We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Butterfly on Waterfront
Ranked #79 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Angeles City, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

very friendly staff who thought of things before you had to ask.the big flat screen tv that came up from the desk automatically was something outa james bond as was the automatic curtains which made the view even better.

Room Tip: great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
It gives is great pleasure to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We love to hear you found our guest services team to be friendly. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    538
    140
    23
    6
See reviews for
144
422
207
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a great view across the harbour from our little room on the 31st floor. The staff were wonderful and very friendly. The breakfast was delicious, although the dining area is a bit cramped. The location is great; just a short subway or taxi ride to all the main attractions. A great hotel that I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks for your amazing review! We’re thrilled to know you had such a fabulous experience at Butterfly on Waterfront! We love to hear you continue to enjoy our prime location, and appreciate your kind comments noticing our beautiful view and wonderful guest services team. Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was great - the room was the perfect size and the view was amazing - we stated in the signature room on the 27th Floor. It took a while for the taxi driver to find the place - it didn't help that current facia renovations had the hotels name covered. 300HKD in a taxi from the airport and the hotel is around 2 mins from a ding ding stop and 15 mins walk from sheung wan MTR. 5 minutes walk to the Macau ferry terminal. The only downside to this hotel is the lift. 1 lift for 30+ floors so waiting can be a pain - there are 2 lifts in the building but one is reserved for staff - maybe adding the option to walk up to the reception on the 1st floor and use this lift too would improve waiting times. We only ate breakfast once in the 6 days the choice of continental or hot breakfast was substandard. Danish pastry is meant to be served cold not hot and greasy. The restaurant where breakfast is held is called Glo and the evening menu is highly overpriced with very limited options.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your nice feedback with us. Indeed we were delighted to read how much you were pleased with your guest experience. We are glad that you were satisfied with the size of our Signature Room and amazing harbor view. Thanks for your comment about the restaurant too, we will definitely share every guests' opinion with the restaurant operator in order to make it an attractive feature for the hotel. The issue regarding the lift will be taken to our management’s attention to ensure that necessary improvements can be made immediately. Please come experience us again on your next visit to Hong Kong!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked this hotel the day before arriving.. At such a cheap price inclusive of wifi and breakfast, with a fantastic location it was an obvious decision.

Harbour view room on level 29 provided a fantastic view of the harbour and looking across to Kowloon. Clean room and comfy bed, well appointed with electric blind, fridge, hair dryer, safe & storage(hanging, under bed, desk drawers & drawers under the window seat)

Transport: walk to tram 5mins then catch to Sheung Wan MTR station
Or we choose to walk the 15 mins directly to Sheung Wan MTR station. Always a great option for people watching and getting in amounts the locals.

Yes the rooms are small. Don't whinge about this you know when booking and it's CHEAP. The bathrooms have glass doors but ours was frosted so you could not see through it at all. Wifi quality and connection is fantastic and we never had an issue using it.

Breakfast was cooked to order, fresh fruit was delicious and well cooked eggs with good coffee.

There was some scaffolding around the front entrance that did not effect my stay at all. It only looked to go to level one, which is reception unless you were on level two I can't say you would even notice it.

We did also notice even with the 'do not disturb' sign on the door house keeping still wanted, and did come in and make up our room.

Overall I would be back and stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $3 per night for a harbour view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amylou540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your experience at Butterfly on Waterfront. We are delighted for your nice feedback about our location and the great harbor views. Great to know that our friendly guest services exceeded your expectations. Please allow me to personally extend my sincere apologies for the housekeeping services, we take your feedback very seriously and have addressed it with our team. Look forward to a future visit when you can enjoy again our spectacular harbor view soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Nice and friendly hotel that is situated on the waterfront overlooking Kowloon. The rooms are very small but expected in Hong Kong and the bathroom has a window overlooking the bedroom! We managed to sort this problem by hanging our clothes in front of the window. The hotel close to the train station - we got a taxi costing 25HKD and the shops were near to walk to. Breakfast was good, we tried the exclusive lunch once which was very nice would recommend. We had good wifi in the room.
The only problem we had with this hotel was the cleaners obsession to clean our room. We had to 'do not disturb' sign on the door however the cleaner insisted on knocking every 20mins even when explained we did not want the room cleaned. We then had the duty manager calling our room asking if we could let the cleaner in. We felt this was a little extreme!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Crolls24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thanks very much for your review. We are glad to see that you were enjoyed our convenient location and nice rooms with a beautiful view. We apologize for the inconvenience caused that interrupted your rest. We will have a detailed investigation immediately about that and we promise to rectify if there's indeed a shortcoming in our services quality. We hope there's a chance in future to serve you again and to impress you with our true quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Recently stayed here for 4 nights on a stopover. The location is great with wonderful harbour views from our bedroom. The hotel is easily reached from the airport using the Airport Express train and a taxi from the Central station to the hotel which costs around £2 (£3 including luggage). The staff are young and very helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable, but remarkably small (apparently normal for Hong Kong). Indeed the entire hotel is very tall and narrow with small reception areas and cafe/restaurant where breakfast is served. Only minor criticism is that the breakfast is limited in choice and our 'stewed' tea did not taste good. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a 'business queen room with harbour view'. These rooms are on the higher floors and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NottinghamJourneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. We thank you for your kind comments recognizing our great value, helpful guest services team and unbeatable location. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your comfy bed to be amazing. Regarding on the comments about restaurant, we will definitely share every guests' opinion with the restaurant operator in order to make it an attractive feature for the hotel. We greatly anticipate your next visit to Butterfly on Waterfront!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

It was very nice experience to stay there. Everything was so neat and clean, good breakfast, nice harbour view. Also they allowed me to check-in 1 hour before the expected time, and also one hour more after the checkout because of my late flight. I will recommend it to anyone who have to stay anywhere between central or sheung wan.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Yogesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are happy to hear that we were able to make your holiday an enjoyable one. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the views, as well as the rooms. Thanks again for the recommendation and we look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#93 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#63 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#75 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#51 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#54 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Waterfront

Property: Butterfly on Waterfront
Address: 94 Connaught Road West, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong 0, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelling is rarely all about play there days. There is - usually - a time for work, a time for play and a time to unwind. Sitting right between the bustle of Central and the leisure of Sheung Wan, and two mere blocks from the artsey lower-end of Hollywood Road with a stunning view of the harbour, Butterfly on Waterfront is where you get to enjoy the best of three worlds - the busy one, the happening one and the relaxing one. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! When you're done exploring the eclectic mix of cafes, shops and private kitchens in this uber-cool, up-and-coming neighbourhood, you might want to take advantage of your proximity to the Macau Ferry Terminal and hop on a boat to Macau to see Asia in an entirely new angle. Or you might want to sit back, relax in our simple and thoughtful interior, and enjoy the infusion of natural light and modern trappings our 90-room hotel offers. From branded amenities, multimedia docking station, free Wi-Fi, free smartphone - think unlimited local calls and 3G data, even a city guide - to 24-hour front desk and ' Local Ambassadors' to help you navigate the city, everything here is designed to encourage a balanced approach to living, working and playing. How well connected are we? - Within 3 minutes walk from Sai Ying Pun MTR subway station - 8-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Butterfly on Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Waterfront Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing