only downside is the last shuttle bus is ~10:40pm, so if you want to stay out later than that, you would need a taxi.

The hotel staff was wonderful, and the housekeeping staff even organized our shoes! The hotel is very clean and modern, beds are kind of small, but there is a nice view. No wifi in rooms, need an earthlink cable (they will provide yo one) but you have to pay for the internet like most hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

I did my research and was aware of how out of the way this hotel was but it was what I wanted for our last night in Hong Kong and its somewhat closer to the airport.

The hotel staff were extremely friendly and professional. A very good, organised shuttle system in place which drops you off near MRT station so you can get to places that you want to go. An excellent fitness center and pool there. Great views from hotel room.

Definately worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReenaRBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Far from major Hong Kong attractions. The shuttle bus run every 15mins to MTR station, it's free. The room we stayed was clean, spacious and lovely sea views. The room condition was well kept. The staff work properly and friendly. Free internet connection. Undoubt to stay again next time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FKristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsuen Wan
Panda Hotel
Panda Hotel
#123 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,726 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 730 in Hong Kong
3,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#114 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal View Hotel

Address: No.353 Castle Peak Road, Ting Kau, Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsuen Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#91 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £50 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 688
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal View Hong Kong
Hotel Royal View
Royal View Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing