We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap & Cheerful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butterfly on Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Butterfly on Waterfront
Ranked #77 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Cheap & Cheerful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked this hotel the day before arriving.. At such a cheap price inclusive of wifi and breakfast, with a fantastic location it was an obvious decision.

Harbour view room on level 29 provided a fantastic view of the harbour and looking across to Kowloon. Clean room and comfy bed, well appointed with electric blind, fridge, hair dryer, safe & storage(hanging, under bed, desk drawers & drawers under the window seat)

Transport: walk to tram 5mins then catch to Sheung Wan MTR station
Or we choose to walk the 15 mins directly to Sheung Wan MTR station. Always a great option for people watching and getting in amounts the locals.

Yes the rooms are small. Don't whinge about this you know when booking and it's CHEAP. The bathrooms have glass doors but ours was frosted so you could not see through it at all. Wifi quality and connection is fantastic and we never had an issue using it.

Breakfast was cooked to order, fresh fruit was delicious and well cooked eggs with good coffee.

There was some scaffolding around the front entrance that did not effect my stay at all. It only looked to go to level one, which is reception unless you were on level two I can't say you would even notice it.

We did also notice even with the 'do not disturb' sign on the door house keeping still wanted, and did come in and make up our room.

Overall I would be back and stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $3 per night for a harbour view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amylou540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your experience at Butterfly on Waterfront. We are delighted for your nice feedback about our location and the great harbor views. Great to know that our friendly guest services exceeded your expectations. Please allow me to personally extend my sincere apologies for the housekeeping services, we take your feedback very seriously and have addressed it with our team. Look forward to a future visit when you can enjoy again our spectacular harbor view soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    522
    133
    23
    6
See reviews for
141
411
197
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Nice and friendly hotel that is situated on the waterfront overlooking Kowloon. The rooms are very small but expected in Hong Kong and the bathroom has a window overlooking the bedroom! We managed to sort this problem by hanging our clothes in front of the window. The hotel close to the train station - we got a taxi costing 25HKD and the shops were near to walk to. Breakfast was good, we tried the exclusive lunch once which was very nice would recommend. We had good wifi in the room.
The only problem we had with this hotel was the cleaners obsession to clean our room. We had to 'do not disturb' sign on the door however the cleaner insisted on knocking every 20mins even when explained we did not want the room cleaned. We then had the duty manager calling our room asking if we could let the cleaner in. We felt this was a little extreme!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Crolls24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thanks very much for your review. We are glad to see that you were enjoyed our convenient location and nice rooms with a beautiful view. We apologize for the inconvenience caused that interrupted your rest. We will have a detailed investigation immediately about that and we promise to rectify if there's indeed a shortcoming in our services quality. We hope there's a chance in future to serve you again and to impress you with our true quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Recently stayed here for 4 nights on a stopover. The location is great with wonderful harbour views from our bedroom. The hotel is easily reached from the airport using the Airport Express train and a taxi from the Central station to the hotel which costs around £2 (£3 including luggage). The staff are young and very helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable, but remarkably small (apparently normal for Hong Kong). Indeed the entire hotel is very tall and narrow with small reception areas and cafe/restaurant where breakfast is served. Only minor criticism is that the breakfast is limited in choice and our 'stewed' tea did not taste good. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a 'business queen room with harbour view'. These rooms are on the higher floors and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NottinghamJourneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. We thank you for your kind comments recognizing our great value, helpful guest services team and unbeatable location. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your comfy bed to be amazing. Regarding on the comments about restaurant, we will definitely share every guests' opinion with the restaurant operator in order to make it an attractive feature for the hotel. We greatly anticipate your next visit to Butterfly on Waterfront!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

It was very nice experience to stay there. Everything was so neat and clean, good breakfast, nice harbour view. Also they allowed me to check-in 1 hour before the expected time, and also one hour more after the checkout because of my late flight. I will recommend it to anyone who have to stay anywhere between central or sheung wan.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Yogesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are happy to hear that we were able to make your holiday an enjoyable one. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the views, as well as the rooms. Thanks again for the recommendation and we look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The first thing that hits you about the hotel is, it's a no-nonsense value for money. The rooms, though tiny (expected in HK), are extremely clean and well maintained. The harbor view rooms are amazing. The hotel is around 1 km from the nearest MTR, so about a 15 min walk. But you get buses from right in front of the hotel, so you dont have to walk it if you dont want to. Breakfast is normally included in the room prices, and is good though limited in spread. Did not try lunch or dinner at the hotel. The Entrance is small, and can be a little tricky to find. The reception and Concierge are friendly, and will help out with calling cabs etc.

Room Tip: Try harbor view rooms at high floors (we were on 28th)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RAHULD86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your view of this beautiful city, and it's great that you were impressed with the personalized guest services, too. We’d love to welcome you back the next time you're in Hong Kong!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

perfect place to stay if you will be in central area most of the time. the room was so clean bed and pillows are so comfy. value for money hotel room. the bathroom is so nice as well but no privacy. excellent staff service. we were out the whole day and forgot to remove the do not disturb sign. we received a fax message as soon as we return informing that they were not able to clean the room because of the sign and we could call anytime to have it cleaned. we just called for new bottles of water and a shower curtain. under 5 mins someone was at the door to deliver our request. I just had to complaint about the shower curtain it still cant provide privacy since the material is so thin. hope they could do something about it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderlust722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thanks for your comment about the shower curtain and bathroom, we will surely review and to make possible improvements soon. We are glad to have impressed you with our overall hotel quality and guest services stanard, and we can't wait to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Before arriving at Butterly On Waterfront, I had spent a week in an awful hotel in Tsim Sha Tusi. The cost of hotels in Kong Kong (compared to Mainland China, where I am based) is prohibitively expensive. My daughter booked the room at Butterfly on Waterfront and I have to say I was not expecting too much. But the hotel and the room were perfect. Great view over the harbour, wonderful room layout, comfortable bed, free WIFI, complimentary breakfast. Service was discreet and very professional. I have travelled all over Asia, and I am not that easy to please when it comes to hotels, but I give Butterly On Waterfront 9 out of 10. Only reasons it doesn't get 10 is the in-room WIFI is slow, and the tiny restaurant is very tight when the guests pile in for breakfast. But these are small complaints and I highly recommend Butterfly to those visiting Hong Kong. After spending all day on the hot, humid streets of Hong Kong it was wonderful to return to a beautifully cool, clean and quiet room ... :-)

Room Tip: Do not book a room on the top floor. I met a Belgian family who had to change rooms because of the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience, and we are happy that you had a pleasant stay with us. We appreciate your feedback on our great harbor view, wonderful room, comfortable bed and friendly guest services. The issue regarding the Wi-Fi and the restaurant, we have made improvement on this immediately. We hope it didn’t cause you major trouble and we would love to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#93 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#63 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#74 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#51 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,618 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#48 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Waterfront

Property: Butterfly on Waterfront
Address: 94 Connaught Road West, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong 0, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelling is rarely all about play there days. There is - usually - a time for work, a time for play and a time to unwind. Sitting right between the bustle of Central and the leisure of Sheung Wan, and two mere blocks from the artsey lower-end of Hollywood Road with a stunning view of the harbour, Butterfly on Waterfront is where you get to enjoy the best of three worlds - the busy one, the happening one and the relaxing one. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! When you're done exploring the eclectic mix of cafes, shops and private kitchens in this uber-cool, up-and-coming neighbourhood, you might want to take advantage of your proximity to the Macau Ferry Terminal and hop on a boat to Macau to see Asia in an entirely new angle. Or you might want to sit back, relax in our simple and thoughtful interior, and enjoy the infusion of natural light and modern trappings our 90-room hotel offers. From branded amenities, multimedia docking station, free Wi-Fi, free smartphone - think unlimited local calls and 3G data, even a city guide - to 24-hour front desk and ' Local Ambassadors' to help you navigate the city, everything here is designed to encourage a balanced approach to living, working and playing. How well connected are we? - Within 3 minutes walk from Sai Ying Pun MTR subway station - 8-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Butterfly on Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Waterfront Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing